We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Fosshotel Baron
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A good 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

We stayed in Fosshotel Baron room 410 (double, standard) for 2 nights.

GOOD POINTS. Location was very good, an easy walking distance from all the main attractions. Local shops were just around a corner. Our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast was good and freshly baked pancakes were delicious. We were able to book our Blue Lagoon trip easily via reception. Staff were helpful.

BAD POINTS. Not many. We had a prepaid voucher where we requested a double room with an ocean view. Upon our arrival they had no record of us and gave us a twin room facing graffiti wall (room 421). Upon our request this was rectified right away and we got the largest room (I think) on our floor with a nice view. The beds were little too soft but my partner didn't seem to mind that. The water smelt of sulphur. By the way this is normal on this island with so much geo activity going on.

OVERALL. This is a good 3 star hotel and we felt happy to have chosen it.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    469
    155
    25
    11
See reviews for
108
403
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

I stayed here two nights with a stopover in Reykjavik from Europe.
Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Convenient location with breakfast buffet. Internet access available with fee.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

The hotel is wonderful- clean, with a great location and an outstanding staff. The breakfast room is a little small, but the staff kept the buffet table well stocked. I realized several days after our stay that I had left a bag of souvenirs and a video tape of the first part of our trip in the room. I called and the receptionist went into the room to check, but, alas, could not find the items. Nearly a month later I received an email from that same receptionist. The items had been turned in, just mislabled. She sent them to me in America! What great service! We will most definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2006

Stayed for 3 days at the end of May. Arrived at 0130 after a short while someone came to the reception desk, and check in was fine. However, the room was a disappointment, in spite of its size as the bedroom curtain was half hanging off its rail. This must have been obvious to the cleaners so we were surprised for it to be like this. Although we were on the first floor the rear car park was level with our window, so we weren't too well pleased. Luckily being resourceful the cutlery was used to effect a good repair to ensure privacy. In spite of mentioning this defect, it was never repaired during our 3 days, has it been now?
The room was large with comfortable beds, lounge/kitchen and shower/toilet - a bit battered in places but fine.
The continental breakfast buffet was good and was constantly topped up, on odd occasions it was a bit chaotic pre 0900. There is a small car park out front, but plenty of spaces to the rear. The reception staff will assist in phoning car hire/tour companies for you, and theres plenty of leaflets in the reception. Within the local area theres 2 24hr supermarkets and a Domino pizza takeaway. Usefully for afternoon departures theres a left luggage room.
You can walk along the shore or via the main shopping street into the town centre within 10 minutes.
Overall a good hotel at a good price let down by a basic flaw in the bedroom, not remedied by their staff.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

We loved this hotel! We were able to check in at 9:30 am, they have free attached parking and we were upgraded to a bigger room. Employees were friendly and breakfast the next morning was delicious. Great location for exploring Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2006

The staff were so helpful! They got us great reservations, sketched maps, confirmed excursions, and were terrifically helpful. The buffet breakfast was high quality and Scandinavian in nature. The hotel was well situated next to the harbor with a grocery store, main shopping district, restaurant, and bus station near by. Clean, convienent, and comparatively low cost. When we return, it will be to the Foss Baron.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2006

We spent a long weekend at the FossHotel Baron along with a group of friends. The staff was very helpful and efficient. A pleasant buffet breakfast was included with the room. The dining room is small and it is often necessary to share a table with strangers which yielded some delightful conversations.
Some rooms include a separate sitting area and some of those include a basic kitchen set up. The standard rooms (without the sitting area) are rather small. The best rooms are those facing the water giving a great view of the midnight sun.
The only negative thing was that our party included 2 single women and the hotel could not provide a room with two twin beds; the best they could do was a room with two beds next to one another with no space between them. Due to the size of the room the beds could not be separated.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fosshotel Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.