We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit a sod house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open-Air Folk Museum - Arbaejarsafn

Open-Air Folk Museum - Arbaejarsafn
Arbaer, Reykjavik 110, Iceland
411 6300
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Open-Air Folk Museum - Arbaejarsafn like an insider
Top Rated
$42*
and up
Reykjavik Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 151 things to do in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Árbær was an established farm well into the 20th century, and the museum opened there in 1957. Árbærjarsafn is now an open air museum with more than 20 buildings which form a town square, a village and a farm. Most of the buildings have been relocated from central Reykjavik.Árbær Open-Air Museum tries to give a sense of the architecture and way of life and lifestyles of the past in Reykjavik and during summer visitors can see domestic animals. There are many exhibitions and events held at the Museum which highlight specific periods in Reykjavik's history. These include craft days, vintage car displays, Christmas exhibitions and much more. There is something for everyone at Árbær Open Air Museum.
Michigan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Visit a sod house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Arbaer Museum is not really a "museum" at all, but rather an open air village of old buldings, commercial, residential, etc. gathered together at this site and rehabbed. The village also includes a small farmstead complete with a sod house in its original location.

The young guides had decent English and were both friendly and knowledgable.

If you are at all interested in Icelandic history or culture, a visit to this place is a must! That said, it's a bit too far to walk from the downtown Reykjavik tourist area. Cabs are readily available, but pricey.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    49
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snoqualmie, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Of the dozen or so museums and attractions that we saw (most by using the Welcome Card) in the Reykjavik area during the recent world congress of Esperanto, this was among our favorites. We got there by Bus 19 from town, and had planned to spend an hour or a bit more. But we were there for two hours, and I wish we had had a bit more time even. Each of the many buildings was interesting in a different way. One old house had a fellow stationed there, and we spent a lot of time with him asking questions about the old farm equipment and such. It feels so "last century" that it's jarring to see the city in the distance. One reason we'd have liked to have more time there is that the reception lady told us that the café serves the best pancakes in Reykjavik -- "And I'm not just saying that because I work here," she assured us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A nice moment outside of town. Lovely turf houses. A bit difficult to get there. Not much activity. Not very inviting coffee house

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very instructive, beautiful suroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

You can take wedding pictures in this place - you need to pre-order and pay a fee. It's just such a cozy place. The houses are real. They were moved from their original location, and restored. A little drawback is that it's not near any of the other major attractions of Reykjavik, but it's worth the try. If you take the bus, it can be bus 19, or 12, among other.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Helped visualize and confirm what I learned at National Museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed exploring the traditional sod houses. Reading about them and even seeing pictures is one thing but getting to walk through and experience the real thing was cool! I also liked seeing the staff dressed traditionally. The buildings from more recent history 1600-on where less interesting because they are very similar to buildings from that time in the USA but the museum was overall worth the bus ride and cost.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open-Air Folk Museum - Arbaejarsafn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Open-Air Folk Museum - Arbaejarsafn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open-Air Folk Museum - Arbaejarsafn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.