We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Drogheda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014. We were allowed to check in at 8 a.m. and, after travelling for a full day, we were very grateful. We were urged to sit down and have breakfast while we waited for them to make up our. A few days into our visit, I had a minor emergency and had to make an international phone call. I talked for 15 minutes and the hotel staff wouldn't take any of my money.

On the downside, rooms are small, but who goes to Iceland to stay in the room?! The balcony door didn't have much of a lock on it. One of the maids was surly. However, everyone else was friendly and helpful. I'd stay again. GREAT CENTRAL location!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    358
    157
    50
    24
See reviews for
80
412
84
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014, for 4 nights. Our accommodation looked out onto the church, so not a bad view at all. I would say our room was basic, comfortable & clean. For the price I paid this is what I expected.
The breakfast supplied was plentiful. nice touch. With northern light hunts & early start for pony trecks into the wilderness etc, having coffee & OJ / water on tap, 24 hours a day, was welcomed.
Staff were friendly & happy to help with excursion reservations & any other queries you may have.
Situated in the old part of the city, shops and restaurants are a short walk away.
Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second stay in Reykjavik and I was very happy with this choice of hotel. The location is ideal, we had a great view of the church right outside our window and the main shopping/dining street is just right up the road. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and bright. The breakfast was typical, not amazing but just right for our needs. The bathroom/shower drained so slowly though, you had to stand in water to finish getting ready in the morning, and there is a small TV in the room which had a bizarre color problem but we weren't really interested in watching TV anyway so no big deal. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Leifur Eiriksson for 4 nights in March. The staff are very helpful with information about your trips, pick ups gor daytrips, or knowing if the northern lights trip is on etc. Nothing is too much trouble. We very much appreciated the toasted sandwich at midnight after our northern lights trip! Having drinks available throughout the day was great, especially the hot chocolate after coming in from the snow. Room is basic but what more do you need as you are hardly in it. Convenient location with 5 minute walk to main area of bars, supermarket and restaurants. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms of this hotel were on the small side - but how long does one stay in one's room on a trip away after all? Great location on top of a hill and the church opposite provided an easy landmark when returning to the hotel. Tea and coffee-making facilities were available at all times in the breakfast room along with chilled still or sparkling water, which was a nice touch. A waffle maker was provided at breakfast along with a bowl of waffle mixture and maple syrup, which was a real treat and lifted breakfast above the ordinary. Very happy with the hotel overall and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are fairly small but adequate. The view out of our window of the cathedral was amazing, especially when the setting sun made it glow orange; beautiful.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing, with tinned fruit, orange segments, bread for toasting, ham and cheeses etc. I suppose we are a bit spoiled with other European city hotels giving an amazing array of choice which is probably not the norm in Iceland. We had an early (5am) start on our final day and were not given the option of breakfast.
Only liquid hand soap is provided in the bathrooms, so take toiletries.
The main issue we had the first night was noise, with people sitting on benches outside the hotel talking and laughing until 3am. Also because of the long length of the days it was difficult to sleep, thicker curtains would have helped here to cut out the light.
On the positive side, it was great to have ample free parking nearby, staff were friendly and accommodating, and the location is perfect. Free teas and coffees made up for lack of drink making equipment in the rooms.There is also a small supermarket very close by as well as shops and restaurants. A great spot for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We could not have asked for a better located hotel in Reykjavik. Clean Comfortable room, beverages available all day. Lovely buffet breakfast with a good cold selection plus waffles. Friendly staff, obliging management and always helpful. Room 202 overlooked the Church and the adjoining street had shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.