We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Wrexham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel but good value for money. Rooms quite basic but clean, staff where excellent ( except for one younger evening receptionist who didn't like to be bothered with customers). Breakfast was very nice, toast, waffles, cheese, hams etc. the nice touch was hot drinks available 24 hours a day just help yourselves. We had to leave the hotel at 5 am we where expecting that they would have left bread etc out for us to make toast as we where missing our breakfast but there was nothing left for us. The Hotel was in a good position with a loverly view of the Cathedral and close to Restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nan5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nothing special, but clean. Breakfast good but busy with decent choices. Location fantastic, right near the main shopping streets and harbour. The staff were very happy to help with booking trips and excursions

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Large009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Booked this hotel with Icelandair northern lights package and was intrigued by the church being right opposite. It really was wonderful to wake up to this amazing building! Yes its a no frills hotel - but you don't stay indoors much anyway. It was clean and staff were friendly.

Breakfast was fine, plentiful. Free tea and coffee 24hrs a day was a plus, especially coming in from the cold weather. Front desk were helpful with directions and bookings.

The tours were so well organised, we were very impressed that they were never late and very efficient indeed (Reykjavik excursions). We got to see everything we had planned to - including luckily catching the northern lights :) the geysers and waterfall was amazing, the blue lagoon just what we needed to relax, what a perfect trip! Go to Iceland - its a must!

Room Tip: Room facing the wonderful church if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location. Clean. Very helpful staff.
Not your usual chain hotel - small friendly hotel run by locals.
Perfect base to explore Reykjavik old town.
We stayed four nights - never used taxi or bus - as you can walk easily to desirable locations.
If you want hundreds of bedrooms in a modern soulless out of town mall. - then book elsewhere.
Good breakfast choice and quality and hot drinks available 24hr with NO charge ! We requested a room with view of Hallgrimskirja - and received one - although some rear rooms appear to have a balcony- the front ones do not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardworkingfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at this wonderful Hotel. What a great little find!! This hotel is centrally located opposite the impressive iconic Hallgrimskirja church.-which is well worth a visit The hotel is clean, cosy and friendly. The staff were helpful and on hand to advise. The room was clean, and warm. At breakfast there was plenty to choose from and breakfast ran from 07.30 -09.30 which suited our needs. This hotel is a great little find, in a great location and only about 5 minutes walk from town centre and the Harbour. We most certainly would stay here again. Love this place and Reykjavick is a hip, cool, impressive place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puggy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was great to stay in a hotel run by locals! Lovely clean room facing the famous church, the desk day staff were most helpful and very focused on customer service. We walked to everything in town from this central location. Iceland has ground heated hot water from its geothermal activity, and so the hotel hot water is direct from this geothermal activity. You don't get this local phenomena in other countries - something different. It was very good to be able to book our day-tours and northern lights tour from the front desk of the hotel, and then be picked up for the tours. We really enjoyed our stay, and hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryjaneofsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Perfect location in the main part of Reykjavik, opposite Hallgrimskirkja church so you will never get lost as this is visible wherever you are in Reykjavik. The room was clean, small but cosy and warm. It's a family run hotel so nothing big and fancy but just what we needed as a base whilst we explored Iceland. Breakfast was plentiful with basic food, coffee and orange juice wasn't the best but chocolate and tea were available. The staff are helpful and will book any excursions for you.

Room Tip: our room was in main part of hotel, they have an annexe building across the road but don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 161Kaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,470 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 55 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#27 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,499 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel
Skuggi Hotel
#5 of 55 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing