We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Snaps Bistro Bar

Snaps Bistro Bar
Thorsgata 1 | Odinstorg, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
354 511 6677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My second visit this year. I live in NYC and know and appreciate good food (and service). I love loved this place last time (feb) so that is why I returned even though there are plenty of other options. Well my steak was fatty and cold and my waitress didn't come by once to ask how things were unlike the amazing service I had at fish market last night. Ridiculous...don't go! Not worth the money!! Also saw other tables given s free after dinner drink but not me...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    108
    32
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“All Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent restaurant, great service and good food. I ate twice here on a short trip. I first sampled the excellent seafood on my first evening, then had the famous Icelandic lamb for lunch before my flight home.
Great atmosphere, great service, excellent food, reasonable prices( for Reykjavik).

For those on a budget there is a daily lunch deal, and set evening deal both at good prices for the standard of food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ranked best value restaurant for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The best meal I've had so far in Reykjavik. We had to wait for an hour to get a table, but it was worth the wait. The food was good, but the mussels were a bit over done, and the chocolate cake should have been warm. But the fries were the best i've ever tasted (and I've tasted some...). Normally I wouldn't rank a restaurant as excellent if I wasn't 100 % satisfied with the food. But the fact that we got out of there for under 100 $ for dinner, dessert and wine for two, makes it worthy of the excellent ranking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had a disappointing dinner experience at Snaps a few months ago and have since been there for lunch which was a really wonderful experience; so, in the spirit of fairness thought it only right that I share this, as I have been won over!

A friend and I had a very leisurely week day lunch, with attentive staff on hand. I had the goats cheese salad (enormous!) which was very tasty and tangy with grilled pears and a lot of varied salad leaves. As they didn't have our first choice on the dessert menu we were given coffee on the house - a nice little touch! So successful was this experience that I returned for lunch another time, for an even longer lunch as it turned out and again the staff were attentive and yet knew when to leave you to enjoy your meal. Would recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest US
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“best restaurant find in reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wish we would have returned for another meal, as it proved to be the best value for mid-priced meals, GREAT inexpensive house wine, and wonderful food. We never ate at the same place twice during our stay, Snaps was the only place we regret not returning to. Next time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snaps Bistro Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Snaps Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snaps Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.