We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bookmark
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
ny
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend stopover on the way to London. Was very happy with the hotel, clean with kind of like an IKEA feel to the design of the rooms. Comfortable bed, flatscreen tv, nice rain shower in bathroom. Every employee that I encountered was friendly and helpful. I thought the location was ideal since it was a short walk to Iceland Excursions so no need to wait for the hotel pick up or drop off for the tours. Also many restaurants and shop right around the corner. Would stay again on my next trip to Iceland, looking forward to it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    98
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
136
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of the 101 was very central, we walked everywhere; from the restaurants, shops and sites. The front desk was very helpful and efficient, as we arrived early, they kindly took our bags and put them aside. The lobby was black, white and wooden as most of the hotel was -- very modern and chic. The room was modern and clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The hallways throughout the hotel were lit very darkly, so beware because we tripped frequently. The spa area in the basement consisted of a marble room with a large hot tub, showers and bathroom. However it was small, it was also always empty so therefore very private. The concierge was very helpful when it came to making our dinner reservations, that we enjoyed immensely. The breakfast however left much to be desired. We scanned the buffet options and nothing looked very intriguing. (Keeping in mind, my family is filled with adventurous and open-minded eaters, it was still unappealing). A member of our party ordered the omelet, and said that it was very dry and tasteless. When she told the waitstaff this, the lady said that it was because they try to omit all the oil, (and consequently the flavor). Though there was an excuse instead of an apology at the time, when we checked out and told them this, it was taken off our bill. However we would still recommend the 101, just maybe not for breakfast, as there are many cute cafes in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great designer hotel smack in the middle of the city with excellent service and speedy check-in and check-out! Only quite a bit of noise from partygoers from nearby bars on Saturday morning. Great lobby bar, best breakfast buffet in town. I will be back!

Room Tip: 205 had a great view of Harpa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at 101 hotel for our wedding night. The hotel is located in the best place downtown close to all restaurants and shops in Reykjavík. Our suite was beautifully designed, and I just loved the feel of the sheets on the bed, so soft and clean. We had room service the day after at noon as we were too lazy to get dressed and go for lunch downstairs. The food arrived right away and was delicious.

This hotel is definitely one of the coolest hotels we have ever stayed at. The design is contemporary and modern and the overall ambiance very nice and relaxing. The restaurant downstairs and the lounge area is a perfect place for happy hour or for friends to go out to dinner, any day of the week.

To sum up our stay we had excellent service, great food, super nice and clean room, friendly staff and a great night's sleep. We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at 101 Hotel. The staff was very friendly - they promptly answered some of my pre-departure emails/questions and assisted with directions, recommendations, reservations upon arrival. The location was excellent. I had one small lunch in the very trendy bar area and thought the food was great. Their beds/linens are quite comfortable. I agree that it is not necessarily the "luxury boutique" experience of some of the other Design Hotels I have experienced but, overall, had a wonderful stay at 101 Hotel and would definitely considering staying there during my next trip to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Perhaps specify a quiet room if you are sensitive to street noise (I am not). You could hear some pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

There are naturally only a limited number of hotels in Iceland. This is the best of the lot! Its small, contemporary and with very attentive service. Its not NYC boutique standard, but its so much better than the alternatives. They serve good food in the funky lobby bar

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on a stop-over to NYC. The duration of stay was two days.

I had a very pleasant experience which came at quite a high cost, but there are not so many design-hotel options in Reykjavik.

The communication with the hotel went fine and quick, all the emails were answered, and the services I had asked for were organized.

The hotel knew that we would arrive early, and the room was available for early check-in.

I was a bit disappointed at the interior design, as it looks more premium on their web-site, however the view to the harbor was wonderful. I do not think there could have been a better one.

We arrived on Sunday, maybe it is not a party day, as I have heard absolutely no noise from partying, and the noise-isolation of the rooms I find to be very good.

The breakfast was tasty, and the excursions were organized on the spot. The receptionists were good-looking but a bit cold, which is in general the case in most of the design hotels all over the world.

The room was pretty clean. As it is white-nights time, i have used an eye-mask from the minibar, and slept very well.

Room Tip: ask for a harbor view room on a high floor and far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavík. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, nightlife and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavík for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 101 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.