We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fosshotel Baron to your Saves list
Fosshotel Baron
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value and warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service was very welcoming and the reception team were willing to do anything and everything to help us make the most of our time in the city.
Well located, short walks to lots of great places and short taxi rides to places like The Pearl (worth a visit).
Good breakfast too, included. Suite was ok, had kitchenette. Modestly sized.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    556
    168
    27
    11
See reviews for
136
484
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at FossHotel Baron in January. Reception (24 hours) staff friendly and helpful throughout stay. Room was clean and spacious, with view across car park to fantastic church (great views of Reykjavic from the top of the tower). Sulphur smell of hot water took a little time to get used to. Excellent buffet breakfast with lots of choice, although hot options limited. Easy stroll to restaurants in centre, with choice of seafront or interesting shopping street. Nice bar for nightcap drink on return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Basic hotel but perfect location for walking to any sights. buffet breakfast excellent to set you up for the day would recommend but book ocean front room rather than side view. shame no northern lights but you have to take pot luck. argentinian steak house round corner recommended & supermarket also round corner. Tip - buy beer/duty free at airport for room

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are functional and clean. We found the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good, but would have preferred more than 2 hot food options. Also the rooms were a little basic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

my husband and i honeymooned in iceland. we arrived at the Fosshotel Baron around 0900 on new year's eve. Sturla was amazing. we asked about an early check in, and he made it happen. we were in our room by 1000, at no extra charge! the room was clean and cozy with ample hot water. the spread for breakfast was outstanding; i miss the chocolate croissants. after 1700, the lounge was relaxing. Hofi was a great bartender; she had some great suggestions for restaurants. the location was great for walking all over the city; convenient to the main shopping district.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights from 11th January. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but everything was fine. We booked an ocean view room on the 5th floor. It was slightly smaller than I would have liked but had everything we needed. The bathroom had a shower , I prefer a bath. It was clean and had everything we needed. They gave us paper cups which was a bit odd. I found all the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good , fresh and plentiful. They put on a basic early breakfast as we had to leave at 5 am, which was appreciated.
It is situated right behind the main shopping street and about 5 -7 mins walk from downtown Reykavik. Overall I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's a bit depressing, but all of Reykjavik might be in January. It was very clean, and only a couple of blocks from one of the city's most interesting streets. I do wish Frans at the front desk had been a bit more attentive when I asked how much it cost to get into the Blue Lagoon. He told me 500 (kroner) — one-tenth of what it actually costs. The breakfast is indeed pretty nice, albeit sorely lacking in gravlax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to to thank for providing us with your positive feedback. Reykjavik is indeed very dark in January, depressing to some but nice and cozy to others. I am glad our location was to your liking and always good to know our guests enjoy our breakfast, even though we did not offer gravlax. I am sorry to say that gravlax is not something we have plans offer in our breakfast buffet, at least not in the near future.

I am however sorry for this unfortunate misunderstanding between you and Frans regarding the price to the Blue Lagoon. Our front desk is well aware what the the entrance fee to the Blue Lagoon is as they sell many of those trips each and every day. It is most likely that the source of this misunderstanding or miscommunication was that Frans did also tell your partner the price to the local swimming pools which is 500 ISK per person.

I hope this did not have a negative effect on your stay in Iceland and at our Hotel and hope you did enjoy your stay in Reykjavik in dark month on January.

Best Regards From Reykjavik
Kristbjorn Gudmunsson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#15 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fosshotel Baron 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosshotel Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.