We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cool apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room With a View Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room With a View Apartments to your Saves list
Room With a View Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Laugarvegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, cool apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and really enjoyed it. The apartment we stayed in was very modern and well furnished. There was a kitchenette and bathroom. I would not recommend staying in one of the apartments that has a shared bathroom or one across the hall (passed these on the way to our apartment). We stayed on the top floor and had a great view. It is located in the centre of the main street and is steps away from anything you want to do. Free wifi also a plus. One complaint is that the hot tub could use some work; you have to have a hose running hot water in it to warm it up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    177
    58
    19
    19
See reviews for
73
204
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were a group of 4 representing 3 generations and we stayed at this apartment hotel for the week. This hotel has a great location and is right on the main shopping district. The room came with a kitchen and dinging room table - perfect for multi-generations and to lower overall travel costs.

What I loved: Location, staff were very friendly and eager to help, room set up, hotel security, loved the shower, convenience of the grocery store being down the street (you can walk it).

What I didn't like: parking is limited and it is based on a first come basis. If you you are not lucky with a parking space you will be paying for street parking. Hot tubs are really dated looking, some of the furniture in the room are run down. Reykjavik is a party town so if you are staying in this hotel on a Friday/Saturday night and trying to sleep...earplugs and a sleeping pill will be a must.

I will stay here again due to the staff and location. I will be recommending it to other people as well.

Room Tip: If you are multi-generations with different sleep patterns - confirming room design and seperate roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located in the street where everything happens in Reykjavik, and reasonably priced, this apartement house is easy to pick. Arriving Friday afternon it was easy to find free parking for our SUV just nearby.

Our apartment was simple furnished with a very small TV and cheap chairs. Hopefully you won't stay too much inside the apartment when visiting Reykjavik, so the lack of quality or budget of the interior designer is not the most serious sin. But the bathroom was not clean, and that is not good. The plastic wall at the battup that keeps the water away from the floor when showering was so dirty it was no longer transparent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the central location of this property, within waling distance of EVERYTHING in the city, but easy to drive right out to the country side. The views were incredible from the patio hot tub, even marveled at the light show provided by the Northern Lights on two nights. The staff was SO helpful. I can't wait to go back...I will definitely hang my hat here again.

Room Tip: Spring for a room on a high floor with a balcony...it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location, spacious, clean, comfortable. But, very noisy at night as it's in the middle of the bar/club scene in Reykjavik. If noise is a concern, find another. If location is what you're after, it's the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms are large, modern, and stylish with a good little galley kitchenette. Unfortunately as it is centrally located it is noisy when the Runtur gets going on at the weekend! There are equally priced, more stylish apartments in the area that are just a street back of the main strip that means you'll get a better night's sleep before that early start to the Golden Circle! Check my other reviews for better Reykjavik aparts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding trip for three nights and overall, the standard of the accomodation is very high. The bathroom is a joy to behold and although it is quite pricey, we felt it was more than justified in the grandeur of the apartment. It is very contemporary and styled accordingly. It has a very homely feel and plenty of room for a couple of people.

The only downside which is nothing to do with the room is the occasional noise outside. It is right in the heart of the capital and the Icelanders like to party! Having said that, this isn't going to happen on a Monday night so a little advice would be to take ear plugs, just in case.

If you've never been to Iceland, you'll fall in love with the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Address: Laugarvegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room With a View Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.