We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best amenity is grocery store right behind hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Fosshotel Baron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best amenity is grocery store right behind hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room, while average, looked nothing like this picture. The hotel is fairly clean but there are no dark out curtains. There are very few TV stations and although we were not in our room much during the day, at nite we could find little on in English. We were told by one of the staff that owners must pay for stations and the owners were not interested in doing so. We stayed at Hotel Vik in Vik and had plenty of channels to watch. I did like the Old Harbor view and the included breakfast buffet was plentiful.

Be aware that check-in is 4 p.m. The travel agent who booked for us did not tell us this and we arrived on a Saturday at 1:00 and had to sit in the lobby until 3:45 - were told there were no clean rooms. Find that difficult to believe since, when complaining to the manager about our room not being cleaned nor towels provided 1 night, he advised that the staff clean the rooms of those leaving in order to make room for new guests before they clean for those staying any particular night.

We especially liked that there is a grocery store right behind the Hotel - good for having colas and snacks in our room. Also, they started a salad bar but close it up early - 6 p.m. I think.

All in all, we had no major complaints about the hotel but were no blown away by it either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darkroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed one night on a flight layover. This is an adequate hotel for that--my room was a bit small, but quite functional. Room decor was a bit like my grandma's bedroom, but bed was super-comfortable. Wi-Fi was excellent. Breakfast was very nice. Location is good. I arrived at 7 PM, dumped my gear in the room and was able to take a short walk to Hallgrimm's Church, then the main shopping street, and a little stroll on the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TjDzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had two separate stays in the hotel. First time room was tiny and curtains didn't keep the light out. Second time the room was much bigger but would suggest blackout curtains for those travellers not used to daylight 24 hrs. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of hot and cold food. The hotel was a short walk from the Main Street shops and restaurants and the harbour.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosieB562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is all in all a great hotel; close location to the main street and main sightings and very strategic located between the bus lines from and to the airport. The rooms are spacious and clean, but somewhat unfurnished (for 5 persons there was only 1 sofa). The WiFi was reasonably good. As was the breakfast (the waffle iron was a nice gesture) all though way too small and crowded when for example a tourist group were going to eat at the same time. You could risk standing in line for 15 minutes, which I find unacceptable. But the price for a room is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Utan_namn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a nice affordable hotel. Not luxurious but everything's there and works. The room was clean, spacious and even had a balcony and a small kitchen. Furniture was not very new but still in good shape and it gave the place a charm. Small bar at the ground floor for evening drinks.
Located just a 5 minutes walk from the main street with all the entertainment you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taqqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel located slightly out of the centre but only a 5 minute walk to shops etc. We had a large clean room (upgraded at a reasonable charge with huge balcony from which we saw the Northern Lights every night of our stay) with good bathroom. Smell of sulphur in the shower slightly off putting but this is everywhere - top tip, don't close your bathroom door when out for the day as it just gets worse!!
Breakfast was a little hectic with no one to seat you so we ended up sharing tables with people just to get a seat. Good choice of food though and we made up cheese and meat sandwiches to take out with us for the day so we didn't have to buy much on our excursions.

Staff at hotel great - helpful and speak perfect English.

Ate in a few places and had a Dominos from just a few doors down. Expensive for food and drink but again this is Iceland for you.

Highly recommend this hotel :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tinkertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Tinkertraveller,

Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts on your stay at Fosshotel Baron.

Hope you enjoyed all that Reykjavik has to offer and hopefully you will have a chance to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent and the breakfast is also good. The rooms are pretty basic though and our curtain didn't close properly. Felt a bit run down and drab.The bathroom was tiny with just about enough room for a shower. If you want something that serves solely the purpose for sleeping and you're not looking for anything special then this place is fine but it could certainly do with updating. The decor is depressing.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the shabby chic ones. These looked much better than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Charlie_BBP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback and I am happy to read that our location was suitable and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Some of our rooms are in a need of refurbishing and this is something which is scheduled in the near future. Nevertheless I hope you did enjoy your stay in Reykjavik and at our Hotel.

Thanks again for your review
Best Regards
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#19 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#31 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#37 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reykjavik
#42 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing