We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icelantic Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Metropolitan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranargata 4A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Icelantic Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice good value budget hotel. Clean and well decorated, warm, comfy beds and friendly staff. Good position close to centre and harbour and parking. Breakfast is coffee/tea, juice, cereal, toast, cheese, cold meats, cucumber/tomato in a light pleasant civilised dining room. A bit like having breakfast athome. Good bathroom/enthusiastic shower. Party was 66 year old dad and 28 year old son.

Iceland has a reputation for being expensive - but the Icelanders seem fair and pleasant in their outlook and dealings and do not seem to be wanting to nickel and dime travellers.

Just be happy to have any room and make the best of it. It will not be raining in. If you want a balcony - try Mallorca.

Room Tip: Probably all good rooms. Plenty of exercise during the day and beer and wine in the evening with goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    50
    67
    35
    24
See reviews for
15
51
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in March. Hotel adequate,warm and friendly. More like a hostel but we got used to it and found staff helpful especially Jesus and Sirund who helped us 2 pensioners immensely..Breakfast plentiful cold buffet style. Would use this hotel again because of location and price.always felt safe even though the area looked run down. When using the lift stand on toes to cushion the stop!!! My Sister and I found it hilarious. We called it Fawlty Towers but in the nicest way. Rose

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading the reviews I can only say I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, warm and provided all that we needed for the short times we were in it. The staff could not have been more helpful, booking our trips, return bus home. Breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for a days exploring. The excellent value more than makes up for any defects its not posh but its definitely fit for purpose in a brilliant location just a very short walk and you are in the city center.
The restaurants are expensive but we found some lovely places to eat. The Icelantic people are very laid back, friendly and helpful. The only tip I would give is if you are going to book a trip to see the Northern lights do it the first night you are there as they are not always visible and if you should be unlucky your ticket is valid the whole time you are there. (we had to go 3 times before they made an appearance.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

After reading through several reviews of this hotel my sister and I (both senior citizens) were wondering what we would find. The hotel really is no more than a hostel but on saying that , the location was excellent, the bed comfortable and the breakfast good as far as we were concerned.
Don't expect a hot breakfast but there was plenty to eat. After some intitial small problems we liked it.
The staff were helpful especially Jesus and Sirund? the young lady who was usually there at breakfast,
I would use the Metropolitan again mainly because of value and location but if you are expecting a `posh' place go somewhere else!
The outside and street are a bit tatty but it was quiet and we felt safe.

Room Tip: we paid extra for a triple, it gave us a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from the main shopping area with great restaurants less than a minutes walk away.

The rooms themselves are not as small as I imagined them to be and with the range of things to see in and around Reykjavik you will not be in your room much anyway. I did notice that although we were given clean towels the room itself was not cleaned whilst we were here, this was not an issue for us but may be to others.

As the Icelandics enjoy a good drink at weekends and with tourists not wanting to let the side down the hotel can sometimes be slightly noisy, again not a problem for me but I would probably not recommend this place to a family with young children.

Over all the hotel is great for a young couple, the breakfast is adequate and the staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcome2iceland, Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your response.
Yes, we focus on offering affordable prices at a great location, close to the city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I go to Iceland regularly to see friends and have stayed in quite a few places. Iceland is generally expensive so to find something this cheap right in the center of town was great. First things fist, the rooms are small, but in Reykjavik and Iceland there is so much to see and do that you are only in the room to sleep. If you’re expecting anything other than this you may be disappointed. After this the room was clean, the shower was warm and the bed was comfy, the rooms aren’t made up daily so this is something to be aware of if you stay here. Having said all this I would most definitely stay here again due to it’s amazing location and good value for money. If you want a little luxury then please go else where, this is a small, quiet, clean place to sleep and take a shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose this hotel based on price and location. If you are looking for luxury then forget about this place. The rooms are basic but warm and clean with comfortable beds, and the ensuite bathroom (shower only) is perfectly adequate. The continental breakfast was better than expected, which was very welcome given the prices in Iceland. The hotel is in a residential area but only minutes from the centre where the Tourist Office and restaurants are situated. There is also a 24 hour Reception which is handy for late arrivals/early departures. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcome2iceland, Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your response.
Yes, we focus on offering affordable prices at a great location, close to the city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Ranargata 4A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel City)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropolitan Hotel lies on a quiet street, just a 2-minute walk from Ingolfstorg Square (city center). It offers free in-room Wi-Fi and functional rooms close to Reykjavik’s shopping, restaurants and cultural attractions.A TV, work desk and radio can be found in each guest room. All have a private bathroom with either a shower or bath.Every morning Metropolitan serves a continental breakfast. Staff will gladly recommend area restaurants for other meals.The popular Kolaportid Flea Market is a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The harbour, where whale safaris depart regularly, is located 400 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Expedia, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.