We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odinsve Hotel Apartments--nice apartment, poor logistics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Odinsve to your Saves list
Hotel Odinsve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Odinsve Hotel Apartments--nice apartment, poor logistics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We rented an apartment through the Hotel Odinsve. The apartment building is located three blocks from the the hotel (200-300 meters). We checked in at the hotel and had to wait until the apartment was cleaned. Getting our bags to the apartment was a challenge--the hotel does not have a bellman nor does it have a luggage cart. You are on your own. Since we had been traveling for almost 3 weeks we had a bit of luggage. No offer of help from the hotel desk staff. When we got to the apartment we had to carry the luggage to the second floor. Once we got into the apartment we were quite pleased with the size and furnishings. The location is near the intersection of the two main shopping streets in Reykjavik. One odd feature--the only cable news station in English was CCTV. We got lots of news about China, Asia and Africa but almost nothing about Europe and the US.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    302
    86
    28
    10
See reviews for
112
300
85
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rooms quiet small but have all the facilities needed. Good central location and optional breakfast in bar area is well worth the money although could be had cheaper outside. Staff vert friendly, would recommend as a 3star hotel

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rorschach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Never had a so small and really, really old room like this. It looks like they never invest any ISK for anything. Walking distance within the central. The night receptionist was really very friendly, the bar was crowded and very noisy - fortunately for other hotelguests the operation is set at 01.00.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We selected this hotel based on location and price and were happy with our selection. Well placed to walk to all tourist locations, two minutes to the Hallgrimskirkja church, two minutes to the main street, five minutes to the sun voyager and Harpa and ten minutes to the harbour. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment and the updated rooms are well appointed. I recommend you ask if you are being allocated a newly refurbished or old room. The receptionists were all extremely helpful and welcoming with nothing being a problem for them. Good bar and bistro area and extremely well priced. Overall well placed and priced with excellent service provided by all staff

Room Tip: Ask if your room has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located at a quite street. Walking distance within the central area. However, the big coach (for your day trip) will not be able to stop outside your hotel, due to the road. Often, you will have to be picked up by transfer van or you will be dropped off near the church to walk back.

There is some renovation going on for the building facade. Not a problem for me since I'm out in the day. Bathroom was a little small though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I and my husband had previously stayed at the Hotel 12 years ago and had good memories of it. This time the 2 day stay was disappointing. The first problem was the receptionist who had to be one of the most off hand, unhelpful, unsmiling and rudest of individuals. The female receptionist was slightly more forthcoming but the lack of attention and welcome was marked. The room was comfortable enough except the bath which had taps which were totally inaccessible! There was a glass shower screen which was immoveable so you had to climb into the bath to turn the taps on. If the water temperature was either too hot or too cold, it meant of course having to get into the bath to adjust accordingly, either freezing or burning your feet all the while. The lip of the bath was sharp and awkward to get out of which resulted in a nasty bruise. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on the restaurant but the lack of thought and warmth has put us off the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is very central and the beds were quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

A great central location - in a quite street.

No hassle check-in (and check-out) with professional, helpful English speaking staff. I stayed in a smallish but very well appointed room - with an exceptionally comfortable bed. There were no problems with noise or warmth.

Free WIFI was OK - but with no WEP key. :(

The self-service continent breakfast offered a lot of choice and there were two staff refreshing, cooking and cleaning - ready to help.

My Icelandic friends who live in Reykjavik also thought Odinsve was a good location and they often use the bar / restaurant themselves which is part of the hotel. The food & service was good.

I'd stay here again.

I've given Hotel Odinsve Four Stars as I think it could have been £20 cheaper per night - andI'd liked to have had a WEP key on the WIFI to add a little more security for my passwords.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#3 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
Hotel Holt
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Odinsve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.