We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For arty types” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur)

Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur)
Tryggvagata 17, Reykjavik, Iceland
354-590 1200
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$46*
and up
Reykjavik Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #34 of 68 Attractions in Reykjavik
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the former warehouses of the Port of Reykjavik, this museum features exhibitions from the Erró Collection, as well as from general collections.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“For arty types”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I really enjoyed this museum. They had a stunning installation in one room. They also had a rather amusing retrospective of 1980s video art which was a bit of a trip down memory lane (more for style than anything as I didn't know the local artists). They rotate exhibitions, so it would be a different experience every time. I believe there is supposed to be a fee but no one wanted to take my money, which to be honest is a good thing as prices are high in Iceland and the visit to this museum is fairly short.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    53
    22
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strange but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The installations were great (ground floor). The building itself is nice on the inside. Has about 3 or 4 different kinds of exhibitions, some installations, some drawings/paintings. Completely different styles and very modern

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bizarre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Large white building next to the Harbour. The main exhibition (that is visible from the street) was a large room filled with fans laid on the floor blowing black tape around. If that's not bizarre & fairly pointless I don't know what is. Otherwise the rooms were pretty empty (a video thing playing in another room) - we left within minutes. Thankfully entry was free with the Welcome Card.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small and Quirky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We walked past this museum and were caught by the first floor exhibit that you can see from the street. Unfortunately, that was the best exhibit and we were disappointed to pay to see the rest of the museum. A lot of quirky exhibits that were probably avant gard 20 years ago. I should also note that the second big exhibition hall was prepping for Iceland Airwaves, so that might have impacted the amount on exhibit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We visited this gallery and what a complete waste of time it all was. There was one huge room with loads of black tape on the floor and several fans on their sides, continually blowing the tapes in swirls....I think a kindergarten could have planned this. We glanced into the other rooms and they were all terribly boring, so we made a quick exit.

Even the gallery staff seemed bemused and slightly embarassed by the exhibits and we were so pleased that we hadn't wasted any money there, having purchased Welcome Cards which gave free admission. I really couldn't recommend a visit to this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Art Museum (Listasafn Reykjavikur), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.