We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury, but clean and a good deal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cabin to your Saves list
Hotel Cabin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not luxury, but clean and a good deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a great hotel for what it is:
A clean, comfortable safe place to spend a night after flying into Iceland or to use as a base while you go out to tour the amazing Icelandic landscape or as an over night location before an early flight departing Iceland.
The rooms are small, expect twin beds. The bathrooms are small. The rooms are not designed for luxury, the are designed for function: sleep, shower, a little television, and go. But, everything is clean and the staff is friendly. Considering that the staff is processing bus loads of people throughout the day and into the evening and considering the tour buses are filled with students or foreign charter groups, their cheer is nothing less than amazing.
The hotel is often the starting and ending point for bus tours in Iceland. Manage your expectations since you now know these groups will be at your location. This is hotel is not intended to encourage or entertain people who plan to visit Reykjavik and stay in the hotel for a quiet vacation.
Clean rooms, breakfast, then out the door.
Breakfast is the basic European continental style breakfast. No bells or whistles, but there is plenty.
There is WiFi available for a charge, but let me share a little secret (just between you and me)...
If you are in the lobby when a tour bus pulls up, you can "borrow" the bus's courtesy unsecured WiFi until it leaves. You have between 5 and 15 minutes. This will be at your own risk, but it maybe better than nothing.
The central downtown eating and shopping district is to the west and walkable. I admit that during the snow of February, I was glad to have a car. There is a grocery across the street if you needed some essentials.
One other advantage to its location: since the hotel is in the eastern part of the city, it convenient to the roads out of Reykjavik if you are driving to other locations to the north, east, and southeast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    444
    332
    94
    58
See reviews for
95
485
104
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for a night on arrival in Iceland and again before flying home after a round the island tour. This hotel was adequate for our needs with good clean facilities. We had a deluxe room with comfortable beds. The breakfast here was ok with the usual choices of continental breakfast but as much as you wanted to eat. The evening meal is basically a salad buffet but at the time of year we were here there is not a lot of choice elsewhere without going into Reykjavik. The walk into town is a fair way but a pleasant one along the sea front. The staff on reception were extremely helpful and accommodating. Staff in the restaurant were a bit slow at clearing tables when it was busy as this hotel has a lot of coach parties. Would probably stay nearer to town if we came again just to Reykjavik but as we were picking up a car it was ideal for what we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We saw a lot of bad comments on this place. About quality of the rooms, size etc. I don’t know, but we didn’t have any problem!
Because we read bad comments, we booked deluxe room. Of course, it’s much bigger than standard, but both seemed ok.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is tasty, and service is satisfactory.
Hotel is in walking distance from the center and it offers a very good price.
So if you’re looking for a comfortable place with a reasonable price – I definitely recommend it!
P.S. Just one question that maybe somebody can answer me – why there are a lot of people sitting in a lobby all day drinking beer?:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I usually stay downtown when I visit Reykjavik, but this was part of an Icelandair package a price too good to miss. It's about a 15 minute walk into town, but what a walk! You are rewarded with stunning views and that fabulous Reykjavik light along the shore walk. (If you don't want to walk there are frequent buses.)

Rooms are small but clean and functional with everything I needed. I emailed in advance and requested one with a sea view which was provided- and the view of Mount Esja was just amazing. Front desk staff were nice, running an extremely busy reception with grace and efficiency.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but at the price I was paying I wasn't really bothered - a quick coffee sufficed until I got into town. Also they do charge for Wi-Fi but as I was staying for a week, 24 hours for 2,000KR (about £11) more than covered my needs and didn't break the bank.

Overall superb value. Much better than I had anticipated given the price, the size, and the out of town location. A really good choice for anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: Some rooms have corridor facing windows. Email in advance if you don't want one. I also requeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel was handy for getting to centre only 15 minute walk or regular buses from outside the hotel. Staff very helpful. There was no need to go hungry at breakfast. Rooms basic but clean and warm. We were offered the chance to upgrade when we arrived. Would stay again
Well worth doing the Golden Circle trip and the South Coast - Skogafoss - VIk trip (especially if you want to see wonderful waterfalls and spectacular scenery on route)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I spent four nights at this hotel with no problems. I booked this hotel as part of a package with Easyjet holidays for the crazily cheap price of £167! The deluxe rooms in this hotel are comfortable with nice views of the sea and mountains. The breakfast is basic but nourishing with a good selection of breads, ham, cheese, eggs and salad. The hotel does have wifi and but it costs more than 2000isk per day which I feel is way too expensive. I wouldn't mind paying a nominal charge but that's way too much! The hotel is located a good 20 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik where most of the bars and restaurants are so be prepared! Oh and a taxi from downtown back to the Hotel Cabin will set you back a whopping 1700isk!! Fortunately its free to walk!!

Overall this is a good clean hotel just its out of town location lets it down a little.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms seem to be on the front side of the hotel and therefore have good views of the sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We found this hotel good value for money. The basic rooms are small but perfectly adequate. They are exceptionally clean and at night the door is closed from the stairs and small lounge area on each floor, so we found it quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good view over to the sea and mountains. The breakfast does not offer a huge choice but has everything most people would want. We also ate here in the evening, it is bufet style, and found it good value for money as it is very expensive to eat out in Iceland. There is soup, a hot dish, pasta, tuna, cheese etc and plenty of vegetables and salad. A dessert, and plenty of fruit, all kinds of teas and coffee. Lovely breads. Cold drinks such as apple and orange juice are also included. It does get very busy in the restaurant area but we found that people are coming and going all the time. If you leave it a little later it gets much emptier. It takes about fifteen minutes to walk in to the city centre but you can walk along the sea front so it is very pleasant. The desk staff are pleasant and helpful and all in all this is a good no frills budget hotel. All the buses for the excursions pick up and drop off from the Hotel which is great, as does the Fly Bus transfer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view. Some rooms only have windows to a corridor. The basic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.