We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our second stay at the Hotel Leifur Eriksson and no problems found again. This is not a luxury hotel but is comfortable clean and well run. The main reason for return is the location, right opposite the big church so you can always find your way back and a couple of minutes from the bars cafe and shopping in downtown Reykjavik.

The rooms and bathrooms are quite small but are clean and warm, sometimes too warm but radiators can be turned off and windows opened unlike some hotel we have stayed in Reykjavik. Some room have great views of the church - we had a ground floor room with a church view on one stay and a rear room with little view the previous stay but room at the back benefit from no street noises. Free wifi is benefit but can be bit patchy.

Breakfast is good with fruit, cheese, meats and toast and the like. And waffle to make freshly yourself! Hot and Cold drinks available all of the time in the lounge.

The staff are polite and helpful and will willing to help with the trip questions etc.

Not luxury travel but a great hotel! We have enjoyed this hotel more than higher star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    363
    159
    51
    24
See reviews for
81
419
86
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our room was across the street from the main hotel. It was small and worn but met our needs. The location is perfect to visit key places in the city, shop and hit some great restaurants. A standard Icelandic breakfast of meat cheese bread herring and coffee with a few extra treats.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014. We were allowed to check in at 8 a.m. and, after travelling for a full day, we were very grateful. We were urged to sit down and have breakfast while we waited for them to make up our. A few days into our visit, I had a minor emergency and had to make an international phone call. I talked for 15 minutes and the hotel staff wouldn't take any of my money.

On the downside, rooms are small, but who goes to Iceland to stay in the room?! The balcony door didn't have much of a lock on it. One of the maids was surly. However, everyone else was friendly and helpful. I'd stay again. GREAT CENTRAL location!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014, for 4 nights. Our accommodation looked out onto the church, so not a bad view at all. I would say our room was basic, comfortable & clean. For the price I paid this is what I expected.
The breakfast supplied was plentiful. nice touch. With northern light hunts & early start for pony trecks into the wilderness etc, having coffee & OJ / water on tap, 24 hours a day, was welcomed.
Staff were friendly & happy to help with excursion reservations & any other queries you may have.
Situated in the old part of the city, shops and restaurants are a short walk away.
Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second stay in Reykjavik and I was very happy with this choice of hotel. The location is ideal, we had a great view of the church right outside our window and the main shopping/dining street is just right up the road. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and bright. The breakfast was typical, not amazing but just right for our needs. The bathroom/shower drained so slowly though, you had to stand in water to finish getting ready in the morning, and there is a small TV in the room which had a bizarre color problem but we weren't really interested in watching TV anyway so no big deal. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Leifur Eiriksson for 4 nights in March. The staff are very helpful with information about your trips, pick ups gor daytrips, or knowing if the northern lights trip is on etc. Nothing is too much trouble. We very much appreciated the toasted sandwich at midnight after our northern lights trip! Having drinks available throughout the day was great, especially the hot chocolate after coming in from the snow. Room is basic but what more do you need as you are hardly in it. Convenient location with 5 minute walk to main area of bars, supermarket and restaurants. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms of this hotel were on the small side - but how long does one stay in one's room on a trip away after all? Great location on top of a hill and the church opposite provided an easy landmark when returning to the hotel. Tea and coffee-making facilities were available at all times in the breakfast room along with chilled still or sparkling water, which was a nice touch. A waffle maker was provided at breakfast along with a bowl of waffle mixture and maple syrup, which was a real treat and lifted breakfast above the ordinary. Very happy with the hotel overall and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.