We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had booked a room at a local house, via AirBNB, and it turned out to be bad. So I left and was forced to find a hotel. Luckily Hotel Leifur Eiriksson has one room remaining. There are two buildings: the main one and one across the road. I stayed in a fairly dark basement room in a small double room. It was simple but quiet and clean. Parking was straight forward, right outside the hotel. The location of the hotel was great, being close to the main shopping street and across the road from the church. The wifi was fast. Breakfast is included but I wasn't up early enough!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    330
    139
    49
    23
See reviews for
72
367
80
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location was fantastic. I easily walked to/from the bus station and to/from the pier. There was no AC, but it did get cold at night (and during the day) so that it was not needed. There is a heater. I was not in the main hotel, but in their building across the street. I stayed in a single room with a twin bed, which was tiny. There are no black out curtains. I was warned before hand and did not think it was a big deal at all. If you are the type that needs total darkness to sleep, bring an eye cover. No decor and is extremely plain. No frills. No elevator. Grocery store next door. Restaurants are about a 10 minute walk. Pretty good free breakfast in the morning. Cereal and some fruits.

Room Tip: I stayed in 411. Tiny. Single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having spent a full week here I have only one negative thing to say: the room I stayed in (room 309) was very small. As I am a tall man (2 meters), it all felt a bit cramped.

Other than that I have nothing but praise for this hotel. The staff is very friendly and professional The breakfast is great, as is the free coffee 24/7. The wifi is free, works in the room and worked very, very well. One of the best hotel wifis I every experienced.

The bathroom was nice, although the shower curtain sticks to your body when you take a shower. Also, the water slightly tasted like sulphur, but I guess you should not go to Iceland in the first place it that's a problem for you :-)

On the second floor is a small lobby/reading room where you can sit down, have some coffee, work on your laptop, have a conversation etc. A nice touch.

On top of all that the hotel is in an excellent location in Reykjavik. Immediately in front of the Hallgrimskirkja and just around the corner are the streets of downtown Reykjavik.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Leif Erickson for 3 days last week. I would like to start off by saying that the staff Is outstanding as is the location. The rooms are typical of many rooms in European hotels or inns and our room did have a private shower and small balcony. A warning though to travelers with disabilities. Despite our request for a first floor room, we were booked into a 2nd floor room. I do not know where the snafu occurred (by the hotel or Nordic Visitors) but we had to haul my disabled husband and LOTS of medical supplies down about 5 steps (which we were told by Nordic Visitors) but also up about 8-10 steps. The staff was wonderful and helped us but those steps and the raised bathroom/shower could be a barrier. Overall a lovely experience but handicapped travelers should confirm that their room is specifically located by room number on the first floor before they book.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed just one night in this hotel and it was a very good option: it is very central, there are parking spaces nearby, the room was small but comfortable, breakfast was very good. The drawback is that there is no lift, so it is quite heavy to lift the suitcase to the 3rd floor if your room is upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our room was a double in the annex, which is across the street from the main hotel. The rooms are very small (think student dorm room) but clean. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk everywhere. Breakfast is included and is very basic but adequate. The breakfast is small and you may have to wait for a table, so give yourself some extra time if you are checking out or have an excursion planned. The girl at the front desk is very friendly and takes care of everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here over new year in 2012. The rooms are basic but clean, the bathroom was small more like an en suite. The shower only had a curtain that went all the way around it to stop water going on the floor, it stuck to you while you were in the shower- not pleasant. The staff were very helpful and we stayed in the main hotel. The breakfast was basic but nice, cereals, waffle maker, toast etc very handy when you are going out early on trips. There is also complimentary hot drinks & juice for guests in the breakfast area which saves you money & having to go to a cafe. Reykjavik is fairly expensive to eat out, but the standards of food are very good. Id recommend paying to go Hallgrimskirkja church, the views over Reykjavik are wonderfull. We went on trips to the blue lagoon, Thingvellir national park & northern lights all organised through Reykjavik excursions. I would definitely recommend booking the northern lights tour through them as if you don't see them on your first trip they give you the second one free! Unfortunately we did not see them but you can't guarantee the weather. This hotel was prime location for fireworks on New Year's Eve, all the locals bring their own fireworks to the square opposite the hotel and set them off- fantastic to see!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.