We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
WOODSTOCK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Driving into Reykjavik you see the highest steeple in Iceland and there is Hotel Leifur Eriksson right across the street. Hard to lose your hotel. Rooms were clean and bathrooms a little small. Best was the free coffee and juice machine in the lobby.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    358
    157
    50
    24
See reviews for
80
414
84
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Iceland, where we stayed for four nights at the Leifur Eriksson. We also stayed there for five nights last year.
The hotel is in a great location, right by the spectacular church and literally a couple of minutes from the main street (Laugavegur).
The staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English.
The room was basic, but nonetheless spotlessly clean. However, the bathroom (if that word is actually applicable) was the major letdown of the stay. It was basically a 'wet room', reminiscent of those in dirt-cheap Greek holiday complexes. Use of the shower caused a minor flood and also the sink was tiny, with nowhere to put one's toiletries.
Finally, there was a decent enough continental-style buffet breakfast and a handy bonus is the 24/7 provision of free hot drinks in the foyer (very good when a coffee anywhere else will set you back ~£3).

Overall, a perfectly satisfactory hotel, and reasonably priced by Icelandic standards.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — "Bathroom"
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

We booked the hotel on basis of price and location and having read the previous mixed reviews, wasn't quite sure how it would be. We booked a single and double room and on arrival, were allocated a double and a family on the first floor so that was a plus for a start! The double faced the church and the family was on the back of the hotel with a balcony. As we were there for the Midnight Sun, the black-out curtains underneath the main curtains were great. The rooms were a decent size and VERY clean and tidy. My philiosophy is you dont go to somewhere like Iceland to spend much time in your room! The breakfast was plentiful and you could have as much as you wanted and the free hot drinks and squash was great. The staff on reception were fantastic, very helpful and booked all our trips for us. They even came to our aid when we booked the wrong bus to go back to the airport and got us a taxi within 2 minutes to get us to the bus terminal in time for the right bus! All in all, for location, price and good service, you cannot go wrong booking this hotel. We would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — All good
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

The hotel is clean and cheap, small rooms with helpful staff who could smile a little bit more! The 24hr hot and cold drinks availability was great- mostly because its free (Iceland is VERY expensive)but also a nice meeting place to discuss places to visit with other guests- in the very sociable breakfast room area. Breakfast is basic but plenty of it. Rooms cleaned on request every day and lovely to return to our made beds at the end of a long day. I would certainly recommend this place- near the town-2minutes away-quiet and opposite the massive but beautifully serene Hallgrims church-well worth a visit to the tower for the views- breathtaking!. Plenty to see and do in Reykjavik.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

What a fantastic place Iceland is and you cannot do better than stay at this hotel. It is centrally situated close to the shopping area, the stunning Hallgrimskirkja church and only a short walk from the sea. All trips can be booked from reception and everything runs so smoothly with pick up from the hotel by minibus. We had a double room overlooking the church and the longest it took to walk to a site of interest was 35 minutes, to the Perlan. This restaurant was a bit OTT with its food and its prices but the experience of a rotating restaurant was magical.
The hotel staff are friendly and you may wait a while for a table for breakfast but we thought it was a great value hotel, clean, very warm and with hot drinks on demand. What more could you want? I will definitely return.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and thought it was great value for money. Before we even got there we had emailed and asked about trips - the staff there were extremely helpful and informative (Thank You to Shaun !). Our room was excellent - very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was good, help yourself to whatever you like - ham, cheese, jams. cereal, fruit etc. Tea and coffee are available 24 hours. We had a great time - the hotel is great and we'd love to go back. We would recommend anyone going there to eat out at Siggi Hall (just 3 minutes walk away). The food there trumped anything we've ever had in the UK.

  • Liked — Fiendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2006

Stayed here with the Icelandair deal earlier this year.

brilliant location , lovely breakfast buffet and clean room. very nice although the icelandic people do not really have much of a sense of humour so i can see how the staff may rub people up the wrong way

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — pay for the lift up to the top of the cathedral opposite the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.