We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Fosshotel Baron
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location, very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of April 2013 and nothing but good to say about it. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, room was a reasonable size and very clean, hotel is in an excellent location.

Iceland itself is a wonderful place, breathtaking scenery..we did the South coust tour and the Grand circle, both well worth doing. Thanks to the rep on the South Coast tour we were amazingly lucky to see the Northern Lights too!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    561
    172
    27
    12
See reviews for
138
493
60
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

the location is fantastic-right across the street from the coastal walk, and two blocks from the main gallery, shopping, and food district. The desk staff was helpful and nice, but apparently there is an issue with management. Not that I watch a lot of tv, but after a long day of enjoying everything Iceland has to offer, I like to watch a little news before bed. There was one English channel, from UK, which was fine. I am from the US but they covered all the major world news so it was good enough. The sound kept cutting in and out. I asked about that at the front desk and they said people had been complaining for weeks but the manager was ignoring the complaints. The rooms weren't very nice. The bathrooms really needed a good scrub down, and the carpets were disgusting. There was also peeling paint. The curtains could have been heavier given the summer midnight sun. The restaurant offers a buffet breakfast but it's pretty gross and you are told to bus your own table. I feel the rooms are overpriced too. So, I wouldn't stay there again. There were nicer places in the same location that were less expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Good value for Iceland. A comfortable, if not very big room. A wardrobe with 8 hangers and no drawers, so we had to live out of our suitcase. Television had very few channels, and the quality of the sound made it very difficult to make out. Bathroom small but adequate, although the shower curtain did smell of damp. If staying here you should ask for a room high up, facing the front, for the view across the water.
Excellent breakfast buffet, Scandinavian style, with a waffle maker.
There is soup available to buy whenever you come in. There is a happy hour in the bar from 5 to 7.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Good location near the main street and with free parking.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Baron. The front desk staff were all very helpful. The hotel location was great, near enough to the old city to make it convenient, but not noisy. We'd highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My then fiancé and I stayed here for a 3 night trip to Iceland. Reykjavik is not a cheap place to visit, so we arranged to stay here, a mid-range hotel, to save some cash in order to splash out on some serious dinners and excursions instead.

We had a thoroughly pleasant stay here. The hotel met our expectations without exceeding them, was very reasonably priced compared to other hotels and was very conveniently located in central Reykjavik.

The, generally fairly young, staff were fabulous - helpful, friendly and a lot of fun.

In summary: a very honest mid-range hotel that does what it says on the tin. We would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was here last week from DC meeting friends from UK; Reykjavik is an oft-overseen pearl of nordic culture and nature (not to mention totally wild but safe Friday and Saturday night partying); my Hotel comments -

> Great location - smack downtown but off the main strip and close to the Ocean-front
> Friendly and helpful Staff
> Sumptuous Breakfast buffet
> Late check-in (4pm) but rooms seem to be generally ready by noon
> WiFi availability only in lobby
> Fair Rates - clean and comfortable rooms with basic amenities
> Will return

Room Tip: Definitely go with the "Ocean view" rooms; the higher the floor the better; Cheers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was me and my two sons (16 years) that stayed here. We were only looking for a place to sleep so our expectations weren't high. It started with a room that did not have the promised bed sofa (but the personnel was nice and fixed an extra bed). The room didn't look very nice (and cleaning was not 100%). The room next door had a group of americans that partied all night loudly. The shower was very basic...The location is very good - but there are plenty of hotels here in the center. The price was not on par with the room quality.
Anyway, I might stay here again if I'm only looking for a place to sleep and if I can't find anything cheaper. Wouldn't recommend it, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fosshotel Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.