We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly basic hotel but great location & friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Save Saved
You added Hotel Leifur Eiriksson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 47 hotels in Reykjavik
macclesfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fairly basic hotel but great location & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good points:
Great location, giving good views of cathedral and easy walking distance to main sights. Also only 10 mins walk to the BSI bus station (where the flybus drops off).
Friendly & helpful staff.
Included breakfast was pretty good, reasonable choice of cold food & make yourself waffles.
Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and orange squash available in the breakfast room 24 hours, which you could take up to your room.
Free wifi.
There was reasonably priced (for Iceland!) wine, beer & toasted sandwiches available from reception.
Bad points:
Room was quite small, with basic furnishings (double bed, 2 bedside cabinets, tiny wardrobe, small desk & chair) leaving very little space to move around.
Shower room very small, everything got wet every time you used the shower, and it stayed quite damp (resulting in mould on the walls). A squegee in the room to clear the floor would be a good idea (or relay the floor to drain to the shower outlet!)
Blackout curtains didn't fit well, so the room never got dark.

Overall, the good points far outweighed the bad. I'd be happy to recommend here for a short break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the cathedral, but could be noisy if there are revellers out in the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    313
    126
    43
    23
See reviews for
63
341
69
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tayside
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went to Iceland on an Icelandair package which included the Golden Circle Tour, Flybus Plus transfers and the Leifur Eiriksson Hotel.
Rooms are basic but all that's needed for a 3 night trip to Reykjavik. The rooms we had were clean, comfortable, small and very warm.
The hotel has two buildings, the main hotel and the annex across the street.
We were allocated a room in the annexe on the ground floor which is almost like a basement. Fortunately we were at the rear as the front facing rooms have their windows at ground level, looking out to the pavement. Perhaps due to the midnight sun, there were some talkative neighbours in the garden of the house next door who stayed up well into the wee small hours.
The following morning we asked to be moved and this was organised with little fuss, moving into the main building on the first floor.
Staff are friendly and very helpful. The included breakfast is cereal, cold meats and fish, waffles and toast, etc. There is a machine that dispenses all types of coffee 24/7. Note: there is a Subway only five minutes walk away.
All in all the Leifur was a fine place to stay as it was so handy for the centre of the city, compared to other hotels we saw.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great central location and the hotel is very clean, staff are friendly and the breakfast buffet is good although a little chaotic at busy times. The rooms are very basic though and the furnishings and decor is a little tired. With the extended daylight hours during the summer, the lack of effective black out curtains makes it a bit hard to sleep. If those negatives are not going to bother you then this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a no frills hotel in an brilliant location, right opposite the cathedral. Rooms are not huge but are clean and comfortable enough. We had room 304, at the at the front with a brilliant view of the square, There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but both are available free of charge in the breakfast area all day, which is a real plus point. There is free wifi. If you are on a budget it's an excellent choice. A couple of words of warning, though.....there's no disabled access, with steps down from the entrance to reception and no lift. Also not good for light sleepers - I was out like a light every night and didn't hear a thing but my husband was kept awake by people partying in the square until 3am all weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy to find, right next to the tall iconic Church in the centre of Reykjavic. The hotel was ideal for a short weekend. The staff were very helpful though a little laid back but this added to its charm. The rooms were basic but functional. However the mould around the windows in the bathroom was a little off putting. Breakfast was 'help yourself ' but good with plenty to eat. We left at 5am on the morning of our departure but unfortunately there was no breakfast, just tea and coffee. There were a lot of restaurants nearby which catered for all tastes and prices. Overall a fair tourist hotel which served its purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November 2012. On arrival at Reykavik airport we exchanged our vouchers for Flybus Return tickets (£27 each). The flybus then takes you directly to your hotel. On arrival we were allocated a ground floor room which was comfortable with two beds and lights by the beds and a wardrobe. Small bathroom with no ameneties. Free WIFI in public area. The hotel is situated opposite the Hallgrimskirkja. Trips could be booked at reception. We did a Golden Circle trip - highly recommended and a Northern Lights Trip. On the first occassion the lights did not appear so you could go the next day without charge. We were so lucky that on our second visit the lights appeared. What a wonderful sight. We also decided to visit the National Museum of Iceland which was extremely interesting. People were very kind and all spoke English. This was a great hotel to stay in within easy reach of restaurants for the evening - not cheap however. Breakfast was included and was good.

On the day of our return we took the Flybus to the Blue Lagoon, where there is a room that you can leave your luggage while you visit the Lagoon. It was so strange seing people in the very warm water with snow and ice around you. Flybuss then picks you up from the Lagoon to take you to the airport.

Everything was so well organised which made a thoroughly enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I booked this hotel through travelzoo, arrived at 2.30am and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We booked the whale watching afternoon with Elding which was really well organised. The weather was not particularly brilliant and we were grateful for the overalls we were given. The commentator was also very informative, the next day we went on the golden circle tour. Our guide was fantastic with a great sense of humour. Again it was raining and my advice is to either take special waterproof trousers and anorak or a change of clothes as we got absolutely soaked when we went to Gullfoss waterfalls. We had a quick lunch there (1 Panini, 1 bowl of soup, 2 coffees were £22!). Iceland is a fascinating country and the people are very friendly, their English is excellent. Eating out is expensive, however I found out if you choose a Bistro rather than a Restaurant, you can save quite a bit of money. I can recommend a bistro in Laugavegur Street called Glaetan Bokakaffi, they have really delicious pasta! Just down the road from there next to Subway, there is a creperie (the Nutella one was about £4.50), really friendly service! The hotel is in a perfect location within walking distance. The breakfast consists of toast, ham etc, cereal and you can make your own waffles. The rooms are warm and clean and the beds very comfortable. A very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Excellent location, hotel with character, very friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Leifur Eiriksson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leifur Eiriksson

Address: Skolavordustigur 45, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star family run hotel located in the centre of Reykjavik city opposite the famous Hallgrims Church .Our Hotel is in a quiet part of Reykjavik city and offer free parking opposite our Hotel .We offer 50 rooms all with private bathroom facilites and free wi fi internet connection . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Leifur Eiriksson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leifur Eiriksson Hotel
Leifur Eiriksson Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leifur Eiriksson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.