We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean Hotel in a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Save Saved
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean Hotel in a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel was really simple and very nice. We had an end room facing the marina. The room was pretty big and very clean. The bed was ok, but the blankets were just two small twin blankets which I didn't love. The room also has no safe or fridge and the bathroom door is not very private. There was free WiFi though, which was a nice treat. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the city center, and two very good restaurants are just next door and then across the street.

The hotel gets really busy at night and for happy hours. I was happy we weren't right above the restaurant because I can imagine that could get loud. The prices at the restaurant were very high, so we opted not to go there. We did use the little quick shop they had to grab sandwiches and sodas for our day trip. The staff was friendly and helped us arrange our departing transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    217
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
284
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Brilliant holiday organised through Regent holidays. Everything ran smoothly from the moment we stepped off the plane. The trips were well organised and well run. The hotel was very clean and the cleaning staff do a brilliant job. The staff in reception were helpful and friendly along with the cleaners but the bar staff and restaurant staff not so. On more than one occasion we were completely ignored by the bar staff. This didn't ruin our holiday or our first trip to Iceland. We went on the Whale watching trip and unfortunately we didn't see a whale so we were all given a free voucher to go on the trip again for free. We did this the next day and were rewarded with seeing whales and dolphins. We were very impressed as the company didn't have to give us free tickets to go back again. we had a brilliant time on all the trips we did. Thanks Regent holidays for great organization.

Room Tip: If you smoke upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great location, more than comfortable room, nice artistic touches throughout. Superb service from Anna at the Reception. She knew everything! I had lots of questions and requests and Ana was patient and helpful. Thanks also to Gabriel for the chats. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Go for the attic room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For a fairly new, high end, hotel the Icelandair Marina hotel in Reykjavik has some deficiencies. The tiny rooms lack almost all typical amenities such as fridge, coffee maker, bathroom accessories, CNN, free internet etc. The shower and toilet are not at all private, there was a large gap in the glass door from the room to the bathroom. Our room had a view of a busy street with some graffiti. Further the front desk staff were distant and aloof. Admittedly it was the week of the national election and the hotel was full.

On the good side the restaurant was good, although expensive ( as is all Reykjavik), and the location excellent, very close to downtown.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a marina view room, better view and they are bigger and less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My friends and I had the most wonderful breakfast here. The buffet was amazing. We were so impressed with the choices of the breakfast and the overall design of the hotel. It's so trendy and inviting. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked a package through Icelandair and I knew from the start we would to stay here. Based on the reviews and their own website.
The Marina is very clean, I emailed ahead to upgrade to an Attic room with Marina view which I would certainly recommend.
You are really close to the ships and I found it fascinating watching them being painted etc.
The breakfast and food in the Hotel were both excellent, Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the Receptionists.
The Hotel had some lovely quirky touches, I was particularly keen on the wooden man in Reception next to the fire pit. I nearly swapped him for my husband.
We stayed from a Sunday to a Thursday so it wasn't mega crowded but there was a great vibe.
The only minor drawback is that there are no tea / coffee making facilities in the room which is fine, but I am glad we brought the travel kettle.
We love our tea.
There is a coffee machine and mini bar in Reception though.
We checked out very early and we were given a choice of sandwiches, skyr, juice etc to take away for Breakfast.
Everything was very well organised.
We love Icelandair Marina and we will be back xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is amazing. You are gonna notice it as soon as you get through the door. The decoration is incredible. There is a lot of areas to seat, very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is really good. The hotel has a totally convenient location, near the main streets and close to the sea, could not be better. Highly recommended. For families as well as for couple or friends. Great environment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.