We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top ratings for food and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkinn Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Falkinn Bistro
Laugavegur 24, Reykjavik, Iceland
354 +3455714343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://g.co/maps/q7f5vThis is a fabulous new bistro, just opened in Reykjavik, the owner is a master chef : Nordic is the main stay of the menu : open top sandwiches, meat balls, Lamb steak.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top ratings for food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Falkinn Bistro was recommended to us by a complete stranger on our recent trip to Iceland. He told us that the food was amazing and he was right!!. My husband and I were interested in trying whale steak so when we saw that it was a menu special were knew we were in the right place. But the story gets better. We stopped in briefly on our way past early in the evening and spoke to Richard about our interest in the whale. It was a little early for dinner so we said that we'd stop back well before they closed at 10:00 p.m. Unfortunately a big storm was headed into Reykjavik so that when we stopped back at 8:30 p.m. the Falkinn was empty and Richard said that the kitchen was closed early for the night. We expressed our disappointment, Richard checked with the chef, and we were told that they would go ahead and cook us up a few whale steak dinners! Wow, now if that isn't hospitality I don't know what is. To top it off Richard spent some quality time chatting with us about life in Iceland and then Steven the chef came up and had a beer with us. If you're in Iceland go to Falkinn Bistro-terrific food and wonderful staff!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I spent a few days in Reykjavik in June. We ate at the Falkinn Bistro when we found it near our hotel. What a wonderful find! The servings were generous and very reasonably priced, especially for Iceland. The atmosphere was low-key with American jazz music playing in the background at a level where conversations were still possible. The hostess/waitress spoke English quite well and our dinner here (our first in Reykjavik) got our vacation off to a great start.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First rate food reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The two don't often go together in Reykjavik. I had walked past Falkinn numerous times but couldn't figure it out and it's kind of dark inside anyway. But I took the plunge and was I glad. Absolutely delicious food and as I said the price is right. I had a traditional Icelandic dish of fish made into balls served with fried onions and oven roasted potatoes and some salad. Nice change from the now ubiquitous Viking Fusion food you get all over Iceland. Give this place a try. It's great!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
“Falcon Bistro is the best restaurant in Rvk. City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I want to recommend this small and wonderful restaurant in the heart of Reykjavík City, Iceland, called Falcon Bisto or Fálkinn Bistro in Icelandic. The food was excellent and the environment as well. When we went there it was “Happy hour” and you could also order a meal with a free glass of wine!

While you are there you can enjoyed life, watch people outside waking up and down the main shopping street in Reykjavík called Laugarvegur, while drinking excellent wine, listen to a wonderful (40´s) music and have a wonderful meal !!

You should definitely try it!! I am for sure going there again... and again!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Meatball heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had an assortment of things to share. Everything was great. But the fishballs and meatballs (what we would call Swedish in Colorado) were truly outstanding. About as pricey as the rest in Reyjavik, but very good and right in the middle of everything. Great place to sit and watch the city go by in the window.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falkinn Bistro also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Falkinn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkinn Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.