We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for a one night layover on our way to Norway. We got in early in the morning and took a shuttle to the hotel. We were able to stash our bags in the bell closet and go explore town until a room was available. When we got back from breakfast, the room was ready. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful. They made a call for us to confirm our afternoon tour. The lobby is an interesting industrial looking place with exposed ducts and wires in the ceiling. Our room was on the first floor, marina side, so we had a view of a building. The room itself was very modern with a queen-sized bunk bed. We couldn't believe it when we saw it at first, but the second bed was up a ladder about 6-7 feet above the other. The bathroom had a frosted glass wall and door, so not terribly private. The bed was comfortable, there was a large flat-screen TV, and there was free Wi-Fi in the room. It is located a short walk from many restaurants and shops in one direction, and the Maritime Museum in the other. Funky place to stay the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip. Location is good rooms are average size probably about 3 star level but it all hangs together to create a really good package. Would stay here again, but it is not really much more than a good quality travel lodge. But then who comes to Iceland and stays in

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJRHolbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Shoot we are kind of dissapointed with our choice to stay here but the staff is so kind that I feel like I would still recommended for a certain clientelle. If you're young you will love this hotel bc it's happening and with its trendiness come noise. I didnt love it here bc everytime I walked through the lobby (which is a bar) I got hooted and hollered at by gross Icelandic men and the noise didnt die down till about 1am at nights. Not the classiest establishment, but definitely the place to stay if you plan to be out and about with the locals. Our Marina view is the back of a building with a huge rusty cruise ship sized boat that is completely out of the water so we see the propellers out our window. (the boat is taller than the building.) Not sure if we paid extra to face the marina but if we did this was a mistake. We peeked into a few other hotels in Reykjavik (Hilton and Radisson) if you're older and want something a bit more sophisticated, those hotels may be better options. If you want to be where the fun, trendy crowd is than Marina is your hotel. I hope this review helps some people! Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Loved this hotel -- great view of the water and central to so many things in Reykjavik. The staff were extremely friendly and let us check-in early (around 7 am). The room was clean, nicely designed, and very comfortable. The hotel itself has a great layout and lots of character. It was perfect for us 20 and 30-somethings who are looking for modern and affordable hotels.

We loved the downstairs breakfast -- it had tons of options (my significant other is vegan) and was absolutely worth the cost. The bar was great, too -- sometimes we go to hotel bars just because they are downstairs and convenient, but this was a place we would go to even if we weren't staying at the hotel.

My only advice is to bring a sleep mask and ear plugs if you're a light sleeper! We felt this hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The quirkiness and cleanliness is very appealing here. You walk in and feel happy. Loved the location on the harbor. Beautiful views and filled with character. The rooms and shower are tiny, but brightness and cleanliness of the rooms made the small size much more tolerable. I really enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Icelandair Hotel Marina in Reykjavik is perfectly located on the water and just a 10 minute walk to the center of town. Our room was modern, clean, and spacious. The front desk staff was friendly and super-helpful in providing restaurant suggestions, directions, etc. Breakfast is served buffet style and was very good. We would definitely stay here if ever in Iceland again. One tip: try to attend a music program at the stunningly beautiful new concert center on the water called Harpa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area. It gets noisy and busy in the bar on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a Northern Lights package with Icelandair for our honeymoon for 7 nights in Feb, which included a choice of several hotels. After doing some research on the internet and tripadvisor we went with Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina. It is in a great location, very modern and clean and staff are very friendly. I agree with the comments about the rooms being small however I got the jist from doing my research that most hotels are the same. But I would say that it was ample room for my husband and I and to be honest we were barely in the room as we going on daily and nightly excursions or sightseeing. The food was absolutely delightful, we had a meal there on our last night and had to book as it was so popular with guests and external visitors. I had one of the loveliest salmon dishes I have ever tasted and my husband had the steak. We had breakfast everyday which was help yourself and always nice, choice of cereals, yogurts, sweets, omelette, potatoes and bacon, salmon, ham and cheese.
We were even lucky to see the northern lights outside of the hotel and at a secluded supermarket car park nearby even though there was light pollution surrounding the hotel after 3 unsuccessful tours to Þingvallavegur National Park.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would have no doubt recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: Request a harbour view room so you can look out to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisar7238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 55 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#22 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing