We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura to your Saves list
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Reykjavik
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were able to check in at 11am and on departure for a very early flight we were able to get breakfast at 4.15am! Excellent spacious and comfy room. Very friendly and helpful staff and they have a travel centre in the hotel who will help with any travel details. There is a direct bus service to the town centre or it is a 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    470
    202
    27
    12
See reviews for
135
410
82
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I like this hotel. I realise that it is busy and impersonal to a great extent, but I like the fact that it is close to the local airport, close to Norduflug Helicopter tours, close to Perlan and only a short walk into the city. The hotel will provide you with a free bus pass if you give card details in case it gets lost (don't lose it! The charge is rather high!!) It is a fairly quiet hotel, for all its busy nature, or I have found it so. The restaurant has an eclectic mix of food on offer - strange initially - but when you look you realise they have worked quite hard to give a good range from light snack through pizza (very good!) to just short of fine dining. The thing I like most is that there is never a problem parking!!! Recommended. However, having stayed this time at the sister hotel Klauster, they definitely have the edge where the restaurant is concerned!

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the rooms at the front over the door - people tend to leave in the early hours. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It is kind of a way from the city centre but still within reach. It is very close to the domestic airport and the main bus station is just a few steps away. I enjoyed the peace and quiet at this hotel. The hotel itself was clean and had friendly staff. This place will definitely be on my list of accommodations to consider on my next trip to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is OK. The staff is lovely. Restaurant SATT is fine. My complaint it that I was told the hotel was "in town". It could be within the city limits but no way could it be considered in town. It's a 30-45 minute walk to town. The hotel does provide bus passes so that you can ride the city bus for no charge. It comes by every 30 minutes to one hour, depending on the time of day.
One more complaint, the rooms are so hot, even with the heat off and a window open, I perspired all night. The domestic airport adjoins the hotel.

Room Tip: All sides of the hotel face concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merstham Surrey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend on 4th July. Unimpressive from the outside. Looks like a 1970`s office block. However impression changed once through the door. Spacious airy reception with plenty of seating and some interesting wooden sculptures of people and sheep. Reception very staff helpful. Room clean and warm. Shower lovely and hot, although tray could do we refurbish as the enamel was very chipped. We were facing the domestic airport but weren't bothered by noise overduly. Beds clean and comfortable. Restaurant very good. We found the breakfasts just fine. We had an evening meal here one night which was lovely. Spa was better than those in British hotels by far. It's just a shame it's use wasn't included in the price. The free bus pass was appreciated and used! Our one gripe was our excursions. The reception staff kept sending us to wait out the back for our pick up which meant (we think but couldn't prove) that we missed our pick up to the blue lagoon, so had to request another pick up which eventually arrived over an hour later than our scheduled pick up. We made sure we were out the front for the whale watching tour (again which we were directed out the back for that pick up!!!!) and lo and behold our driver arrived out the front. Hotel a pleasant walk from the pearl and about half an hour from the city centre. Excursions (when we did get picked up from the right place at the right time!) were all lovely. Lady in shop/excurion booking office also very pleasant and helpful. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing away from airport if don't want that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our interior design and our references to the Icelandic cultural scene. Regarding the spa being included in the price, it actually is as long as you book directly through our website, so make sure to book directly through us the next time you stay at Reykjavik Natura.

We are sorry for the mix-up regarding the pickup, we will make sure to forward your review to the general manager for future sake.

