We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a great place to stay with a fantastic bedroom view of the Church,staff were very nice,bedrooms were very comfortable.
the dining area was clean & tidy & the breakfast was ample with as much hot drinks as you could drink that was available 24/7.
Yes, you have to clear your own plates,no big deal,there were a few guests who thought they were excluded from this task but the receptionist soon sorted any left by lazy guests.
The location could not be better with just a short walk into town.
If we ever return to this beautiful country we will certainly be using this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 306 was great,fantastic view of the Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    330
    141
    49
    23
See reviews for
72
369
80
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights 25/28th April 2014. The hotel is perfect for getting around the city. As others have said the staff are very friendly and will do your flight check in and print your boarding cards for you. The rooms are average size, clean but the only extra was a small TV. The twin narrow beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side. We found the best way to shower, and keep the floor dry, was to get wet, turn off the shower, wash, and the turn on shower again to rinse off the soap. As we felt unable to use our travel kettle because of the sulphur smell in the water, the free tee, coffee and orange squash was very welcome and a definitive plus for the hotel. Breakfast was ok but not what we would be used to, but then it was our first trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was a great base for our trip to Iceland. By Icelandic standards it wasn't expensive, it have fantastic friendly staff, included breakfast, free convenient parking and free coffee and tea 24/7.
The room itself was all we needed, yes it could have had a better shower but for the money we aren't complaining.
We don't go on holiday for the hotel itself, we go to see the place so if you are someone who wants a really upmarket hotel our reviews wouldn't be for you. If ,on the other hand ,you want good value for money so do we.
We would definitely go back

Room Tip: I often book a hotel through a booking website and then email the hotel direct to ask for a specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Where to start with this pit? We arrived after a very long drive and were given rooms in the Annex over the road. No hall or elevator, just stairs right in front of the shabby damaged entrance door. The basement room was so small you had to lift your bags onto the bed to open the door - and one person had to climb over the other to get into bed. Windows looked out over a yard full of junk to the next building's wall 5ft away. Bathroom door wood delaminating from water damage - tiny basin and shelf falling off. Cables all over the floor. 14" CRT TV ( I didn't know they still existed). Internet existed - but it took 8 attempts to connect, and other devices never managed to connect. Absolutely no literature in the room - or bathroom soap etc. Bed base sheet actually two sheets - one covering the upper end, the other the lower end of the bed. Pillow hard: filled with lumps of foam. We seriously considered changing hotels - but it was late and we were exhausted.
Breakfast was in the main building: basic, and Kiel many Nordic hotels. Only this time the coffee was instant (even though it came out of a fancy machine pretending to be freshly ground), the orange juice was squash (even though it came out of a machine), and the glasses are a mix of all sorts - perhaps from the clear-outs of other hotels. Oh, and you arrive to find used plates and cups on all the tables - you're expected to clear a table before you start.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location right across the road from the church and a short stroll to the centre of town with all the shops and restaurants. Our twin room had enough space with a bedside table each, a small wardrobe, a chair and TV. The bathroom was small but nice and clean and they will replace towels daily if you want.

The wifi worked fairly well in the reception area but often cut out in the room. We were on the basement level (same level as reception) but we didn't find noise an issue. The blackout blinds in the room do not block out the sun enough so if you're staying in spring/summer definitely take an eye mask!

The free breakfast was amazing with bread, crackers, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit and a waffle machine and mix where you can make your own fresh waffles! Also free tea, coffee, juice and water (still and sparkling) available all day. They even had easter eggs out for all the guests on Easter Sunday!

Reception is available 24 hours and they are very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here with our friends last week. The staff were excellent - friendly and professional.The breakfast is great and the free hot drinks, ice cold water (still and fizzy) and soft drinks is a godsend. You can have as much as you want and the small dining area is ideal for a morning or afternoon drink!

Our room was facing the church and certainly large enough for a couple. The shower/toilet area is small but clean.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hotel is situated opposite the Hallgrimskirkja Church at the top of Skolavordustigur (road).

Bedrooms are in two seperate buildings on opposite sides of Skolavordustigur.

Rooms are basic, with no added extra's except for a TV, which has Sky News and CNN. There are no fridges, Tea/Coffee making facilities/Hairdryer etc.

Bathrooms are very small, and are in fact more like wetrooms.

Reception is open 24/7, and contains masses of information regarding Iceland and the various trips that are available, which can all be booked for you by the reception staff.
All the staff that we dealt with were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put at 'basement' level, as the rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.