We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Luna Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Spitalastigur 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 102 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“beautiful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a beautiful, spacious and very clean appartment on the 2nd floor. It was a one bedroom with 2 beds facing the back (very quiet) and a living room/kitchenette in the front. The studios are on the semi-basement floor and are smaller but ideal for one person, all equipped also and very clean. The maids come in and clean the appartment every 2 days and they do a great job. The owner was very nice, was there to meet us in the morning of our arrival and was very accomodating and answered all my questions very quickly over Emails before our arrival. Location is perfect and parking is easy in the streets nearby. Will go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    35
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
81
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I whole-heartedly recommend Luna Hotel Apartments. We stayed for 5 nights. Ellert is very helpful and kindly upgraded my son and I to an apartment on Amtmannsstigur with a double room and a fabulous sleeping loft. My son adored the loft. The apartment was very clean, warm and comfortable. It truly felt like a home from home. The kitchen had everything we needed for self-catering with a cheap (for Iceland!) supermarket and superb bakery immediately around the corner. Everything was in easy walking distance and easy to find. If we ever have the chance to go back to Iceland, I will definitely be booking Luna again. Reykjavic is fun for all ages and Iceland rocks so if you haven't been yet, book now!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Luna Apartments. We stayed in the top floor 2 bedroom apartment in the main building. Ellert was very helpful on arrival pointing out points of interest and giving us our bearings. He also went out of his way to make arrival and leaving as stress-free as possible. Can't fault the apartment. It was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. There's a handy supermarket round one corner and a bakery round another. All the main tour operators will pick you up from outside the building

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Upon arriving exhausted in Iceland we were welcomed warmly. We stayed three nights and were upgraded to a spacious, light-filled apartment (much larger than needed) in the auxiliary building. The location is excellent with just a short walk to the main activity of Reykjavik, but on a side street meaning noise was limited in the evening. There's also a nice market just around the corner. Since we were on the top floor the narrow stairs made carrying luggage a bit awkward, but the modern decor and views from the apartment were great. An excellent choice and good value if you're looking for a well-equipped, comfortable apartment in the center of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

A charming little hotel with only seven units ran by a nice gentleman. Perfect if you are self-sufficient, as it is more like an apartment than a hotel. Incredibly clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. Just the perfect distance from the main strip as to be completely walkable, but still very peaceful in the evening. Rooms are spacious and a great value. I will never stay elsewhere in Reykjavik! Thank you, Gellert, for your hospitality and making our trip perfect! As a side note, not for those who can't handle stairs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the studio flat, which was small as we expected, but as it had good storage and everything we needed in the kitchenette, we were really pleased with our good value choice. Quality tea and coffee range provided, and even pretty Nordic Christmas decorations in the apartment windows! The owner was very helpful and pointed out all the local facilities. It's in the most characterful and calm part of town and well located for easy walking to most attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in both the main location and the auxilliary location. Both apartments were comfortable and very well located. We had a lot of privacy and room. Close in to Reykjavik center. An excellent choice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Apartments

Address: Spitalastigur 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna is a luxurious fully equipped apartment hotel, conveniently located in the heart of Reykjavík, in a quiet, charming, older residential area free from downtown traffic and noise, but in walking distance from the city center and Laugavegur, the main shopping street. It is also within walking distance from all major restaurants, bars, cafes, clubs, public transportation, museums, embassies and other activities. Luna is ideal for both short and long term stays. We offer studio, one bedroom, two bedroom, three bedroom and four bedroom apartments. All apartments are elegantly furnished with a private bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, free internet connection, satellite TV, radio and other small things to make life easier. If you want to enjoy your vacation or business trip then Luna is the right place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luna Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.