We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Basic with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is an ideal hotel if you are looking for an inexpensive stay in wonderful Reykjavik. As two single women it suited us perfectly. I would not recommend it for a romantic break, though. Also I couldn't get a decent coffee from the machine - everything tasted of chocolate. If you need a cup to get you started in the morning you should count on going elsewhere. BTW, coffee at the Blue Lagoon café was exceptionally good. Would certainly stay here next time, assuming I am not on a romantic break.

Room Tip: Front rooms have magnificent views of the cathedral. No lift, so if you have problems climbing stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    330
    139
    49
    23
See reviews for
72
367
80
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We were really happy with this hotel which we booked through a package with Iceland Air. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring old Reykjavik on foot. We didn't have to take taxis or buses anywhere because you can walk round so easily.

Our twin room was pretty basic but clean and very warm. We had a stunning view of the church and monument. Our towels were changed and bedding made every day. The wifi signal was excellent and reliable. A hair dryer was supplied as soon as we asked for it.

Continental Breakfast with an Icelandic slant was included. Self service: fruit, yoghurt, granola and cereals, several kinds of bread, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, eggs with fish mixed in (an Icelandic thing I suppose!), pancakes and tea/coffee/squash.

We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Everyone speaks excellent English. More importantly they create an atmosphere which is friendly and informal and other guests chatted to us a lot.

If you expect luxury touches and table service, this is not the hotel for you. However, if you plan to spend most of your time exploring the city/country and simply want a warm friendly base to return to, you could probably not fine a better hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a tiny room on the second floor (fellow guests said the best rooms were on the higher floors) but it was warm and clean with a comfortable bed. Bathroom good despite a constant sulphurous smell from the water supply. No easy chairs and little space but a good view across to the magnificent church. No lifts, ok for us on the 2nd floor but must have been difficult higher up although we did see staff helping some guests. Breakfast adequate with enough variety to suit all but don't expect full English! Staff very friendly and helpful, especially with advice on the best tours and local sights and amenities. Free hot drinks 24/7 from the self service machine was another plus. The thing I liked most was the central location, ideal for all needs and exploring the area, as some other hotels on the tour pick-ups seemed too remote. Easy to find wherever you are in Reykjavik as its next door to the fabulous, tall church which can be spotted from almost anywhere. Despite the issues mentioned, we will probably use it again next spring.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is an issue then you might want to contact the hotel with your preference as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Not a 5 star hotel but good value for money. Rooms quite basic but clean, staff where excellent ( except for one younger evening receptionist who didn't like to be bothered with customers). Breakfast was very nice, toast, waffles, cheese, hams etc. the nice touch was hot drinks available 24 hours a day just help yourselves. We had to leave the hotel at 5 am we where expecting that they would have left bread etc out for us to make toast as we where missing our breakfast but there was nothing left for us. The Hotel was in a good position with a loverly view of the Cathedral and close to Restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nothing special, but clean. Breakfast good but busy with decent choices. Location fantastic, right near the main shopping streets and harbour. The staff were very happy to help with booking trips and excursions

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked this hotel with Icelandair northern lights package and was intrigued by the church being right opposite. It really was wonderful to wake up to this amazing building! Yes its a no frills hotel - but you don't stay indoors much anyway. It was clean and staff were friendly.

Breakfast was fine, plentiful. Free tea and coffee 24hrs a day was a plus, especially coming in from the cold weather. Front desk were helpful with directions and bookings.

The tours were so well organised, we were very impressed that they were never late and very efficient indeed (Reykjavik excursions). We got to see everything we had planned to - including luckily catching the northern lights :) the geysers and waterfall was amazing, the blue lagoon just what we needed to relax, what a perfect trip! Go to Iceland - its a must!

Room Tip: Room facing the wonderful church if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location. Clean. Very helpful staff.
Not your usual chain hotel - small friendly hotel run by locals.
Perfect base to explore Reykjavik old town.
We stayed four nights - never used taxi or bus - as you can walk easily to desirable locations.
If you want hundreds of bedrooms in a modern soulless out of town mall. - then book elsewhere.
Good breakfast choice and quality and hot drinks available 24hr with NO charge ! We requested a room with view of Hallgrimskirja - and received one - although some rear rooms appear to have a balcony- the front ones do not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.