We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Save Saved
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fosshotel Baron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 48 hotels in Reykjavik
Rufford, Lancashire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Baron after booking it via Icelandair. The rooms were basic but fine (not cold as mentioned by another reviewer - I actually had to turn the heating down!). The breakfast was good and plentiful, and the hotel was well situated for the town and the bay. I found the staff very helpful - I lost my diabetic pen and worked out that it was probably in the vehicle I'd been in for a volcano tour - the hotel reception contacted the tour company for me and my pen was back with me later that evening. This says as much for the tour company as the hotel (big cheers to Volcano Tours!), but it's an example of how helpful the Baron staff were

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    409
    130
    20
    9
See reviews for
91
350
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Foss Baron.
Booked through Baltic Travel Company. Good deal & great fuss free service.
The transfer to this hotel from the airport took 2 hours! The receptionist at first was very cold & I felt as if I was a nuisance. However on a second trip to reception it was a warmer experience & a little more helpful. In fact each visit was an improvement. So no probs there. They are able to sort all questions & give advice on all trips.

My room was quaint in terms of furniture shabby chic white but plenty of it. A clean & functional room with basic tea & coffee making facilities( paper cups); enough towels & safe deposit box & generic soap dispenser in the bathroom & shower. TV reception & choice of programmes was very poor. Just BBC news & national Geograsphic. Oh well I wasn't there for tele!
Breakfast buffet had a really good range of breads, cereals, cold bits, fruit etc. hot food limited though. Still More than adequate & plenty to eat & regularly replenished. Bar open from 5.0 until 1.00 am. If you are leaving early am they also have an early breakfast available with a little less choice but again easily enough for your needs.You can get soup & bread in the bar, if you fancy a snack.
Hotel located near a Dominoes & 2 block walk from main shopping area., a 5 mins brisk walk up slight hill. So good situation. Hotel was busy with all nationalities & no one seemed to be anything but happy to be there.

Ate at a restaurant down the main shopping street called Scandinavian, traditionalish food I think . Fish & chips with a 'pink sauce' cost 3,000 ISK approx: 2 pieces if breadcrumbed fish, fries,salad garnish & Marie Rose sauce. Quite busy place but only 1 waitress. Large range of foods available including lobster.
Next door to Hotel Fron so a lot of their clients ate there.
Next evening Rossopomodoro , an authentic Italian restaurant on the main high street.Good selection of well known Italian dishes. Spaghetti bog, side salad & glass of house red cost 5,770 ISK. Tasty & plenty if it. Bread & oil included.
Tour companies. All much the same. Iceland & Reykjavik tours will pick up & return to your hotels , even if you have to detour. Pick up usually 30 mins before tour starts. Drivers & guides all have amazing English. Puts the English speaking to shame!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a friend to explore Iceland for a few days and see the lights. Excellent location, superb friendly staff. Danny at the bar is a scream...try the Opal. Rooms we're comfy and very warm. Good views across to the mountains and a few minutes to the local bars and restaurants. We did upgrade to a self catering room though. Breakfast was plenty and varied. Ask for the best hot dog sellers...you won't be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's not really a bargain, but the price they offered was ok. We had one of the "historic" rooms, it was quite spacious, clean and the size of the bathroom was ok as well.

It's not really located directly downtown, but as Reykjavik is quite small, you are there within a short walk.

The breakfast was really a plus. Have in mind that they do not offer dinner. But there are some nice options in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good things about the hotel: location, breakfast (average), and the kind night staff at check-in.
Otherwise, this was very mediocre. I signed up for a historic room which was billed on the website as having what I would say is cute, simple, decor. The room I received was run down, dingy, and spare. It wasn't quite dirty, but I did not want to spend much time there (good thing, because there is lots to do in Iceland!) It is too bad, because I was expecting a bit of a treat after traveling for 2 weeks. Also, the common hallways were often dirty, as if the staff could not keep up with the vacuuming required when you have guests who have spent the day out hiking!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva_Ros, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that you could enjoy our location, breakfast and night staff.

Its to bad you didnt enjoy your room, I wish you would have talked to us about it during your stay.
Here at Barón we have 8 kind of different room types. Ranging from small cozy rooms with skylight windows up to 2 bedroom apartments and double rooms with amazing view of the ocean and mountains. The reception would have been happy to assist you with finding a room that fits your needs and likings.
Regarding the room you were staying in, our guests have extremely different opinions about them. Many of our returning guests always request these rooms. They are very recently renovated, so all the furniture is new even though they are in antique style. The feeling that it was dirty might just be because in we have the original posts since 1895 in the room, so some guests can smell the old wood, which for some gives the room the extra touch of a cozy cabin.

As in most hotels, the housekeeping department is only working until 4 pm. So unfortunately, if the guests bring dirt in from their day tours the housekeeping will first clean again the next day.

I do hope that if you should return to Iceland that you give us another change. Just remember to ask about our options in room types :)

Best regards,
Eva
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just stayed there for a short5 day break, the hotel is in a lovely spot overlooking the bay. The rooms are good and clean with step in showers. The breakfast is excellent with everything from cereals to waffles and everything inbetween. They do soup and a roll in the evenings and happy hour between 5 and 7 which is ideal as drinks are expensive in Iceland, We took advantage of this and bought double brandies and took them to our rooms before we went off searching for the Northern lights as you don't return till midnight and the bar is shut by then except on Fridays and Saturdays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked FossHotel Baron though the Icelandic Air deal to see the Northern Lights. We found the hotel to be perfect for what we were looking for. Great location, 5 minute walk to High Street or 10/15 minute walk to the Harbour and Old Reykjavik. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and warm. Breakfast is typically very European with cold meats and cheese but there are a variety of options.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room in the old part of the building so it had the sloping roof and white bed head t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Hotel
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.