We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Chic, convivial, designer hotel in the heart of Reykjavik's shopping, restaurant, and bar scene. My wife and I had an excellent room overlooking the harbor. Although there was no separate bathroom, just frosted glass enclosures for toilet and shower, and the sink was part of a designer cart, these proved fine. Our room was almost overstuffed with extra amenities, bar, DVD, and iPod players, etc. There were also excellent blackout curtains to keep out the midnight sun (it set at midnight and rose at 2:45 a.m. the last day we were there!) However, do beware the lodging floors' somewhat dangerously (designer) dark hallways.

The 101 has a lovely,large Icelandic lounge with fireplace, which leads up to the large bar (which serves breakfast in the morning). Both lounge and bar become packed with Icelanders in the evenings. Being in central Reykjavik means the partying here and in other nearby establishments goes into the wee hours of the night, followed by the sounds of the city's very efficient and thorough street cleaning equipment and crews -- so it can be a slightly noisy hotel, as are all others in a city legendary for its party scene.

We didn't have a chance to use the spa.

Two of the three receptionists we dealt with during our stay were friendly, knowledgeable, efficient, and pleasures to deal with (the third seemed a bit lost, perhaps hired for her Icelandic 'blonde goddess' appearance?)

We give the hotel 4 of 5 stars only because we of the confusion of that one receptionist; because somewhat less than helpful breakfast staffing, who on each day keep chatting about what they did the previous evenings rather than provide even the minor help we would have gotten at a business hotel breakfast buffet; because the ambient overnight street noise in downtown Reykjavik; and because the hotel is nearing, but not quite yet up to, Continental 5-star standards. Nonetheless, we think it will be 5-star soon enough and look forward to staying here again when we're next in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    98
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
136
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I took my sister here for her 21st birthday and we loved it, a nice treat. The service was fantastic, the staff really helpful with recommendations for places to eat and the best tourist attractions.

The bar appeared to be the place to be seen when we were there, heaving with beautiful people partying into the early hours. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel is beautifully furnished/

The location was perfect for exploring Reykjavik and we had a nice view of the port. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'd looked forward to staying at 101 Hotel for over ten years. Unfortunately, that's probably when this hotel was at its best. Since it was way too expensive for me during my first visit to Iceland before the 2008 economic crisis, I was excited to stay there during my second trip. We booked a King room for our first night in Iceland and arrived pretty late in the evening. Since everyone else must have been checked in for the night, I thought perhaps we'd receive a complimentary upgrade to a room with a tub, or just a nice room in our category. It wasn't a fully booked, high season kind of night. Instead, our room was at the back of the hotel and had view of the inner courtyard, which is to say of a grimy, aging art wall and heating/cooling facilities. The room was small and felt spartan instead of chic. Everything felt a little cheap. The hallways are dim and dreary/dingy, not dark and sexy/mysterious. No breakfast, not even a cup of coffee in the morning, was included. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on a ten day trip to Denmark/Iceland and it was the only place we stayed we didn't like. I think I would try Center Hotel Thingholt in the city the next time I go back. Or just drive in from the Blue Lagoon Clinic each day, it's amazing out there.

Nothing horrible happened to us and I don't doubt that the people who give positive reviews here had a great time. I don't want to make it out any worse than it is or complain about nit-picky details. This isn't a temper tantrum or a revenge review. But 101 Hotel has the reputation of being one of Reykjavik's (Iceland's) best hotels and nothing about it lived up to that reputation to me. We had an average/below average experience at a place that commands a premium. We also stayed at Hotel Budir, Hotel Egilsen and the Blue Lagoon Clinic during this trip and all of them were less expensive and far superior experiences.

Room Tip: Just book the cheapest room and ask for a King bed at check in. Paying more for a King room technica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great stay there and the staff was accommodating. Loved the design of the property and the public areas are beautiful. Would have liked a little more service but then again the Nordics have their own way. Over all a very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is very good, and it is a small modernized hotel.
Pretty good service where the breakfast has a very small selection and is not included.
The rooms are small and without a separate bathroom, so not much privacy in these rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stylish and hip yet calming and comfortable at the same time. The hotel is in a great location, and immediately upon entering, you notice the trendy, minimalist style. The front desk staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Rooms are very nice, showers are spacious, and beds are comfy. This ranks up there with some of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at around the world.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed this hip, stylish and comfortable hotel. It is centrally located and the front desk was very helpful with planning sight seeing, restaurant reservations, and generally just very friendly and welcoming. The room was beautiful -- simple, all white with some black accents, contemporary. A few nit picks: 1 bar of soap (requested second for shower and got it), breakfast buffet is just OK, not great. Still, loved the overall experience!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavík. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, nightlife and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavík for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 101 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.