We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Save Saved
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great hotel, super rooms and divine bedding! Very modern, glass walls around toilet a bit too much for me, but otherwise great! Breakfast delicious and ambiance in the evening very warm. Location is super with our favourite stores just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    92
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
20
129
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Part of the Design Hotels affiliation, the Hotel 101 is centrally located about one block off the main shopping district and nearby to the harbour.

We had one of the Junior Suites and it was quite large, with both a shower and a separate freestanding tub. We had a decent view of the harbour and plenty of light, especially when we were there during the Summer Solstice. The one negative might be the hallways, which are quite dark and can make the stairs a little tricky when coming in from the light.

Overall the room was excellent, the lounge is very convenient, the service was on a par with other experiences in Iceland and the location is tough to beat. Like many of the higher end hotels in Reykjavik, the hotel is not cheap by any standard, but if you are looking for something with a little panache, the Hotel 101 is a nice choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Unless you will be happy at these prices for the location alone, I suggest you look elsewhere. Under-lighted hallways and hip music alone cannot make a good hotel.

Front desk help is nonexistent. Most of the time, you have to call out to get someone to help you. And I underscore the comments of the previous reviewer about the attractive female front desk staffer who is never there and seems more interested in preening than being helpful. There's no concierge and other front desk staff weren't all that knowledgeable about the basics in the city.

Food is good, service is terrible and slow. Even the buffet breakfast struggles because it was understaffed.

And for a hotel aiming so high, the mattress was not what you would expect.

Disappointed and would not recommend 101 Hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is not the best hotel I ever stayed in - but it was a very good choice for a short stay of 2 nights in Reykjavik. It is not a five star, so no one rushes out to help with your luggage, and the service at breakfast is basic. It is within the context of this particular city and the nature of this trip that my rating is 5 rather than 4.

However - here are some serious pros:
It is in an excellent location - easy to get to all sites and easy for getting in and out of town. Not that this is an issue, this is a very small city.
It is beautifully designed, very tasteful.
The room was spacious enough, light and bright, bed and beddings comfortable.
Front desk staff super-helpful and nice - they gave us excellent restaurants advice, booked us on a tour we wanted, and were extremely helpful when we needed some technical help.
Plenty of magazines on the shelf in the relaxed lobby - a nice touch.

OK:
Breakfast buffet OK, has enough for most people to eat, coffee OK too, mostly self service (decent but not brilliant)

Cons:
Not enough cupboard space
Toilet arrangement not the best (there is a glass door, but the bathroom is semi open space)
Shades/block screen on windows not entirely perfect (an issue in summer when it is light all night). Pack eyeshades!
A bit of street noise (maybe only our room/that side - we had 207) - but, be warned, make sure there is no event taking place in the public area around the Harpa (concert hall), as in summer they do have them weekly, we were told, and they are incredibly loud. I assume it affect most hotels, though. So if there is something going on I'd advise booking as far from it as possible.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the street if possible (not sure it is) - from noise point of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The 101 Hotel is smack in the middle of downtown Reykjavik one block off of the main walk street. There are a variety of restaurants and pubs in the local area as well as the headquarters for bus tours around the island. The hotel is modern but the interior is painted black and the hallways leading to the rooms are dark. Parking is available close by. The buffet breakfast and dinner were good but pricey. The staff were helpful and professional. A bar is located across the street from the entrance so be aware that night time revelers go on until early into the morning and are loud if they have parked just outside a side room. The windows fog up when showering and opening a window may let in flying insects and allow the street noise to enter the room. We were there two nights and both nights there was substantial noise outside our window. With the window closed there is minimal noise but then the room remains hot. The room was clean and the closet space sparse. The hotel is expensive and breakfast and dinner is not included in the price. Wifi worked very well.

Room Tip: Request a room off of the street for reduced noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

One of the best features of this hotel is it's central downtown location. It's only a block away from the main shopping street with lots of restaurants. Also, if you're interested in taking any organized tours, the Grayline office is down the block. The room was fairly large with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage. The bathroom setup is a bit odd. The large shower is part of the bedroom and is fully visible as the walls are clear glass. However, the shower works very well. The room is well stocked with plenty of towels and toiletries and is clean. The hotel restaurant serves an excellent buffet breakfast. We also had dinner there one night and it was also quite tasty. However, the menu is fairly limited. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only negatives I can list is that if you open the windows for cool air it is quite noisy on the street below since there are lots of bars in the area. Also, the hallways are quite dark so it is difficult to see. Lastly, it's rather expensive compared to other hotels n the neighborhood. Although the hotel is a bit quirky in its decor, we would consider staying here again because of its superb location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I went to Reykjavik on a lads weekend so its remarkable that I can remember the staff being so unhelpful, but I have a clear memory of a particularly attractive but rude receptionist and a barman who really though he was very cool, and wasn't.

We chose the 101 because its a bit funky and in the very best location for a middle aged version of a pub crawl. I will probably stay again at the hotel because there is not a lot of choice but I will not have high expectations of the over sparse rooms or the hospitality.

By the way, I have the impression that half the population drink themselves into the ground on a Friday night and the other half on Sunday. It's a messy and noisy town at the weekend, relatively good natured, that's relative to their pillaging heritage. Be prepared for minor carnage and noise, the hotel is at ground zero.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavík. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, nightlife and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavík for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 101 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.