All in all we are glad that you liked our hotel and would we would love to have you with us again sometime in the future.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The outside is terrible...hello 1970s! People also stand right next to the main doors and smoke...a lot. I have asthma and cannot tolerate it...so when you're standing out there waiting for your tour bus to come be prepared to make way for the air polluters. We stayed here the first day of our trip and the last 2 days after we did the self-drive "ring road" tour of the country. We had two different rooms, both had two single beds which I find to be very odd when traveling with your spouse! Both rooms had dirty carpets...and not just a little, more like there was dried dirt in the rug. The hot water pot had water in it and had not been cleaned after the previous occupant. They had no restroom on the first floor...so if you're in the restaurant and need to go you have to go to your room or all the way down to the lower floor in some back, dark part of the hotel. Very odd to me. The restaurant itself was OK and I liked the decor there. Breakfast was always exactly the same. Not much in the way of protein choices unless you like sausage and lunchmeat. The restaurant and "bar" are only open until 9:30pm if you want to sit down and it, which I find odd when they have almost 24 hours of sunlight in the summer. You'd think there would be a revised schedule to accommodate their biggest industry, tourism. There was no mention of the spa or gym or pool or any of the amenities. The "free" busses are never on time and the busses we paid for, particularly Iceland Excursions were always late and I mean really, really late or they didn't show up at all. This happened to us twice. The staff was friendly though and I liked the wooden people and sheep in the lobby areas. It lender some charm to the hotel out of the 1970s IKEA era. :-) And beware of the "Free wifi". That just means free when it works. If there is a storm, forget it! Also, what is with Iceland keeping all their rooms so hot? It was 48 degrees outside and 80 degrees in our room. Not much about the rooms made us want to be in them.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

We are sorry to see that you disliked the exterior of our hotel but you are correct, it was built in 1964 and the exterior look has been preserved ever since then. We however renovated most of the interior in 2011 so the hotel looks brand new on the inside. I can however see that you had a room with carpeted floors, we have few of them left, but we also plan to renovate them soon, just FYI. Regarding the restroom in the restaurant/on the first floor, you are actually wrong, we of course do have restrooms in the restaurant, they are located on the left side of the BAR area. Regarding the breakfast, I hope that you had the chance to taste the all Icelandic “Skyr”, which is full of protein. Regarding the opening hours of the restaurant and bar, you are wrong again, since we keep the restaurant open until 10 p.m. and the bar is open until 01 a.m.

The bus system is actually quite punctual, please do not confuse the public bus system, which we give our guests a free pass to use at, with the excursions bus companies. They can be late sometimes.

We have never had any complaints regarding our free Wi-Fi not working when the weather is bad, it simply does not influence the Wi-Fi if there is a storm outside.

All together I am sorry that you did not experience the hotel in a more positive way but it seems to me that you were somewhat misinformed about few things at our hotel and I am sorry for that. I am sure, if you stay with us again, that you will experience the hotel and it services in a more positive way.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

While nothing was truly wrong with this hotel, guests feel unimportant and like they are part of an assembly line of tourists. The rooms are small. The breakfast is generic. There is a charge for the pool. Also, the "black out curtains" were not remotely effective. Finally, the location is undesirable. Though mileage-wise it is not far from the city center, in reality an airfield separates the hotel from anywhere you would actually want to be in Reykjavik. The result is that you feel stuck in a tiny room in the evening after taking part in an exhausting day of Icelandic fun. The hotel offers free bus passes but even the bus just barely gets you to the city center. On a rainy, nasty day (as my whole vacation was), there is little motivation to use public transit to get to beer or food. I recommend taking the time to find an apartment in the city center over staying at this location.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear traveler

We are sorry to see that you experienced our guest services in a negative way but let us reassure you that the guests of our hotel are really important to us and we always strive to please them and meet their expectations. The rooms might be small compared to hotel rooms in the US but the size is actually quite standard for European and Icelandic hotels. If you stay with us again, and want to have a bigger room, then I advise you to upgrade to one of our deluxe rooms. They are much bigger in size and include access to the lovely spa and to the 4th floor lounge.

We are sorry that you felt stuck in your room during your stay, especially when we have all the amazing nearby attractions which surely offer the taste and feel of the Icelandic nature, for example all the walking paths in the lovely Nautholsvik area, the sightseeing spot at the Pearl and the geothermal heated beach at the Nautholsvik. All of those places are within 500 meters from the hotel and all of them provide you with fresh air and a huge area of natural environment for you to explore.

If you want to stay in the city center the next time you are here, we would like to recommend the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, which is located by the harbor in the downtown area, with a location that surely would please you.

Best regards,
Icelandair Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura

Address: Nautholsvegur 52, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-star Reykjavik accommodation showcasing the best of Icelandic nature. Newly-renovated Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík Natura (formerly Hotel Loftleidir) is close to the city centre, in the quiet Oskjuhlid wooded area near the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Loftleidir
Icelandair Hotel Loftleidir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.