We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab little bistro, good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snaps Bistro Bar

Snaps Bistro Bar
Thorsgata 1 | Odinstorg, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
354 511 6677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fab little bistro, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a couple of nights, boullabaise was lovely, catch of the day, great French onion soup and huuuge club sandwich, we loved their fries too. Walking distance from main street and our hotel (holt) thoroughly recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    81
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Where all the locals go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is where all the locals go, so it gets pretty busy, but I've eaten here three times and the food was wonderful and the atmosphere relaxed and inviting. It's only a couple of streets away from the main High Street, but just being a few streets away means the prices are more reasonable. I'd thoroughly recommend the Cesar Salad, it's one of the best I've ever had and HUGE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, great service and lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Definitely try this restaurant, it is also right next door to a great hotel that we stayed in, give it a go!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Calder, Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very popular - and for good reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The very helpful staff squeezed us in without having made a reservation. The place was extremely busy, both in the bar area and the eating area. We all agreed he food was the best we had in Iceland - both the fish dishes and the calf liver were superb. Situated in a side street, it is part of the Hotel Odinsve and not too easy to find - though lots of people have!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food, perfect ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

tucked in a quiet neighborhood in central Reykjavik. food was superb, service not bad and the ambience was perfect - cozy yet sophisticated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snaps Bistro Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Snaps Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snaps Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.