We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expected better for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nutshell: stylish (if try hard) in a great location, however, very poor service. Incompetence verging on rude. "What time's checkout?" was met with, "I don't know". Took 4 attempts to get a cup of tea. We were sent in circles to find a place for breakfast. To top it all off, it is extremely noisy on a Saturday night both inside and outside the hotel. Initially our concerns were met with offers of ear plugs! Not right when you're paying US 450 a night! To be fair, we requested for our room to be moved and were accommodated. If you want a warm, gracious, friendly environment from which to see the wonderful sites of Reykjavik, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    99
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
137
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent five nights at the 101 in late July and early August and had mixed feelings about the property. On the plus side: our fourth-floor Standard Room was spacious and clean, decorated nicely, and offered a splendid view of the water and opera house. And the very convenient location couldn't be improved on. On the minus side: the room was definitely about form over function. The mattress was thin and not particularly comfortable, and the bathroom area was borderline ridiculous. There was no separation between the bathroom and sleeping area, so the only way you could get a modicum of privacy was to sit on the toilet, where at least you were enclosed by smoky glass. The sink was set up in front of a large window, instead of a mirror, so in order to perform any sink-related activities that might require a mirror, like shaving or brushing your teeth, you had to turn to your right and look at the mirror on the wall (all while you were putting on a show for any people who happened to be walking below). And the shower was one of those hip, stylish showers that looks great but sprays water all over the bathroom so you have to spend time mopping up afterward. Meanwhile, there wasn't a whole lot of storage because a lot of the shelf space is taken up with random merchandise that they're trying to sell. Decor-wise, I'd say the hotel's design is a little 15 years ago, when it was chic to have pitch-black halls where you can barely see and everything in the room is white, black, and beige (as opposed to the newly opened Icelandair Marina hotel, which is obviously going for a more colorful, eclectic vibe). The breakfast offered a pretty good selection, but they seemed to have a hard time keeping things replenished on a couple mornings. And why can't they include breakfast in the extremely high price, as all of the other hotels on our Iceland-Norway-Sweden trip did? Finally, I was a little annoyed on our final morning because the wake-up call we'd requested came 15 minutes late. Luckily, we were already awake so it was okay, but when you're dealing with making your flight, 15 minutes can make a big difference. Overall, the 101 wasn't a huge disappointment, but considering that it was the most expensive hotel we've ever stayed at (probably twice as much as we've spent on similar rooms in other Western European cities), I was just hoping for a little more. I know that Iceland is outrageously expensive, but I was still hoping the hotel would be a little more posh and that the experience would feel a little more special. But ultimately, the central location and great view from our room convinced us that we'd made a decent choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erla Bjork G, Guest Relations Manager at 101 hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you kindly for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked you to. The design of the hotel is quite unique and therefore might not be suitable for all our guests. We try our very best to make all our guests feel comfortable and happy. Hopefully in the future should you decide to stay at 101 Hotel again we can make your stay more comfortable. We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location is perfect to the point where you'd might need ear plugs if you sleep lightly as it is only steps away from the main street - which was definately noticeable in our room facing the street. The room was very cool and typical designer hotel, not the most practical but comfortable, had everything we needed and the bed was awesome with GREAT pillows!

Fast Wifi, great minibar selection and in-room Ipod-dock (didn't work in our room but won't hold it against them as we never bothered calling someone to have it replaced).

Great service at the front desk with attentive and helpful staff - sorry to say I can't say the same thing about the hotel restaurant where we had dinner on saturday night. The food was great but the service was lacking - only ten to fifteen guests in the entire restaurant and at least four waiters working, but it still took us ages to order. After finishing our food it took the waiter a LONG time to get the empty plates - I'm talking 20-30 mins, and we had to ask twice for the dessert menu. After waiting another 20 minutes to order dessert and coffee, we just gave up and left...

Would probably return to stay at the hotel on our next visit - but I probably won't eat in the restaurant again - despite very good food - as the service was extremely disappointing in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erla Bjork G, Manager at 101 hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We would like to start off by saying we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your time at our restaurant. We are constantly improving, so your review is highly helpful to us. We appreciate the wonderful review about the hotel. We take constructive criticism well, and we hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location, we got the junior suite which was excellent, but noisy for the first night. Get ear plugs & you'll be fine. Anna at the front desk was very friendly, nice, and helped us a great deal, she was just wonderful. Nick , the night MGR. was very nice too. Room was spotless, great view of the harbour. Walk-in big shower, & seperate bath tub. Could have used an in-room coffee maker. Perfect center city location for the marathon. Anna sent us to the Grill Market & Lobster House rest. , our two favorite restaurants. Avoid itialia, very slow service , the waitress looked at me when I said do you have Chicken Piccata, "What's That!!!", how about fresh fish. answer was "NO", how about Gnocchi, she said nothing and just looked at me. $70.00 for two bowls of pasta. Argenita was very good, but expensive $210.00 for two. We did the Circle tour which was Excellent, The Blue Lagoon was GREAT, could have gone back again, whale watching was fun & well worth it. Breakfast at the 101 was very good. The staff was very warm & friendly.

