We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Save Saved
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stylish and hip yet calming and comfortable at the same time. The hotel is in a great location, and immediately upon entering, you notice the trendy, minimalist style. The front desk staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Rooms are very nice, showers are spacious, and beds are comfy. This ranks up there with some of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at around the world.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    90
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
118
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed this hip, stylish and comfortable hotel. It is centrally located and the front desk was very helpful with planning sight seeing, restaurant reservations, and generally just very friendly and welcoming. The room was beautiful -- simple, all white with some black accents, contemporary. A few nit picks: 1 bar of soap (requested second for shower and got it), breakfast buffet is just OK, not great. Still, loved the overall experience!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pros: clean and hip. included breakfast. convenient location within the city with walking distance to everywhere. (less than 5 min walk to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur)

Cons: bathroom design was somewhat unusal. the floor was wet after showering. parking is not available so you need to park up the street in an overnight garage if you are renting a car. it's close but still an inconvenience.

Verdict: nice, chic hotel in center of town but definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a really nice choice for Reykjavik, at the top end of the price scale but we enjoyed it enough to warrant that and found food and beverages to be surprisingly and comparatively reasonable, even alcohol which is legendarily expensive in Iceland. I guess the 2008 implosion helped there. Unassuming and rather austere from the outside - it is a former 1930's office block, but cosy and cool within, though much smaller than imagined. We loved the bar and restaurant, the bar is trendy, hip and very popular with locals and residents alike and the restaurant is a light, funky monochrome space with decent contemporary food, some meals better than others but always an enjoyable atmosphere with a great loungey soundtrack. Our room was minimal and stylish but compact with a pitiful 6 hangers and rather tight fisted on products. I had requested a quiet room due to comments on TA about noise from wild partying Icelanders and we didn't hear any street or bar noise from our position on the 4th floor though consequently we had a view onto a wall, albeit a white arty sculpted wall with humpsl! Nevertheless the room was still flooded with light. The rooms are open plan which means the bathroom is effectively within the bedroom, not a problem for us long term marrieds but perhaps not recommended for the coy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The position is perfect for exploring the city and there is cheap parking within a 2 minute walk. All in all a well located friendly and chic boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I searched all over to find the perfect boutique hotel in Reykjavik and came across 101 Hotel. It is perfectly set in downtown Reykjavik with every shop, bar, and restaurant within walking distance. Iceland Excursions is a block away should you want to take a tour, which I highly recommend.

We were dropped off around 9:30am after flying all night and were offered early check-in for a small fee, which we were happy to pay since regular check-in is at 3pm. The woman at reception was very friendly, helpful, and spoke perfect English as most of the people in Reykjavik do. She gave us restaurant recommendations, all of which were delicious, and booked our reservations for us.

The rooms are simple and contemporary decorated in black and white. You have a row of windows to allow the natural light in, assuming you are not there in the winter. Not to worry, there are black out shades for the summer months since they have 20+ hours of daylight. The bed is comfortable with plenty of pillows to enjoy a good night’s sleep after a night on the town. As far as functionality goes in a hotel, 101 Hotel knows how to take a small space and make it like home. There are plenty of shelves, places to hang your towels, and there is even a shelf indented with slots for change, keys, jewelry, etc. The toilet is in a frosted glass room and the shower is open with a rain shower head.

Visiting Iceland is something that should go on your “bucket list”. When you do, stay at 101 Hotel and explore this amazing, beautiful country. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This time my husband took me away for my birthday! I had wanted to visit Reykjavic for a long time, as I had heard it was a really cool place and was really excited to visit the crazy countryside around it, but having booked three non-refundable nights at the Hotel 101, we discovered Vik and Jokulsarlon and considered only staying at the 101 for two nights, and spending one night further east so that we could go and see them. However, having arrived at the 101 we decided to drive al the way to Jokulsarlon and back in a day, as we liked the hotel so much we didn't want to lose a night there!
We had a deluxe suite, overlooking the harbour, and I would recommend asking for that kind of view, as some of the rooms seemed to overlook the courtyard, which wasn't so nice. The room was very minimalist in design, but also very comfortable and functional. It was almost the size of my flat in London, and had a wall down the middle reaching halfway across the room, so you couldn't see the bath or shower from the bed, but it was all one space. The loo was a funny little frosted-glass box, which was clever as it was still part of the same space, but separate to protect your modesty! The room had black out blinds, but it is so light in Reykjavic at this time of year that if you are at all bothered by light when trying to sleep I would recommend bringing an eye mask.
We initially balked at the £15 per head breakfast (not included) and ate out on the first day, but then discovered that that cost the same, even for one course in what was really a greasy spoon! So the next two days we ate breakfast in the hotel and thought it was great. I made the most of the all you can eat buffet, while my husband had the American pancakes, which he loved and which were cheaper than the buffet, so very good value. We didn't have supper in the hotel, but the menu looked great, and we did have a couple of really good cocktails in the bar there before heading out one evening.
There was a seriously helpful English guy on reception while we were there, who gave us some great trips for sightseeing, patiently talking us through the whole drive to Jokulsarlon, telling what else was worth checking out on the way.
The hotel doesn't have parking, but it is pretty easy to get a space on the street outside, and if not, there is a car park just up the road which costs about 80p for the first hour and 50p thereafter so parking is not a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on to the street or harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is uber chic and cool. Great bar scene and trendy night spot. Central location and super friendly, helpful staff. The bar area and resturant are frequented by the beautiful and trendy people of the city and people watching is a must!

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front of the hotel you might not get much sleep as the bar goers smoke out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavík. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, nightlife and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavík for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 101 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.