We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much in the center - OK with tourist - Not so good for Business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added CenterHotel Klopp to your Saves list
CenterHotel Klopp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very much in the center - OK with tourist - Not so good for Business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Really cozy and nicely located in the middle of Reykjavik, right on the main street were pedestrians walk in the night time. Basic room and basic breakfast, little noisy from the live-music bar opposite side of the street but it is something you have to accept if you stay in the middle of the city.
Elevator worked great although slow, personell was happy and helpful although one left early in the morning.
I was there for business purpose and therefore I would like to have a little bit of convienience and Klöpp is perhaps not the most suited hotel for that.
But if you are here for a weekend or something like that with your partner it is the perfect place, affordable and really close with walking distances.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    244
    100
    23
    17
See reviews for
49
234
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have lodged in this hotel booked by a local travel agency where we had to spend the last two nights of our vacation to Iceland. I would like to add a good review on this hotel, that is clean, well located but I cannot. On arriving on mid afternoon, we entered our room -nice rooms - BUT we were welcome but the noise and the tremble coming from the site right attached to the hotel, where a building is being smashed down - and surely rebuild in future - using big machinery that made almost impossible staying in the rooms. No way you could rest with all that noise.
I understand that it is not the hotel's fault, but you can not expect the guests to be happy with this kind of treatment. Ok....the noise stopped at a certain time - 7pm - but was replaced during the night by the music coming from a place right in front, offering live music to its customers....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ended up at this particular Center Hotel by accident, as we actually booked the Center Hotel Plaza. At first I was a bit frustrated as I had my mind set on this hotel but it actually worked out great. Hotel Plaza organised a taxi to take us to hotel Klopp, it's only about a five or six minute walk and the hotel is located just off the main shopping/restaurant/pub streets. This worked out great for a stroll and getting a quick view of the city's offerings.
The lobby of the hotel is traditional which builds on first appearances of the old Viking front door. Our room was on the fifth floor, spacious and bright with windows all across the exterior wall. Wifi reception was very good and free. Breakfast was included in our booking and is well worth it. There is fresh juice, fruit, cereal and a selection of ham, cheese and salami. The staff are also very helpful.
Overall I enjoyed the experience greatly. The hotel is spotless and in a good part of town to get to the busy main streets or make your way down to the harbour or opera house.
There is only one potential downside, there is a new site development next door with ground works underway at present. If you are a fan of a late lie in, then a rock breaker that you can set your clock to starting at 8am may leave you getting out of bed on the wrong side! On the other hand my boyfriend quite enjoyed the reminder of some physical work and kept a close eye on proceedings! It's not the hotels fault and it did not bother us but maybe worth asking them if works are still ongoing if you think it may be an issue for you.

Just a tip, there is a bike rental shop about a minute away, the owner won't kill you with chat but the bikes were first rate and good value. Also, grab a map from the front desk, they are single paged and handy to fit into your pocket if you don't want to carry about a travel guide.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Tuftonboro, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Honestly this place is below par. Stayed at the Center Hotel Plaza before this and Plaza is much much better. The breakfast was almost laughable. The single room felt like a jail cell. staff was ok but not overly eager. Huge construction site in the rear of the building which is unsightly to say the least. Expensive for what you get. Better options in the area. The only good point is that it is close to a lot of different attractions and shopping.

Room Tip: Any other hotel in the Center Hotel chain. If you have to stay here chose corner area farthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff was friendly and professional. Hotel is located withing walking distance to all things a visitors would be interested in. In the center of the tourist shopping yet a block off the main street. Withing walking distance to the tour bus company.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I agree with all of the other reviewers that this hotel is very centrally located and an easy walk to everywhere you need to go in Reykjavik. The rooms and breakfast were fine. But our rooms were on the second floor overlooking a bar on a Friday and Saturday night. It was extremely loud both nights until very late and almost impossible to sleep. I would not recommend staying at this hotel on a weekend night, and on any night, I would insist on being on a higher floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a lovely hotel centrally located for restaurants, bars, shops and bus service. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, our request for a quiet room with a good view was granted and the breakfast was varied, fresh and more than sufficient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CenterHotel Klopp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.