We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fashion and Unusual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Salvaterra de Magos, Santarem, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fashion and Unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is quite unsual...it is not a marina but actually a dock, the old port of the city. The rooms are confortable with a modern decor. In every detail we can find the nordic design and peculiar sense of humour. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    262
    56
    15
    10
See reviews for
93
337
36
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The reason to book this hotel while visiting Reykjavik is for its location in the Old Harbor area. It is very close to many restaurants and a short distance to City Center. It is just an interesting and quirky spot, and a starting point for many good walks.
We ate at the breakfast buffet each morning-an additional charge. Although the self-serve buffet was essentially the same spread each day, we enjoyed it-fruits, breads, cheeses, skyr, cold cuts,porridge, coffee ,juices, salad, potatoes, omelet and breakfast dessert bars!
Now up to our single rooms on 2. Picture a very, very small, and very clean, dorm room with a window, no closet, and a one room bath behind a slider. The bed was covered with a duvet, which did not stay put on me! There were hooks and hangers and cubbies (cubicles). There was a stool next to a very small desk. and a tray table that slid over the bed. The big Phillips TV was a treat,providing an amazing variety of UK, Iceland, German, Russian, French, Japanese programming.. I quite enjoyed the tv since night never fell! Now into the Bath, which flooded daily because the shower was just the other end of the bath room! The overhead shower and the hand held were quite deluxe, but, alas, there was no soap dish! I had to do a balancing act each morning, reaching and replacing the soap and facewash and washcloth on the sink ledge, while standing under the shower! A very nice liquid hand soap, a shampoo dispenser, kleenex and a hair dryer were provided.I brought my own bar soap. Room was quiet some nights, and noisy with thumps on others. Large suitcase had to balance on narrow shelf-problematic when packing! Despite all the water in the bathroom and the constant rain, the rooms smelled fresh and wet clothes dried overnight.

Room Tip: Single rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Icelandair Reykjavik Marina Hotel was, for us, a fittingly upmarket place to end an energetic holiday of Icelandic hiking. Its arty retro-modern industrial look in the reception and bar areas provide a warm contrast to the clean, crisp white of the rooms which overlook the working harbour and the hills beyond Reykjavik.

The hotel is extremely well situated in relation to the main shopping and eating streets of Reykjavik, while its location beside the harbor allows it a less claustrophobic city air. The Volcano House, Saga Museum and Viking Museum are only a block or two away. The hotel bar and restaurant is popular with trendy locals and tourists alike, but the music carries upstairs, so better to join them than to try to avoid the noise if your visit coincides with a weekend night. The menu is brief but excellent and the gourmet flatbreads highly recommended.

Our room was sufficiently spacious to accommodate two very large duffels and peripheral bags and backpacks without blocking all the floor space and the abundant plug points meant that almost every electronic gadget could be charged simultaneously. Our attic room did have one major design flaw though: the en suite bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a piece of semi-opaque frosted glass, and the toilet is less than a metre from the bed, making ablutions a rather exposed affair. While this may be acceptable in some cultures, it presents a distasteful situation in ours, and on several occasions I opted to use the facilities in the restaurant downstairs.

Breakfast was sumptuous, particularly after the meagre morning offerings of some of the country hotels we stayed at. Sadly though, and it seems to be a country-wide problem, the small coffee cups meant continual trips to the counter for refills.

Those travelling in hired cars should be aware that the hotel has no parking and that cars must be parked a short distance away adjacent to a construction site (for no charge). Bags can be dropped off in reception first though.

All in all, a very good experience. I would defnitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have balconies and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is funky and nice and conveniently located. Ask for a room on the fourth floor to get a balcony.

For $400 a night, you think you would get a bathroom with a real door. This had a sliding glass door that doesn't provide much privacy. Also, the only toiletries in the bathroom are a bottle of soap for washing hands and a bottle of shampoo in the shower. No soap or even shower gel for washing up.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Rooms were small, but comfortable and clean. We stayed on the second floor and surprisingly did not hear any noise from the bar and restaurant at night. Our room faced the water, but the noise from cleaning the boats was quite loud in the morning.
Breakfast was not included in our rate, but we happily paid the cost twice since they have the best breakfast buffet we had in all of Iceland.
Lots of lounge space, helpful staff, and a theater where they played World Cup games.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Marina is a great hotel. Clean, modern, unique spaces with unapologetic views of the gritty marina next door. I found the room's proximity to such huge, daunting ships to be something special. Our room was a second floor room with a balcony.
The bathroom was absolutely fine; in fact I expected something much smaller. Size-wise it worked well. The bathroom is not soundproof but the frosted glass does add the necessary privacy. If you have trouble getting to the bottom of how the heck to turn on the shower, the on/off knob is the one opposite the knob with the temperature numbers printed on it. It's the knob on the left. I only mention this because ours was stuck so tight we thought for sure we were pulling at the wrong knob and I was searching online for the answer to the weird shower fixture riddle at the time. This info would have helped.
The bed was very comfortable, the TV had some interesting channels (including several British stations) and there is a snack fridge in the lobby where you can score the best yogurt on the planet - Skyr - as well as beer, wine and other treats. My husband and I were happy about that! It's especially nice when coming in on a late flight and worrying about finding something to nosh on in the early AM hours. The Slippbarinn, located on the first floor, has some indulgent food offerings as well as fantastic and truly unique cocktails. Best of all the hotel is close enough to the main shopping street and so many of the sights in Reykjavik that we easily walked to these things.
Overall it was a great experience and we certainly will return!

Room Tip: Our room had a "balcony", and that room was a good size. Not a small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights before a round Iceland sea trip ; we did not choose the hotel and cannot comment on the cost because our visit was part of a package. However we found our room on the first floor comfortable and perfectly adequate for a short stay. There was little space to store clothes but we did not bother to unpack completely for a 2 night stay. The décor was unusual - we had maps on the wall and part of the ceiling. There was a good choice for breakfast but the food was ranged on a counter next to tables where people were sitting so it made it quite congested. We had a set meal for our party which was very good. We did find the bar area busy, it being a Friday night and very popular with locals but overall the impression was good. It was an excellent location for us because we were boarding our ship a short walk away but it was also easily walkable to the city centre for sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.