We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience in front of shipyard.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting experience in front of shipyard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ask for Mr. Hrvoje at the front desk. Very pleasant and helpful person who put us in the right track! Kudos for his excellent attitude and professionalism.
Definitively ask for the rooms facing the sea. Very nice view and much quieter then the back rooms facing a busy road.
Restaurant is good but limited selection in the menu. Breakfast is excellent! At night is one of the lively spots in Reykjavik as a trendy bar.
Rooms are small (like in most of Europe) but functional. Very surreal to see a huge boat in front of your window since it is facing the shipyard.
Many excellent restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    248
    55
    14
    10
See reviews for
91
325
34
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Marina takes pride in being off-beat. This shows nowhere more than in the service which is not only friendly but almost neighborly. The staff was sympathetic and genuine in its dealings with me. There was none of the slick, professional attitude found in chain hotels and the graduates of hotel schools. When the bus to the airport was late, hotel employees were concerned and helpful in getting answers to my questions. (The bus showed up when the staff said it would.) The hotel is simply furnished, bright, and clean. The decorations are unusual (e.g., an exhibition of knots) as befits a one-of-a-kind. The bathrooms are minimalist and functional, but there is no marble or granite or any frills in mirrors or cabinetry. The door to our bathroom did not close fully but enough for visual privacy. The restaurant has mostly Icelandic dishes that vary as much as any cuisine does, although if you do not like fish or seafood your choices become more limited. As you might expect, the wine list is adequate but not impressive. The local beer is well worth trying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay; service from the front desk was top notch. We had a glitch with the plugs and they came through with a solution. Crisp. Lots of night action on the first floor. Interesting boat repair projects right outside the front door. All tour drivers know to come in to ask for patrons. Good coordination with all local travel services.

Room Tip: Look out over the marina; not the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you are coming to Reykjavik then you should definetely consider staying in this hotel. Situated by the docks right next to the city centre it has the best atmosphere and gives you the vibe of what Iceland is really like. Lobby, rooms, restaurant and bars has cool design. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is amazing! Oh, and the views... Definetely recommending this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel has wooden floors and sparse built-in furnishings which work to maximize space. In June, the room was very bright - a little too bright at 2am as the curtains did not close tightly. The common areas are funky and uncluttered - a small library, free computers, small store with snacks, bar, restaurant, several sitting areas, and a small gym. The morning breakfast was very good.
The location was perfect for us - right at the marina so there were lots of interesting things to see. We walked everywhere we wished to go. The front desk personnel were very helpful, even telling us they could exchange currency for us but that the banks have better rates. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: some rooms look out on the harbor - you need to be on a high floor to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited a dear friend who resides in Reykjavik and stayed in the hotel. It is a recently converted paint factory right alongside the harbor in downtown area. While a bit apprehensive about the language differential, we were relieved to find most people there spoke fluent English and were very accommodating in every respect. The rooms were a bit on the small side, and furnished a bit sparsly in " early Ikea" design..... but quite clean with very comfortable beds and flat screen TV. The programs were multi-national with few in English. The baths were a bit different with a shower area enclosed with a curtain over a drain, but plenty of hot water. The restaurant on the first floor is a bar/pub style with good service and a small but tasty set of offerings. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning with a surprisingly wide selection of local and friendly alternatives. It was here I was introduced to SKYR, a yogurt style dish that I am still searching for in Florida! Loved the salmon, breads, salads, and a few items that while very tasty, were not identified. The location is right in the heart of the downtown area and convenient to most attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful in every respect, possibly because our host friend was a retired Government Minister there. . Remember, your Euros and Stirling are not good here.... you must convert to the local currency or use your credit cards.... accepted everywhere we went.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the harbor side for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is very nice and clean, with a fun design. Great location which is close to everything a tourist would want to be near. I actually liked that it wasn't right in the heart of the shopping area. The staff is EXTREMELY friendly and welcoming, particularly the kitchen and bar folks...I cant stress enough how kind they were. Food is very good, some of the better meals we ate while in Reykjavik (which unfortunately has some very, very bad food all over). I was surprised how popular the bar is with locals...I think we were the only hotel guests there around 9pm on a Friday. Get an Old Cuban cocktail, by the way.

Be warned about the following: the bathrooms are hysterically small, and I think there are nicer showers in most prisons. There is very little storage space for clothes. Finally, and this is the one I dont get, the blinds do a poor job of covering the windows...not fun in the middle of the summer with clear skies. I wish they would invest a little more in total blackout shades, it would be worth the money.

Still, I would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.