We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wholesome breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Save Saved
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“wholesome breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at the Baron and can recommend it as a good place to stay for a party. There were 22 of us on our annual 'football' tour and I did not hear any complaints. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was adequate albeit with a sulphury smell from the hot water, and the breakfasts were very good. The staff were helpful and friendly and there was free wi-fi in the reception. The location was fine, being about 10 minutes from the main bars & restaurants, and the rooms at the front had a nice view of the bay & mountains beyond.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms eg Level 4 and above, had a better view than the standard rooms which overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    437
    141
    23
    10
See reviews for
101
379
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights on our way back to the USA. Nice walking distance into harbor and city highlights. Easy 3 minute walk to water's edge. Rooms victorian design-very clean & pretty. Breakfast delicious & varied items. Bar open for drinks but not snacks. Staff very helpful for arranging tour pickups. Highly recommend getting the fly bus tickets when you arrive at the airport for hotel drop offs, Blue Lagoon visit hotel pick up & drop back off at airport. That price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 nights at the Fosshotel Baron. It's in a great location, easy walking distance to the city center. The room decor was simple, but very clean and we had a lovely view of the harbour (we were on level 5). Based on other hotels that I had researched in Reykjavic, this one offered good value for money. Breakfast was included and offered a view range of items, hot and cold along with traditional pickled fish. The staff were most helpful and pleasure to deal with. I hope to go back to Iceland in the future, and if I do will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Level 5 and above offers a good view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've stayed at Fosshotel Baron 3 times now in October 2009, 2010 and 2012.

The room we stayed in in October 2012 was a loft room which had lovely furnishings but was incredibly small, barely enough room to fit our suitcases and ourselves in the room at the same time. The double bed was very comfortable and the room was warm.

The room was very quiet and had a great location, plenty of parking.

The breakfast was lovey with a great range, especially the waffles and the bar was extremely well priced, especially during happy hour. I would stay here again despite the very small room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group of 16 and it was spot on for our needs, 5 mins walk from the centre of town, comfortable enough rooms, breakfast til 10am, a great base for a great city. The hot water does smell of sulphur but I'm guessing that's normal for an island where the heated water all comes from the hot springs. Decent price and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

the location is a good one,, rooms bright and clean, the staff is excellent,, our only problem with the whole thing were the beds,, which probably is a very personal opinion :) they were too hard for our liking. apart from that,, B+ :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Fosshotel Baron is a very busy hotel sitting at the edge of the city centre.
Given the prices in Reykyavik we were looking for a reasonably priced base and we found it here. We were a party of 3 x 50 year old men and a single room and a 2 bedroom apartment worked just fine. The hotel was a little worn around the edges but the staff were good, rooms clean and the self-service breakfasts were excellent.
There is a bit of a walk to the harbour area where most of the action is but not too far - providing it isn't raining.
I'd be happy to come back here in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look towards the bay and there wasn't too much noise from outside when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.