We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest church in the town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Domkirkjan

Domkirkjan
Austurvollur, Reykjavik, Iceland
551-2113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 68 Attractions in Reykjavik
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Kremnica, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Oldest church in the town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This oldest church in the town (1788) is standing right next to the parliament building. I had never been inside but simple and clean architecture of this wooden building is a nice proof of silent northern character. Nothing so overdecorated like churches in rest of the Europe. Simple and nice.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    36
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Cathedral”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Short stroll from the centre and we came across a delightful building, on inspection of the site we came across a lovely cathedral and fantastic grand organ. A must see building.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It Soars in Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just above the town centre so easily accessible. A really ultramodern look that is worth a dozen or so photographs. It also helps you orient yourself to the town, which is any of the two or three shopping streets across the road.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The views, the beauty, the pipe organ, magnifcent! Inside and out the is the most beautiful Luthern Church I have ever been in!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A funeral in progress so we just watched outside . I was inside seventeen years ago and remember its beauty .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domkirkjan also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Domkirkjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domkirkjan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.