We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cabin to your Saves list
Hotel Cabin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is excellent clean tidy and friendly staff, the only downside was no kettle or hair dryer, and no free wifi :(. The rooms were cleaned daily. The breakfast bar was great, and they even opened up the tea coffee at 3am so I could get a cuppa before our flight home..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    444
    332
    94
    58
See reviews for
95
485
104
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in a standard room. The room was warm and comfortable but a tad bijou. It required a great deal of cooperation when getting ready to go out or getting undressed when coming back in. But if you don't spend much time in there, which we didn't, its ok. You can upgrade if claustrophobic. The hotel staff were very helpful. The food was basic but good quality. The bar a good place to sit and watch the world, wait for trips or enjoy a drink. Take advantage of happy hour 1600 til 1800 but beer only; takes it from £6 a pint to £3.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back after 3 night break great value good location 15 minute walk to city very good staff breakfast a little basic but as much as you want rooms good and very warm had to open window the staff were great at sorting out Northern light tour buy changing day so we saw them on our first and third night what a show

Room Tip: Get the bus from airport lot cheaper than taxi and go to hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just on outskirts of downtown reykjavik but in perfect walking distance for restaurants and shops. Also location means thst it's ideal for excursion pick up, ideal for those who are going to iceland to enjoy the outdoors. Simple and clean with breakfast starting at 4am for those who have an early flight. Excursions and bureau de change available in lobby and mountain views out of front facing rooms are unbelievable. Will definitely be returning on my next iceland trip

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Hotel Cabin turned out to be a really mixed bag. We chose it based on it's cheapness given we would only be staying a few nights and overall it was probably worth the price but given a second chance I might have spent a bit more to have more comfort. If you're looking for romance, these rooms won't cut it.
Positives were the cleanliness which really was top marks, it was actually cleaner than higher starred establishments I've stayed in. The shower was also very good - plenty hot water and good pressure however only room for one person :(
The staff however were the best thing about the hotel. Everyone we met spoke perfect english and couldn't do enough for us - booking busses, trips and giving us information.
When we first arrived we were put into a room (310) overlooking the outside fire escape, however we realised very quickly that the lock on the window was broken and despite our best efforts to secure it - when I went outside onto the fire escape, it could be opened wide without much effort. We went down to reception and told them and were moved to another room straight away so it wasn't too much of a problem. However I don't know they fixed the window so if you're staying in this room you might want to check!
It's true that the basic rooms are very small with 3/4 size twins, a small desk and a wardrobe with 4 hangers. However if you're using it as a base it's quite manageable for a short stay, the beds were also comfortable. However the walls must be paper thin as we were kept up 2 nights by a snoring man (no matter which side of the room we slept on).
Breakfast wasn't great but there was a lot of variety. Juices and hot drinks, tomatoes, cucumber and orange segments, cornflakes, cold cuts and (plastic) cheese, yoghurt and various breads and rolls. I had a stale roll on day 1 (visibly stale on the inside not just tasting stale) but after that it improved. The breads were nice.
Location wise it wasn't great. Fine if you're taking the bus but me and my partner love to walk - even for us it became a bit tedious. Yes it's 20 minutes to the town centre, but this is to the edge of the centre, to get to the good restaurants and activities you have to keep walking (another 5-10 minutes). It's also a 40minute walk (along the shore) to the harbour district. However there is a pharmacy and a 24 hour "supermarket" just down the road as well as a few cafes and petrol station opposite.
I would reccomend this hotel and I'd probably go back (but hire a car next time) but you have to go into it with an open mind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara Jenny S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Muppet333
Thank you very much for your comment and your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you liked the service from the staff, and our breakfast buffet. I agree with you that the walk to the town center is about 25-30 minutes it is still a beautiful walk along the seaside under the best weather condition but we understand what you mean. We are very glad that you will stay again with us if you come back to Iceland and we are looking forward seeing you again one day.
Best Regards and thank you again for your comment.
On behalf of Cabin
Klara Jenný
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was one of the motels which were included in the Groupon package and was selected for us by Clear Sky. It is obvious they fill the cheapest one first in order to make extra money on their bookings. We requested a double, and were informed by the clerk who was more interested in his cellphone that we could either move the beds together or he could send someone up if they had time, but it could be a while. We were not offered an upgrade, either. We were expecting a tiny room, so that was not a problem, but apparently you only get shampoo and body wash if you are in an upgrade so I guess it was good we brought our own. Since the twin beds were 3/4 width and not full sized and the room was so small that moving the two together would have been a major undertaking requiring us to move the desk into the hall we went on and left the room arrangement as is which made us less than pleased as we are a married couple that still enjoys sharing a bed. They will try to charge you for making local calls although the information we read did not indicate there was a charge for local calls. They will charge you an exorbitant amount to use wifi if you are not in a deluxe suite, so head down the street to Kaffitir's (not the one across the street) for free wifi and fabulous lunches(see review for that). The breakfast at least was included, and it was your standard European continental breakfast with hard boiled eggs, cheeses, cold cuts, sliced fruit and veggies, breads, coffee, and limited juice drinks. The room is so small that two people cannot sit across from each other without bumping knees so it makes it difficult to put on boots. i have been in hostels with more room between the beds. The walls are thin enough that my husband was kept up several nights by the gentleman snoring in the next room. They offer a buffet-style lunch and dinner which is primarily a salad bar and a warm entree like spaghetti. No desserts. The best part about this place is that it is within walking distance of better restaurants and activities and the tour buses pick you up at the front door, and we had a water-facing view which was nice.

Room Tip: If you have no choice but to stay here, suck it up and ask for an upgrade and pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here as part of a college trip and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean and comfortable and within very easy reach of the town centre. All of the staff spoke perfect English and were very helpful. The bus stop was basically right outside the hotel, which took you into the town centre for 350 IKR one way. You can take either the 4 or the 5 and they come about every half an hour or so. The restaurant served a salad buffet, but we did not eat lunch or dinner here, only breakfast which was a continental style buffet which was good enough for us. You are two minutes walk from the shoreline, which gave one of the hotel residents a fantastic show of the northern lights at two o'clock one morning. We paid to do this as an excursion and saw very little. I would personally probably not do this again and spend the money on the golden circle tour instead. If you want a good base for exploring this beautiful area, without spending lots of money, I would highly recommend the Cabin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.