We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as we were led to believe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl (Perlan)

The Pearl (Perlan)
Oskjuhlio Hill, Reykjavik, Iceland
354 562 0200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Pearl (Perlan) like an insider
Top Rated
$42*
and up
Reykjavik Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #20 of 151 things to do in Reykjavik
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not as good as we were led to believe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Food was varied and tasty but not keen on the Christmas buffet as the only option that night. Ask to sit near the window othewise there are people walking behind you all the time to get to buffet etc. Service very good
wonderful views of Reykjavik at night but obviously would be better to see in daylight

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    527
    283
    37
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Surrounded by nice hiking/cycling trails. We hiked from our hotel to the geothermal beach, up to The Perlan. We did not have time to explore the Saga Museum or the geothermal exhibit, but we did go up in the Pearl to see the nice views of Reykjavik.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comrie, Perthshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Walk for a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I did not eat in the restaurant, I purely walked up to the Pearl for the views. It was a nice walk through the fir trees which at the time i was there, were covered in snow. The Pearl sits right at the top of the hill and over looks the city. The views were amaking and the building inside was very impressive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing views but not much fun inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were expecting something very special inside but apart from the restaurant on the top floor the building is pretty empty.The cafeteria on the 3d floor was almost empty (in the busiest period!).
The views of Reykjavik were amazing thought - I think because of that it is worth visiting hat spot,

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“The view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The old water tanks refurbished into a museum, cafe and restaurant. It opens at 11am and, at this time of year, it is still dark. A great place for a morning coffee and spectacular night time views over Reykjavic. The restaurant has a good reputation too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pearl (Perlan) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to The Pearl (Perlan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl (Perlan), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.