Room Tip: Walk to the "Church" on the top of the hill, take in the baths up there too. Buy ears plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erla Bjork G, Manager at 101 hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of 101 hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to have made your visit to Reykjavik memorable and hopefully you will return to stay with us in the future Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We had intended to spend 2 nights in Iceland on our way back to the US from France but, due to illness, were there several days. First of all, kudos to the young staff who were unfailing helpful and sympathetic during our visit! They couldn't have been nicer and we are very grateful.

The hotel's location is excellent. I was able to walk anywhere whether to see the sites, visit a restaurant or stroll by the working harbor. We loved the room..., it had all the amenities one would want ( particularly when stuck in the room while your partner was sick!) from wifi to iPod dock. The decor was "Ikea" and we liked the throw on the bed so much that we bought one to take home. The shades did a great job in keeping out the light during the night.

We will always have a fondness for the 101 hotel due to our experience but aside from that, we would highly recommend it as a great place to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erla Bjork G, Manager at 101 hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of 101 hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us. I am happy that you received a warm welcome from our staff! Our team works hard to ensure our guests feel at home from the start. Please let us know if you are visiting Reykjavik again, as we would love for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We aren't big fans of "design" hotels, finding that many of them try too hard to be cool, so that is a bias brought to this review. That said, however, this hotel seemed to be more bare bones than design. We booked a "suite" and boy, was that a misnomer. What we got was a small room with an L shaped section that contained a sofa facing a wall.

The bed was comfortable and that is about as far as ease of living went in the room. Who are all of these people who want a bathtub and sink out in the open near the bed or a semi private loo with a glass door? This isn't great architecture....it's just not wanting to bother with pesky details like doors that take up space and cost money, but it's become acceptable as a form of self conscious chic. As well, the hallways were painted a very dark purplish brown that seemed silly and almost dangerous as it was hard to see before one's eyes adjusted.

There were no surfaces or storage and only a small rack for hanging clothes, so be prepared to live out of a suitcase. The few drawers in the cabinet under the TV and under the sink were literally stuffed with items to purchase, with more options than the average lobby gift store. There were the usual drink and food options in great quantities, but there were also over 30 non food items, including random things like black knee high socks, a calculator, several books about Iceland, and various games. It was irritating to see that a dental kit was for sale. This is often standard in a "suite" and usually available at no fee for a guest who needs a toothbrush. The whole in your face selling struck us as ungracious as we were afraid to touch or move anything for fear of getting charged.

The bed itself was very comfortable and the best selling point of the room. The comforter cover, however, was stained and we had to get that changed which took a while to arrange as the phone at the front desk went unanswered for some time. The location is excellent and convenient to everything in central Reykjavik.

We didn't really have many encounters with the staff with the exception of checking in and checking out and the standard issue breakfast buffet. Everyone seemed fine, but not overly warm. This is not a high service hotel - never once did we see anyone in attendance at the door and all of the guests, including us, seemed to be hauling our own bags.

Many of the previous reviews mentioned noise, and we heard a little during the night but it wasn't as bad as we feared. We were not there on a Saturday evening, which might be one reason. It is my understanding that hotels in Reykjavik are pretty much all susceptible to weekend noise problems.

Overall, this hotel was frustrating in its minimalism and design choices that limit privacy for guests. The retail in room shopping was irritating particularly because the items completely took over any drawer or storage space. Still, there isn't an embarrassment of hotel riches in Reykjavik and I am happy that we gave it a try, but it won't be on our repeat list.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erla Bjork G, Manager at 101 hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We appreciate your review. We are sorry to hear you didn´t enjoy your time with us. We realize our unique design and feel are not for everyone, but thanks for giving us a try.
We look at each review and try to improve our product and service for the future, so we appreciate your honesty.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The most modern design is perfect up to a certain point. I've been there with a boyfriend and all was fine untill I started suffering a stomach disorder (that's a different story - I'm a vegetarian and finding quality vegy food in Iceland is a serious problem). And there are no walls and doors separating the toilet from the reset of the apartment which can be extremely embarrassing in such cases. I had to think off thousands of reasons to send him out just to use these primary facilities in private. Well, now I remember that with laughter but at that time I wanted to sink at the bottom of the ocean.
But
If back in Reykjavik, I'll deffinately return to 101

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavík. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, nightlife and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavík for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 101 hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.