We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best 'Iceland Experience'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cabin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cabin to your Saves list
Hotel Cabin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Laugardalur)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not the best 'Iceland Experience'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cabin hotel. While it's true the rooms are tiny they are at the same time clean and comfortable. There is a good selection of English channels to watch on the small television provided and a good shower so all in all not a bad lot for the price considering Icelandic prices. Now for the bad part; I had my money stolen from in the bar area of the hotel on my first full day there. While the bar man was very apologetic there was nothing the hotel could or indeed even offered to do. More worrying was the fact that the hotel has no CCTV or any other type of security camera so if something far worse were to happen you would have no proof. This person it seems may have just walked in off the streets and because we were unable to see his face he could just as easily do it again. I can say for certain that it was a man as I saw him for a couple of seconds out of the corner of my eye. Also be warned that if excursions and tours are cancelled or changed reception do not call the rooms to inform guests of these changes; as I found out when the Northern Lights tour was cancelled on both nights due to bad weather. Lastly, do not book a return air bus ticket if you plan to take the Blue Lagoon/Airport excursion on your last day. I did just that and found I could not get any type of refund as I had already paid for the journey to the airport. All in all a disappointing short break. While Iceland is interesting I'm not sure I would recommend it for anything more than a few days as to really get the most out of the place you need to take the organised excursions and this is very expensive. Have to now decide where next best to go to try to see the Northern Lights!

  • Liked — Clean room.
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    444
    332
    94
    58
See reviews for
95
485
104
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights ( should have been 3 but flight delayed because of bad weather) We found the staff very helpful and the quality of the food and accomodation excellent.The evening buffet meal was very good value as Iceland is expensive.The meal even included soft drinks and tea or coffee.The price for 4 meals converted to £36.

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Cabin and it was a lot nicer than we thought it would be. The rooms are quite small however it had only cost us £20 in total to have a room each. We both got a double room rather than a single so the size was fine.

The rooms were very clean and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The bar is nice and the prices reasonable for Reykjavik. Breakfast was nice - it is completly help yourself and find your ownt able but that was quite refreshing.

The Reception staff were very helpful and didn't seem to mind our endless questions. They were also happy for us to keep our rom for a couple of hours after the official checkout time and didn't charge.

It is a bit of a walk into the centre and in hindsight we should have used the bus. It would be a lovely walk along the bay in the summer but at -18 and on pavements made of ice it was a bit tricky.

In all I would definately go back - its not the sort of place for a romantic break but is cheap practical and clean.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

Yes, the rooms at Hotel Cabin are on the small side (particularly if you are used to hotel rooms in the U.S.). But they are also clean, comfortable and well-designed for the space. It was clear that a lot of thought was put into where to place light fixtures, closets, TV, etc... Our stay was quite pleasant and very comfortable. The hotel provides a continental breakfast free of charge (salads, fruit, bread, cereal). There is also a dinner buffet there that is a good value, especially since everything in Iceland is very expensive. Across the street is a gas station mini-market and a Subway (great for packing lunch) and two blocks away is a 24-hour small supermarket. Downtown Reykjavik is about a 15 minute walk away, although the bus (which is right across the street) will get you there in about 5 minutes or less. Overall, do not be scared off by the "small" size of the rooms -- the rooms are nice, the location is good and the value is excellent.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

As everybody has already warned, Iceland HAS to be the most expensive country I have been to.
We booked a package deal via IcelandAir to view the Northern Lights, so there was no choice on accommodation, which included 3 nights with breakfast at Hotel Cabin
I had read previous reviews about the size of the hotel rooms, but it was still small enough to SHOCK the daylight out of me (even though there is so little of it at this time of year)!!!!! It was exactly as title - the rooms are, if not smaller, the size of the cheapest cruise ship cabins!!!

My husband and I could barely turn around without bumping into each other - it was hilarious! There is just enough space to lay down 2 small handluggage bags and an open 'wardrobe' to accommodate one ski jacket - NOTHING MORE. The beds will not be big enough for larger framed people, and the pillows ... well, carry your own if you can! The room is furnished as minimally as possible - I suspect that these were once full double bedrooms and each was since partitioned into two minute bedrooms to create more accommodation. The rooms are not very clean - the carpets were stained and dirty and the bedding looked decades old. I suspect it could even be accommodation to other unpaying 'guests' . The breakfast was , although not entirely satisfactory comparative to European continental breakfast standards, adequate. Each floor has a seating area with a few comfortable sofas and a coffee table, which we congregated at, at the end of each night to discuss our plans for the day while having a few drinks. You can also get some coffee or tea at the restaurant downstairs. The bar and seating area at reception is nice. We asked to upgrade our room and was told that this would cost £50 per night - so its not always an affordable choice if you are on a budget as mentioned by some other travellers. I cannot comment on value for money as it was a package deal, but things are really expensive in Iceland and this could be rated as value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. But I do not think I will book at this hotel again.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

Iceland is ridiculously expensive. Keep that in mind when looking for hotels. This hotel was one of the cheapest to be found in Reykjavik and, having read the reviews on this site, we decided to pay a little (and I mean a little) extra for deluxe rooms.

This class of room was one of the most spacious I have stayed in in Europe (have stayed in hundreds) and the bathroom spotless.

If you have read some of the negative reviews about the hotel then let me assure you by saying that I left expensive electronic equipment in my room and it all remained untouched. The smell of eggs is caused by sulphur in the water - it's all natural stuff and very good for the skin (I would suggest people aren't so naive when they leave negative reviews).

The receptionists were excellent - we never stopped bothering them with questions but they were always happy to help. The breakfast was also very impressive - if you are on a budget then there is more than enough to fill up on so as to avoid paying for lunch.

Location is OK - 10 min walk to the centre. It is also excellent if you are driving from the airport - turn right out of the airport, drive for 40 mins, turn right again, drive for 5 mins and you'll be at the hotel.

  • Liked — Quality of the rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

Reykjavik is notoriously dear for accomodation and after much trawling through the internet i found this value for money hotel. We got dropped off at the hotel by the airport bus which is a nice touch and quickly proceeded through check in to investigate the rooms. Despite some bad reports the rooms were entirely adequate and whilst they were smaller than usual we found they did not deter from our delightful stay. Outside the hotel is a garage serving snacks and a Subway if you fancy a sandwhich. The bus for the centre departs directly opposite the hotel being frequent and punctual. The city itself is fantastic if not expensive but i cannot wait to return at a later date. The sulphorous smell from the hot water can be quite off putting though. Overall though if its value for money accomodation which you are looking for then i would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartuni 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.