We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icelandair Hotel-Marina Great new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
York, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Icelandair Hotel-Marina Great new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice and very new hotel. The room had a good view on the harbor and neighboring shipyard. It was clean and had all the necessities. One problem was that the room was very small even for European standards. Just enough room for a bed and still be able to walk around it. Our room had a balcony but wasn't able to use it much due to the weather. WIFI is only free in the lobby which was OK for us. The hotel restaurant/bar was very nice with good food and drink selections however it was expensive as is most everything in Iceland. I would recommend this hotel if you are going to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: If you need a bigger room than definitely upgrade because a basic room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    333
    75
    19
    17
See reviews for
117
413
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was my first trip to Iceland with my son, we were looking for a hotel which was reasonable cost, close to centre and provided good facilities and food, we booked the islander online and when we arrived it expected our expectation. staff at arrival were great, the restaurant staff fantastic, great cocktails.
Left the hotel at 6am on 12th Sept, the receptionist could be a bit cheerful and would have asked if we enjoyed our stay, have a safe journey good bye etc... It was take the money and that was it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Marina which is a ship refurbishing yard too, good view something different than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a studio with room for 4. Room was highly functional. Overall the hotel had a kind of cool atmosphere. The bar and restaurant were very popular. Small gym. Ok free wifi. Very helpful mad friendly staff.

Good drinks in the bar and good food in the restaurant.

Breakfast buffet with a nice variety of dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Cool hotel with a twist in decorations and style. Friendly and prof. Service. Excellent breakfest
And hotel bar with Lots of People ready for networking and a cocktail after work. I miss a sauna but all in a hotel you have to consider. Go go go

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We where 5 boys staying in the hotel for three days. The service in the hotel was absolutely in top, the bartender in the crowded bar where very professional and served really nice cocktails. The Breakfast is one of the best i ever tried, it was a very delicate one with something i never seen in a hotel before. I noticed the Chef where french and he knew what he was doing. The hotel is near the Centre and near to all the good restaurants reykjavik can offer. Its properly not the last time I go to Island and of course I will stay at Hotel Marina again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Where many Icelandic hotels are decorated in somber tones of black, gray and white, Marina's decor is warm, nautical and unexpected. (A coffee table made of two painted radiators?) Breakfast (not included and expensive) is worth every cent. Other meals were excellent. It's a converted paint factory on the edge of downtown. Marina views are not romantic but industrial. Caveat: many double rooms have one box spring and two mattresses, so if you aren't traveling with someone you know well, it's very cozy. Also, the bathrooms are miniscule.

With the exception of one young man, staff was uniformly courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February 2013. I'm pretty big on reading up on reviews for wherever I travel, and so I knew exactly what to expect when booking here. Yes the rooms are small but I think that's how it is for all European travel for the most part. The breakfast was AMAZING! Having it just downstairs every morning, albeit not included in the price, was key! The location was good but if I had to do it again we would probably stay somewere moreso in the middle of Reykjavik nightlife/ shopping, especially if we go again in the winter. The rooms were quirky, decor was quirky, and yes, the bathrooms didn't leave much room for privacy but again we were traveling husband and wife and thus didn't mind.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.