We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Not a 5 star hotel but good value for money. Rooms quite basic but clean, staff where excellent ( except for one younger evening receptionist who didn't like to be bothered with customers). Breakfast was very nice, toast, waffles, cheese, hams etc. the nice touch was hot drinks available 24 hours a day just help yourselves. We had to leave the hotel at 5 am we where expecting that they would have left bread etc out for us to make toast as we where missing our breakfast but there was nothing left for us. The Hotel was in a good position with a loverly view of the Cathedral and close to Restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    330
    142
    49
    23
See reviews for
72
371
80
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nothing special, but clean. Breakfast good but busy with decent choices. Location fantastic, right near the main shopping streets and harbour. The staff were very happy to help with booking trips and excursions

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked this hotel with Icelandair northern lights package and was intrigued by the church being right opposite. It really was wonderful to wake up to this amazing building! Yes its a no frills hotel - but you don't stay indoors much anyway. It was clean and staff were friendly.

Breakfast was fine, plentiful. Free tea and coffee 24hrs a day was a plus, especially coming in from the cold weather. Front desk were helpful with directions and bookings.

The tours were so well organised, we were very impressed that they were never late and very efficient indeed (Reykjavik excursions). We got to see everything we had planned to - including luckily catching the northern lights :) the geysers and waterfall was amazing, the blue lagoon just what we needed to relax, what a perfect trip! Go to Iceland - its a must!

Room Tip: Room facing the wonderful church if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location. Clean. Very helpful staff.
Not your usual chain hotel - small friendly hotel run by locals.
Perfect base to explore Reykjavik old town.
We stayed four nights - never used taxi or bus - as you can walk easily to desirable locations.
If you want hundreds of bedrooms in a modern soulless out of town mall. - then book elsewhere.
Good breakfast choice and quality and hot drinks available 24hr with NO charge ! We requested a room with view of Hallgrimskirja - and received one - although some rear rooms appear to have a balcony- the front ones do not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at this wonderful Hotel. What a great little find!! This hotel is centrally located opposite the impressive iconic Hallgrimskirja church.-which is well worth a visit The hotel is clean, cosy and friendly. The staff were helpful and on hand to advise. The room was clean, and warm. At breakfast there was plenty to choose from and breakfast ran from 07.30 -09.30 which suited our needs. This hotel is a great little find, in a great location and only about 5 minutes walk from town centre and the Harbour. We most certainly would stay here again. Love this place and Reykjavick is a hip, cool, impressive place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It was great to stay in a hotel run by locals! Lovely clean room facing the famous church, the desk day staff were most helpful and very focused on customer service. We walked to everything in town from this central location. Iceland has ground heated hot water from its geothermal activity, and so the hotel hot water is direct from this geothermal activity. You don't get this local phenomena in other countries - something different. It was very good to be able to book our day-tours and northern lights tour from the front desk of the hotel, and then be picked up for the tours. We really enjoyed our stay, and hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Perfect location in the main part of Reykjavik, opposite Hallgrimskirkja church so you will never get lost as this is visible wherever you are in Reykjavik. The room was clean, small but cosy and warm. It's a family run hotel so nothing big and fancy but just what we needed as a base whilst we explored Iceland. Breakfast was plentiful with basic food, coffee and orange juice wasn't the best but chocolate and tea were available. The staff are helpful and will book any excursions for you.

Room Tip: our room was in main part of hotel, they have an annexe building across the road but don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.