We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way....but okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cabin to your Saves list
Hotel Cabin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Scotland
1 review
“Out of the way....but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed over 3 nights at end of March. Modern hotel with a good lift (speedy !). Minimun 20 min walk to city centre - harsh on a cold day with wind but okay if weather good. Reception staff very good and helpful. View from dining room excellent - across the fjord with BIG mountains. Smoking area at end of corridors at the fire exit (irony ???). Rooms we got were VERY small....single beds, Little free space in rooms but manageable. Seems to be a hotel for large groups. Standard continental breakfeast is okay. Good access to main roads if you hire a car.....1/2 hr to Blue Lagoon.....3/4 hr to Keffy a/port. If we went back we would get a hotel in the centre of town with parking.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    507
    381
    120
    64
See reviews for
114
546
116
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

A few people have said this in the reviews here but there really is no underestimating the size of the rooms. They are the smallest I have ever stayed in. Japanese engineers would be proud about exactly how they've made the room just fit the beds, the tiny wardrobe, washroom, tiny table and no more. You shouldnt probably complain at the price but when Travel Inn and Travelodge can do budget rooms with reasonable room and clearly there's plenty of room left in Iceland I fail to understand quite why they had to make them quite so petite.

Ok. Forewarned is forearmed. If you read this and now visit Hotel Cabin and complain about room size then don't blame me. As for the other aspects of the hotel, it's very clean, tidy and efficient. Pretty much everything in Iceland is. The location is a bit out of town and there ARE some closer (use this site and Google Maps) but it's not dreadful. The staff are efficient and quiet. The free breakfast is typical northern European fare though very bland. Better ingredients or a broader range would bring this up a bit but perhaps I have a very British palate.

In summary, fine as a base, cheap and fits the bill. But small is no understatement and I think you could get more if you shop around. Don't hold me to that tho!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

13 of us booked a weekend break for £199 via Icelandair including return flights and three nights accommodation at the 2 star Cabin Hotel. Although the hotel is not central (in fact we didn't spot any hotels in the city centre) it's only a 20 minute walk. You can pass the Hofoi House where Reagan and Gorbachev held their 1986 summit and the Solfar Suncraft sculpture near the waterfront en route. There's the number 12 bus stop across the road and the hotel has its own car park (useful as we hired cars to tour the 'golden circle'.)

The bedrooms are small but modern and clean. They have beds (no doubles only twins), dressing table, wardrobe, mirrors, bathroom (shower only, no bath) and large windows. The reception staff were friendly and helpful handing out maps, reconfirming our bus back via the Blue Lagoon to the airport and giving info on the tourist card and buses. The buffet breakfast does not include hot dishes but has ample tea, coffee, juice, cereal, toast and preserves, rolls, cheese, ham, boiled eggs and fruit.

The lounge area is comfortable with large TV screen (showing the news not sport), bar, free internet (although there was a price quoted it seemed to work without anyone paying), and the whole hotel was very warm (great having come in from below freezing temperatures). There's a 24 hour mini-market nearby and a Subway sandwich store across the road.

Would highly recommend the Cabin Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We paid £199 pp for 3 nights in this hotel and flight from Heathrow to Keflavik through Icelandair. This was a great deal. The hotel is modern, clean and tidy and the reception staff were helpful. We were booked into a standard room but because we had to go back to reception from 6th floor three times because the key wouldnt swipe, we asked for an upgrade because of all the hassle and because the room was small. We were given a room on the 7th floor which was bigger, quieter, with a better bathroom, tea and coffee, fruit platter and hairdryer. It does pay to ask for an upgrade. This room was lovely. There are only twin beds in the hotel so dont go for a dirty weekend or you will fall down the gap between the beds. The breakfast was included and it was absoultely fine. They had tea/coffee/juices/fruit/ham/cheese/rolls/toast/cereals/milk. There was no hot food but we didnt mind. You must do a day tour when you are in Iceland because Rekjavik was nice but not too much to do there and a bit of a ghost town in the week. We did the Golden Circle minibus trip with David from Iceland Horizon which was very good. We saw the Geysers, waterfalls, Geothermal Plant, Icelandic horses and The National Park. Hotel was 10 mins walk from town centre.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed in the Cabin Hotel for 3 nights from 10 March and had a fantastic time. The hotel is an ideal base for the budget traveller. We usually stay in 4* hotels, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and chose it mainly due to other comments on Trip Advisor. Yes the rooms are small and resemble the cheapest cabins on a cruise ship, but ours was clean and comfortable. We were fortunate enough to have a sea & mountain view which was wonderful, although I understand the rooms at the back overlook a car park. The front desk staff are mostly friendly. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, which comprised cereals, fruit, yogurt, cold meat & cheese and a selection of bread & rolls. The buffet dinner was even better, with choice of two soups, salad bar, hot dish & pasta dish, soft drinks & tea or coffee. Icealand is a wonderful place and there are many excurions to choose from, although they are VERY expenisve. Also you do need to take your driving licence if you wish to go snow-mobiling. The sea-front is two minutes from the hotel. The walk to the capial is about 15 mins, although too cold to do when we were there. Turn left out of the hotel and there is a 24hr convenience store and bank with an ATM. Opposite is a Subway sandwich shop and petrol station shop. The best find is a local out door swimming pool found by turning right out of the hotel and about a 7min walk. Very cheap and really relaxing. (Enjoyed it better than the Blue Lagoon!). We would definately return to Iceland and choose this hotel to stay in again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

The Hotel Cabin is a great hotel at an unbeatable price. The rooms are small but comfortable, the beds are incredible, and the bathrooms are spotless. many reviews comment on the breakfast which I agree is limited, but it is exactly what you need to start a day of brisk walking around Reykjavik. Lots of different breads and rolls, meat and cheeses, good coffee, fruit cocktails and spreads, Icelandic butter (which is excellent, btw) and suprisingly watermelon, cucumbers and tomatoes. The desk is great, and has a suprisingly large amount of concierge services (booking trips, checking airport times, getting things for your room after hours, etc) for a budget hotel. This is an excellent hotel, and I could not find a better value for my money.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

This hotel is fine.

Clean and functional, with tiny TINY rooms. This is coming from someone who really isn't fussy about hotel rooms as long as I can sleep in them and they are clean. We visited at the end of Feb 09 on an iceland air package and a £240 for flights, 3 nights accomodation and a northen lights trip, I feel it's rude to complain about this trip as the value is amazing.

On arrival (at 2am - yuck) we were all assinged our room by the rather tired looking staff. The communal areas of the hotel are nice and in great condition. Our twin room was hilariously small. There was a bed on either wall, and a bedside table between the 2. If we sat facing each other on our beds our knees touched! There was a small cubby hole for storage and a small but fine bathroom.

As we were on a fun birthday treat weekend and as I'd read other peoples reviews on here, we left the room straight away, went to reception and asked to look at a better room. We were told that the upgrade would be about £90 for the 2 of us for the duration of the stay. So for £45 each we got a much better place to rest our weary heads.

The new room was what I would describe as being good quality travel lodge style. Room to swing a cat or 2, full size wardrobe, desk and comfy chair and a bathroom with a bath and a (great) shower. Nothing special, but worth the upgrade.

I'm glad I checked it out on here before I flew as if I'd arrived to the sardine tin we were given and thought I'd be trapped in it for 3 days (although we were hardly there!) I'd have been really sad.

If £45 is something you can't be throwing around, then the little rooms are perfectly fine.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.