We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some interesting pieces, but a very small museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)

National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)
Frikirkjuvegur 7 | 101 Reykjavik, Iceland, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 515 9600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$27*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #109 of 151 things to do in Reykjavik
Attraction details
Natick, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Some interesting pieces, but a very small museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Don't confuse the National Gallery with the National Museum. The latter is a small but charming museum, with many exhibits and artifacts. The National Gallery currently has two modest-sized rooms with few pieces, and a room showing a movie detailing the adventures of several artists who dragged a poorly-constructed boat through the Alps. Not very impressive.

A description of the exhibits specifically mentioned an interesting Munch piece. When we inquired about it's whereabouts, we were told that they had 20,000 pieces of art, and that they couldn't show all of them. I think they should have dragged a few more of them out of storage - it would have make the visit more interesting.

On the bright side, the pastry in the little snack bar was remarkably good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    11
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Not a National Gallery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are expecting a 'National Gallery' comparable to other large collections in other countries, you will be startled and disappointed. It is a nice space (once you find the front door) but when I was there the place had temporary exhibitions by a couple of modern artists and that was it. The shop was more interesting and varied than the exhibitions. We kept looking for the real holdings and were told that they were in the city gallery some distance away. What with the distance and the disappointment and the rain that was pelting down, we called it a day and went back to the hotel. I wouldn't bother with this gallery again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our guide book stated that this gallery contains Icelandic art and other works, including items by Picasso and Munch. However in reality it currently contains three exhibitions of modern art and no classic works. The art that was on display was reasonably interesting, but it proved a disappointing experience as it was not at all what I had been led to expect. I would have thought that a National Gallery would offer a more representative vision of the nation's artistic output.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“a modern art museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I enjoyed my visit and enjoyed the modern art, but could only give it average because there was just one room open at the time of my visit. The ladies who run the museum were extremely helpful and friendly and if there was a big exhibition with all rooms open, I may come back

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sweet little museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Small museum and easy to navigate, doesn't take more than an hour (or so) to see everything.
Great museum shop though, they sell some very interesting and lovely items.

Beautifully situated next to Tjornin (or huge duck pond) - which made the perfect spot for my husband to sit and read in the sun while I meandered through the artwork. Win - win!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands) also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Iceland (Listasafn Islands), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.