We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in a great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market)

Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market)
Laekjargata 2A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Grill, Scandinavian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The restaurant is cool and contemporary with a chilled buzzy atmosphere. The food was amazing - we had the monkfish skewers, shellfish soup and the lamb and all were mouth watering. The potluck dessert was one of the best things I've eaten. The service is attentive but in a low key way. What a great place - probably one of the coolest restaurants I've ever been to. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,326
    382
    100
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best lamb I have ever had, hands down + service was good and my friends loved the fish - swore it was the best meal he ever had. Desserts looked amazing too! But we were too full to try.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A great dinner spot for a more upscale dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Went here with a few friends for dinner on the night of my bachelor party. Found it to be a classy place that's suitably refined and offers enough "manly" dishes (meat!) to suit the occasion. Lots of Icelandic charm here with wood, metal and glass fashioned into an incredibly trendy feeling location. It was hands down the nicest dinner we had on the island and even though it isn't cheap, it's worth a visit for anyone looking to dress up and treat themselves to a nice dinner. Could also be good for a couple seeking a little romance in Reykjavik.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere and food coupled with polite and attentive staff. The mini burgers were large enough to share and were delicious as was the beautiful steak i had for my main course. Our meal was very expensive but averagely priced by Icelandic standards. Definitely worth visiting!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Grill Market is a great restaurant, one you should not miss when you visit Reykjavik.
I went with my husband and we ordered from the A La Carte menu, sharing one starter and one dessert, while ordering one main course each. I was full to burst at the end of the dinner and the bill came to around £40 per person, which sounds very reasonable to me (I'm used to London prices).
The food was great, from the bread with whipped butter and lava salt, the deep fried corn, the peanut steak (sometimes vegetarian options win over meat ones!) and the dessert: a chocolate ball covered in caramel sauce and served with coffee ice-cream. Delicious!
Cocktails are over-priced so we avoided alcohol and I found the service to be too slow. We waited 30' for the table despite having booked a table in advance and the time between courses was too long in my opinion. Also ask for a table on the ground floor or in the main hall downstairs; we were sitting in one of the booths downstairs under the staircase, which I thought was probably the worst table in the restaurant...
Nonetheless, we were there for the food and that didn't disappoint! We enjoyed our dinner very much!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market) also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.