We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great place for a family to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rey Apartments Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rey Apartments Hotel to your Saves list
Rey Apartments Hotel
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A really great place for a family to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were looking for somewhere central for us all to stay (2 adults + 1 teen + 1 child) and this was the first thing suggested by booking.com. Couldn't believe how nice it looked, but the reviews were great so we booked. Good decision! The apartments are in the middle of the city, a fantastic location, they are really clean, comfortable and simply nice. We had the larger one-bedroom apartment, and it fit the four of us plus my grown-up daughter who we were visiting and decided to sleep with us - they put an extra bed in for us and it was fine. So - it comes highly recommended if you are a family who want a break in the city center!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    43
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
64
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We are at the end of a five day stay here. We arrived at 1am and were promptly met and shown to our room. We were lucky enough to use one of the apartment's parking spaces during our stay. The apartment is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. We are very impressed. The location is brilliant, just off the main shopping street and within walking distance to many local attractions. We thoroughly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The appartment we had was nice and clean. It's very well located, in the center of the city, near the bars, restaurants... However, it's a bit noisy ( neighbours upstairs and people in the street during the week-end). The bed was very confortable!

Room Tip: You should choose a room not on the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We booked the 3 bedroom apartment which had three rooms. 1 x double bed, 1 x 2 single beds, 1 x 4 single beds. The apartment is on the top floor with no lift, so you need to be able to carry your own luggage up a short flight of steep stairs up the top. The apartment is very clean, the beds excellent, the linen and sheets of good quality and having a lounge and kitchen area means you can save a little on breakfasts and dinner if you wish to cook. We cooked every day, but went out for dinner every night. Overall this is an excellent apartment in the centre of the town. I would recommend hiring a car as airport is 4-50 mins away and transfers cost a lot if the bus times don't work for you. Other tip of course is to do the Blue Lagoon on the way back to the airport as it is only about 15 mins away from the airport ie. 40 minutes away from Reykjavik. We very much enjoyed ourselves in Rekyjavick and at this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Due to travelling with wife and 3 kids, it was decided to try out an apartment in Reykjavik.
Arrived very early in the morning, an called a given phone number to ask if we could store some luggage there until check-in time @ 14:00.
The man who met us was very helpful, and even swapped around on his rentals, so we where given access to a vacant apartment at 08:00 in the morning.

This proved to be a quite nice apartment on the 1. floor with 2 bedrooms, 1 bath with shower, a kitchen and a living room. in total it could sleep 6 adults.

Location was just one block from the main street in Reykjavik, and it was a grocery store just two blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed one Saturday night in early October. Rey fit the bill for location, price, free wi-fi and cleanliness. Communication by email prior to arrival was excellent and Peter, who checked me in was very pleasant (and cute!). I arrived just after 6 p.m. and had to ring the door bell to be let in and checked in. The apartment was quite large with a well-equipped kitchen for longer staying patrons who wish to eat in or prep some of their meals. The location is great, with several restaurants and shopping located off Laugavegur and within walking distance to the Cathedral and the Tjörnin pond. Being in a central location also meant the passing cars on Klapparstigur is noticeable (I was on the ground floor), however, I did not mind much as after a full day of touring and hunting for the Northern Lights I soon fell asleep. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wanting privacy and access to the city and knowing the hotels were outrageously priced, we found this place and reserved it online. Our checkin was a little baffling, as the entrance was not very obvious and check in time was not well observed. We showed up 20 minutes after checkin time and had to sit in the lobby for half an hour waiting for the young man who worked there to prepare our room. But once inside,this was an ideal place for us. We had a studio with a little kitchen, view over a really nice neighborhood in downtown Reykjavik, free wifi and the perfect feel of living right in the middle of everything. The apartment was furnished very cute in a modern Ikea style, they had soaps for us to use in the bathroom, and everything was very clean. Someone even came and made our bed every day. Pots and pans and a hot plate in the kitchen. We were only lacking for coffee beans to use in the coffee machine.

From here we had access to everything and it made our jetlagged schedule much more fun and easy. We got to do a lot of walking around the city and learned how easy everything is to find there. Got to feed ourselves, stopping by the shopping marts and bakeries, which are a must. The apartment was warm and cozy, and we had a private entrance from the lobby and good privacy in our wing of the building from other apartments. There was a large map of Iceland off the private entrance and the whole building was well managed. I loved it.

Room Tip: Chose a 1 bdr minimum if sharing with friends. The studio would have been too cramped. The click-c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rey Apartments Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.