We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful front desk, convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik City Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik City Hostel to your Saves list
Reykjavik City Hostel
Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
VISIT ICELANDIC BREWERY
GreenLeadersGold level
Medford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helpful front desk, convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hostel is a little outside of downtown Reykjavik, but not necessarily out of the way and still very easy to get to. The front desk reception was very helpful with luggage storage, calling cabs, and letting us know some of the better places to eat and drink in the city. They do offer a breakfast everyday, although it's a bit pricey and you're probably better off picking up food at a market and keeping it in the kitchen. We stayed in a four person dorm, which did the trick, although bring your own bedding if you're able or else you'll have to pay for some.

Only downsides were the other loud younger guests staying in the same wing who could be heard running up and down the halls yelling and knocking on doors. Kids these days! Also, they don't have a freezer, which was annoying as I just wanted some ice in my drink. When I asked someone in the main kitchen if they had any, I was advised to "wait until Winter."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City Hostel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
• Dear AllroyForPrez

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for pointing out the positives of our location. Even though we are a 30 min walk from downtown we are easily reachable by frequent bus service and an excellent choice for those renting a car with our ample parking space.

Our reception staff are very pleased that you mentioned their service effort and helpfulness. We are sorry about the noise generated by our younger guests, we try to act on such instances as soon as we hear of them.

I will take in to account your idea about having a freezer in the guest kitchens. Come visit us in the winter and I promise we will have plenty of ice!

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff

Johann S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    68
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
30
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A bit far from downtown core but nice rooms with space and comfy beds (have to rent sheets however). Common rooms are loaded with free games (chess, ping pong, foosball, etc.) and the hostel provides daily activities. Breakfast was good but a bit expensive (everything in Iceland is expensive though).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City Hostel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Anne D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your kind words towards our Hostel. Thank you for pointing out the amenities we have available, the guests have thoroughly enjoyed our new Foosball table. We aim to create a social atmosphere so that our guests can mingle and share their travel experiences. That is what sets us apart from the standard hotel.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff

Johann S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel has everything you need for a good stay in Reykjavik. On top of this the helpful and friendly staff made my stay extra pleasant. They will also help you choose and book a excursion for you.

I also put my little tent up at the Campsite next door which was easily stored at the hostel basement for a small amount (about 7 euros) when I was away on trek.

Well equiped kitchens for use and eco alternatives at breakfast.

I recommend a walk by the seaside into town center (20-25 minutes) or take a nice swim at the bathhouse next door. There is also a local store, ice crem shop and a burger stand not far from hostel.


The Airport buses and most of the excursion companies/buses picks you up right outside the hostel door.

Room Tip: They have girls room only if you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City Hostel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Lissm

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review. It is always joyful for our staff to know when they are having a positive impact on our guests travel experience.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff
Johann S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

the hostel was okay. it was quite clean and the staff was nice. It was missing atmosphere though. the rooms were really small and the halls very impersonal. the breakfast was really good, but still quite expensive.

Room Tip: i wouldn't want to stay there for more than one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City Hostel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Vega000

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always looking at ways to improve and we thank you for your comments. We have rooms in all shapes and sizes, from ample spaced twin rooms or 4 person dorms to less spacious six bedded dorms which are our cheapest option. It is true that our halls need a bit more personal touch and we will work on improving that in the near future. We believe our breakfast is favorably priced compared to other providers of accommodation in Reykjavik and at our Hostel breakfast is optional. So if you want to save money you can easily cook your own in one of our three guest kitchens.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff
Johann S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 28 which came with its own bathroom and two single beds.

I have to say this is the best equipped hostel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are opened by card as it are all entrances in to the corridor where the rooms are making your stay very secure (if you use the kitchen don't forget to take your room card as you need it to get back out of the kitchen and into the corridor).

The room itself was very nice, there was plenty of room, the beds were comfortable with very nice sheets and duvet supplied and a radiator which heated up in no time. The bathroom was also clean, a good size with a very hot, albeit smelly (rotten eggs!) shower.

The kitchens are well equipped, there are several situated at different locations across the hostel meaning there is plenty of places to cook and sit without feeling like you are in a massive canteen style kitchen.

We also had breakfast both days we stayed, there is lots of food provided and everything is healthy and delicious.

In terms of other services the hostel has talks in the evening, there was a talk on geology on one of our nights there, and you can book tours and the bus to the airport from the reception desk and be picked up directly outside the hostel.

Location wise the hostel is quite a walk out from the centre of town, I would suggest someone gives themselves 30 minutes to get the the old harbour, we were lucky in that the weather was beautiful so we could stroll along the seafront but I would definitely recommend taking the bus in bad weather (bus timetables can be found at reception).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jóhann S, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik City Hostel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Curious_traveller005

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words about our Hostel. Furthermore thank you for pointing out the unfortunate smell in the shower, we have looked in to that and fixed it.

We hope to welcome you again!

On behalf of Reykjavik City Hostel Staff
Johann S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the massive campsite at the back of the hostel. We stayed in one of two cabins. The cabin was small and basic - bunk beds, table and chairs, small veranda - but it was very well heated and in Iceland that is the most important thing. And it was great value for money. You can book all tours and car hire etc through the reception and the staff are incredibly helpful. I lost my wallet the first day I arrived in Iceland and the staff went above and beyond in helping me to get it back. It's not right in the centre but it's not too far to walk and there's regular buses.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I've used this camping for a couple of days during my trip to Iceland, and I'd definitely recommend it as a great alternative for staying while in Reykjavik. The cooking facilities are excellent, showers and toilets are in good shape, free wi-fi, washing machines and very helpful staff that can help you with virtually any booking you'd like to make while there are only a few of the pros of staying here. Price is VERY competitive by Reykjavik standards as well.

While not truly in the center, keep in mind that Reykjavik is a small town by most standards, so getting into the center takes 20 mins by foot, and would be considered very central in any big metropolis. The next door swimming facilities are too great to be missed.

The only thing I'd mention was the fact that hot water in the showers was not available all the time. Most probably the managing staff will have this fixed, I hope :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik City Hostel

Address: Sundlaugavegur 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget comfortable HI Hostel in the green heart of the city, by Laugardalur Park, next door to the city largest Pool & Spa and national stadiums. Known for being the original Hostel in Reykjavik and the very first ECO Hostel in Iceland. The excellent facilities include 3 fully equipped guest kitchens, lounge areas, an outdoor patio and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free computer access. Movie hire. Board Games. Ping pong. Foosball. Climbing Wall. Bike Rental. Big breakfast buffet includes local, organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! NB: Sleeping bags are allowed or linen & towels to be rented upon arrival. Budget 6 bedded dorm rooms with shared facilities. Access to lockers. Dorms/Family rooms for up to 6 persons with en suite facilities. Lockers included (bring own lock). Budget twin rooms with en suite facilities. Comfortable twin/double rooms with en suite facilities (including linen and towels). Reception / Tour Desk : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need, just ask. All the most exciting tours and excursions + the Airport transfer are bookable with complimentary pickup / drop off. Plenty of free Parking. Car Rental. Walking to center is around 30 min by the coastline. Public bus no. 14 Stops at the Hostel every 15-30 minutes, taking you to and from BSI and the center in 10 min. Airport transportation connects with every flight, and will drop you off at the hostel upon request. **Reykjavik City Hostel has been Eco Certified - Nordic Swan since 2004. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.