We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Odinsve to your Saves list
Hotel Odinsve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Couldn't be better placed. Minutes walk from everywhere. We had a suite on the first floor which consisted of a bedroom, a separate sitting room and bathroom. Really nice to have the space. There was no decent view, just the square outside but it didn't matter. The bed was comfortable and it was plenty warm enough. Be warned that the hot water smells of sulphur! This is the case everywhere in Iceland because the water is geothermally heated. We were right over the restaurant but it wasn't noisy. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and because it was February, it was dark in the mornings till 9 o'clock. It was lit for breakfast with candles! This was a bit weird. Reasonable buffet with the usual breads, pastries, boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt and the facility to make waffles. The reception was very helpful and efficient, sorting out trips and booking restaurants.
We liked it and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    233
    74
    27
    10
See reviews for
83
216
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location, location, location-one of the most important aspects of a great hotel, and this hotel definitely has it. It's within walking distance of Hallgrímskirkja (a beautiful Church and landmark), restaurants, shopping, and the waterfront. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and extremely helpful in booking out of city excursions and giving information about the area. The room was modest and simple, with typical Scandinavian design. Very clean and very comfortable. Just as a warning, the shower water does smell like sulfur due to the mass amounts of geothermal activity on the island. During my next visit to Reykjavik, I will definitely be staying at Hotel Odinsve again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Odinsve for 5 nights and loved it! Great location & great service at the front desk! You are just a few blocks from Hallgrímskirkja, the main shopping street, and the city center. The rooms are kind of small, but who hangs out in their hotel room on vacation! The beds are very comfy. The shower is kind of small in American standards, but it gets the job done! It does take some getting used to the sulfur smell from the shower water though, but just open the window & you'll be ok. The bathroom has a hair dryer and a towel warmer on the wall, which was very nice. The towel warmer was a nice feature, but the Icelanders keep the inside of all of their establishments so warm that it didn't really make a difference. We slept with the windows open and there was not that much outside noise that woke us up except on Saturday night there were some very loud bar goers that walked by the building, but we were already up from getting back late from a northern lights excursion so we were already up. The front desk was super friendly and extremely helpful! The elevator is probably the smalled elevator I've been in, so we took the stairs other then when we checked in & out. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: My husband and I booked a 2 twin room b/c the price difference was worth it, but our beds were right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in February, as Hotel Odinsve suggested by All Iceland ŵho organised our trip to Reykjavik. The Hotel was in a great central location, with a short stroll to restaurants, main shopping street and central Reykjavik attractions.

The room on second floor was small, clean, quiet, but slightly jaded. We had a view of the back of the Hotel towards the Cathedral. The bathroom was cramped and not much shelf space and there was a smell of sulphur/rotten eggs from the water, which is not unusual.

Breakfast was continental, cereal, fruit, eggs, cold meats, juice, coffee etc pancake/waffle mix available to make your own. Popular restaurant SNAPS attached to the Hotel, can't comment as we ate out every night, as there are good restaurants nearby (Sjavargrillid and Icelandic Fish and Chips Organic Bistro).

Excellent value of money and central location but not 4 star.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We had an unusually shaped twin room but it was spotlessly cleaned (and tidied!) without fail everyday.
The hotel is located minutes walk from the main shopping and tourist spots in Reykjavik and the friendly staff in the hotel will book tours and buses for travel further afield.
The continental breakfast buffet was amazing! Left stuffed every day and it was a warm and cosy bar in the evenings.
Wholly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located in the center of the city, close to shopping and great restaurants. We stayed in a junior suite which was two stories and very spacious. The bedroom was on the main floor and the second floor was a quaint sitting room with a skylight. The bathroom was a bit small but the size of the room more than made up for it. The staff was also incredibly helpful and friendly. We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked the junior suite at this hotel and it was a lovely room! Had a very comfortable big double bed, dresser, wardrobe, good sized tv and a small lounge. The bathroom was quite small and the drains smelt a bit funky when you had a shower! The receptionist was extremely helpful and gave us lots of advice as to where to eat, who to book what excursion with etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant during our stay so can't really comment on the food, but the menu looked good!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Odinsve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.