We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Odinsve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Odinsve to your Saves list
Hotel Odinsve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location and nice accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location, near everything. Two room suite was small but very nice. Front desk very helpful in everyway. Little nits with housekeeping. Add-on breakfast was very nice and available until 10AM. Would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    269
    82
    28
    10
See reviews for
100
263
79
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved staying at this hotel, we had a superior room on the top floor with balcony and beautiful view of the city. Becasue Reykjavik is quite small, it's hard not to stay central, the shoppingstreet (also quite small) was just a few minutes walk from our hotel. The service was fine and friendly and there was hot, springwater (it smelled like rotten eggs though) coming out of the shower, so you could fill you own hot springwater bath, which was really nice :)
Would def. stay here again when visiting Reykjavik!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived early in the morning they showed us where we could safely store our luggage until our room was ready. They also prepared our room as quickly as possible so we could check in early. Being able to check in early and have a nap really made our day!

Our room was actually quite spacious although I gather it may have been one of the larger rooms. The beds were a bit hard and a bit small - although not exceptionally so compared to the other places we stayed in Iceland. The room décor was nice, if a bit eclectic. There was also a small fridge/mini bar.

The bathroom included a large tub (unusual for Iceland) which was very comfortable and exactly the right thing for relaxing after a long flight! The bathroom included a blow dryer.

The location is fantastic - a short walk to the main shopping and events areas. Fortunately it is also just far enough away from the main drag that the area is fairly quiet at night. There is a restaurant right in the hotel and many others near by. There are also a couple of grocery stores within a reasonable walking distance.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Odinsve if you are planning on spending a night or two in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I should admit firstly that based on some reviews of this hotel I had some pretty high expectations of this hotel. The location is brilliant and looking around at other hotels equally proximate to the city centre I would say its one of the better value ones. The staff are all quite helpful in booking excursions and various transfers. Most can be done direct with the hotel at no extra cost. I was disappointed with the room as it was feeling dated and the layout was poor which made staying as a couple uncomfortable. If we had been able to secure a double room this rating probably would improve but overall I would recommend due to location because Reykjavik is an fantastic place to chill out in the evening after a day of adventure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON, DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have only good things to say about my two nights in the Hotel Odinsve. I stayed in room 403, which is a top floor, corner room with a long balcony off the front of the hotel. From there, you can gaze out upon the relatively traffic-free streets of Reykjavik, and ponder this wonderful city. The large room was light-filled, fresh, spotless and airy, with a nice-sized bathroom. The people at the front desk were always friendly and efficient. As other reviewers have noted, the location is great, with ready access to the cathedral, shops and restaurants. We had dinner one evening in the attached restaurant, SNAPS, which was both memorable and delicious. I'd happily return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location was good but Reykjavik is not that big so don't stay here based on location alone.

The room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom cramped. The lighting was poor and the windows didn't open enough to keep the room cool. The decoration is dated and tired looking.

The food at breakfast was ok, but the service was not good. Granted we arrived about 15 min before the end of breakfast service but when I asked for more waffle batter (for the waffle iron) or more glasses and plates, the waitress was rude and snappy, telling me that since it was so late, she wasn't restocking anything. I insisted and she complied eventually but this is not the sort of thing that leaves a positive impression. And we were far from the last to arrive that morning. (Maybe they should take the hint and serve breakfast for a half hour longer?!)

This hotel just wasn't special in anyway and I would try someplace else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Avg European hotel. Great Great location if you like to stroll and browse shops & local restaurants. Breakfast was included in our rate so not sure what the complaining about high cost is about in other reviews?

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Odinsve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odinsve

Address: Odinstorg Thorsgata 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odinsve 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odinsve, a boutique hotel in downtown Reykjavik, offers quality four star accommodation in the residential area of 101 - the heart of Iceland's capital. The hotel has a total of 50 rooms. The decor encapsulates a Nordic ambiance whilst offering a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The hotel prides itself on offering an impeccable service with emphasis on comfort and personal attention. Within the hotel you will find SNAPS BISTRO which offers top quality food and a variaty of good vines and coctails in a lovely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Odinsve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odinsve Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Odinsve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.