We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a late arrival.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cabin to your Saves list
Hotel Cabin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Teignmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a late arrival.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at midnight and were greeted by the night managers promptly and professionally. After checking in, before unloading the car we orientated ourselves with the room. The room was on the fourth floor and was accessed by an electronic card, had a double and a single bed. Just enough room to swing a cat! Great view of the mountains and sea, which was unexpected. All mod cons except tea and coffee making facilities, which seems to be a reoccurring factor in accommodation in Iceland. After collapsing in a very comfortable bed (very thin pillows though) we awoke to go down to breakfast the next day just before a coach party of children devoured it, which was lucky. Breakfast was basic, but acceptable. The shower had great pressure, lovely and hot, but due to shower door being broken almost flooded the place. Overall great VFM. Had breakfast been of a higher quality a score of 5 would have been given.

Room Tip: High floor facing façade of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    444
    332
    94
    58
See reviews for
95
485
104
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Adequate place to stay if you're using it as a base for day trips and not spending a lot of time in the hotel. Think a small cabin on a cruise ship and you'll know what to expect. I was told I had a view of the harbor and I did but it was a very abbreviated view with a building across the street blocking most of it. The breakfast was OK and the staff was helpful. A Subway sandwich shop is across the street which helped the food budget. The hotel is used by a lot of group tours (there was a large school group from Great Britain while we were there) and is situated in an area that is not close to much of anything so you'll have to rely on taxi's, bus, or rental car. There is a good restaurant within a 15-20 minute walk (it's the closest restaurant to the hotel and the desk staff will point the way). If you have a rental car it's pretty straight forward to find it from Route 1 (the main road around the island).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is ok but next time I will look at the prices in some of the other, hotels as this one does feel a bit like a hostel. Yes, the rooms are tiny and you know that before you book but I did ask for a nice view and got a brick wall! Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't bother sending an email in advance, ours was ignored
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brom England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was good value, good position the staff was fine, Breakfast was good they even had breakfast ready at 5am the day we left.
Rooms were small but very comfortable good facilities shower etc..
Would use it again if I was coming back to Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I very recently stayed at Hotel Cabin as part of a package. Had heard the standard rooms were small and they certainly are. I found the lobby a good place to talk with other travelers and share experiences. Unfortunately, my first 2 nights resulted in poor sleep due to a very noisy crowd on 2nd floor common area. They partied and were loud with no regard for anyone but themselves. I reported this to the front desk as I wanted a decent nights sleep on my 3rd night. The desk clerk understood the situation and assigned us another room on another floor. It was quiet and I slept without the yelling & loud gabbing of the first 2 nights. I do not fault the hotel for this but they may need to monitor this type of thing a bit better. The breakfast was decent & went to 10 am, no complaint there. The location worked well.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room. The 6th floor happened to work well for us on our last night. I cannot s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Cabin for 5 nights as part of an Icelandic Air package so not sure how much I paid for the hotel. Iceland Air should stop using this hotel as it is giving the company a bad reputation. The hotel was full of school students having a whale of a time away from home, so best check there are no school holidays in various parts of Europe before you stay here. The reception area is clean and serviceable but the basic bedrooms are shocking. As other reviewers have said, the size of the room has to be seen to be believed. Take heed of the name "Hotel Cabin". The carpet was stained, the window didn't close properly, the telephone was broken and the walls are paper thin meaning you hear every sound from your neighbours. But the cleaners were good and fresh towels are provided each day. Reception staff looked bored. Breakfast is OK but nothing special and is the same every day. Evening meal not the best - cold food and unappetising so take a long walk in to town to eat there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is excellent and good value for money.The deluxe room was quite small but the bathroom was very nice even though our shower did not work the water was very good for a bath.There were a good amount of TV channels and the beds were comfy with a good reading light.The hotel is in a good position near the city center and the sea front which is good to see the northern lights.The maid came in most days and cleaned our bedrooms well.The breakfast was good along with lunch and dinner and there was a good bar to watch the football in and a well stocked shop.The WiFi was very cheap for 24 hours and was very fast.Overall the hotel and Iceland itself is a very nice place and is very different to anywhere In the place.The blue lagoon and the geysers are brilliant and should be visited along with other good attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.