We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - worth the extra cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Save Saved
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic - worth the extra cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I took my sister here for her 21st birthday and we loved it, a nice treat. The service was fantastic, the staff really helpful with recommendations for places to eat and the best tourist attractions.

The bar appeared to be the place to be seen when we were there, heaving with beautiful people partying into the early hours. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel is beautifully furnished/

The location was perfect for exploring Reykjavik and we had a nice view of the port. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    90
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
18
118
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'd looked forward to staying at 101 Hotel for over ten years. Unfortunately, that's probably when this hotel was at its best. Since it was way too expensive for me during my first visit to Iceland before the 2008 economic crisis, I was excited to stay there during my second trip. We booked a King room for our first night in Iceland and arrived pretty late in the evening. Since everyone else must have been checked in for the night, I thought perhaps we'd receive a complimentary upgrade to a room with a tub, or just a nice room in our category. It wasn't a fully booked, high season kind of night. Instead, our room was at the back of the hotel and had view of the inner courtyard, which is to say of a grimy, aging art wall and heating/cooling facilities. The room was small and felt spartan instead of chic. Everything felt a little cheap. The hallways are dim and dreary/dingy, not dark and sexy/mysterious. No breakfast, not even a cup of coffee in the morning, was included. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on a ten day trip to Denmark/Iceland and it was the only place we stayed we didn't like. I think I would try Center Hotel Thingholt in the city the next time I go back. Or just drive in from the Blue Lagoon Clinic each day, it's amazing out there.

Nothing horrible happened to us and I don't doubt that the people who give positive reviews here had a great time. I don't want to make it out any worse than it is or complain about nit-picky details. This isn't a temper tantrum or a revenge review. But 101 Hotel has the reputation of being one of Reykjavik's (Iceland's) best hotels and nothing about it lived up to that reputation to me. We had an average/below average experience at a place that commands a premium. We also stayed at Hotel Budir, Hotel Egilsen and the Blue Lagoon Clinic during this trip and all of them were less expensive and far superior experiences.

Room Tip: Just book the cheapest room and ask for a King bed at check in. Paying more for a King room technica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great stay there and the staff was accommodating. Loved the design of the property and the public areas are beautiful. Would have liked a little more service but then again the Nordics have their own way. Over all a very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is very good, and it is a small modernized hotel.
Pretty good service where the breakfast has a very small selection and is not included.
The rooms are small and without a separate bathroom, so not much privacy in these rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stylish and hip yet calming and comfortable at the same time. The hotel is in a great location, and immediately upon entering, you notice the trendy, minimalist style. The front desk staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Rooms are very nice, showers are spacious, and beds are comfy. This ranks up there with some of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at around the world.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed this hip, stylish and comfortable hotel. It is centrally located and the front desk was very helpful with planning sight seeing, restaurant reservations, and generally just very friendly and welcoming. The room was beautiful -- simple, all white with some black accents, contemporary. A few nit picks: 1 bar of soap (requested second for shower and got it), breakfast buffet is just OK, not great. Still, loved the overall experience!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pros: clean and hip. included breakfast. convenient location within the city with walking distance to everywhere. (less than 5 min walk to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur)

Cons: bathroom design was somewhat unusal. the floor was wet after showering. parking is not available so you need to park up the street in an overnight garage if you are renting a car. it's close but still an inconvenience.

Verdict: nice, chic hotel in center of town but definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavík. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, nightlife and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavík for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 101 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.