We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we went twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market)

Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market)
Laekjargata 2A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 571 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scandinavian, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So good, we went twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We didn't book the first time and had to sit in the area where you watch the chefs in action - I definitely recommend this. I tried the whale starter and it was absolutely delicious, everything was delicious and the wine list is fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    307
    77
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was by far the best place we ate when we visited Reykjavík. The atmosphere was good and the staff was very well-mannered.
The food was absolutely great the meat was perfect and the seasoning was well balanced.

It might be a bit pricey but it is well worth it. When in Reykjavík you should go there. ( make sure to make a reservation the day before !!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The food, the service, the interieur, the atmosphere- everything was really cool and tasty!
I loved the feeling in the restaurant and the whole experience was superb! I am so comming back here on my next visit to Iceland!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

All over very good food and service. Would go there again any day. Bit pricy but well worth it. I can recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

In my opinion, this is one of the, if not the best restaurant in Reykjavik. Great atmosphere, wonderful interior and the cusine is traditional icelandic food with a twist - sometimes a big twist and very original. A must when in Reykjavik.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grillmarkadurinn (The Grill Market), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.